We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, needs some TLC..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Duval House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Duval House to your Saves list
The Duval House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   815 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location, needs some TLC..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Right on Duval street, but very quiet location. You can't beat it. Very nice layout and pool was clean with plenty of seats for the guests. Our room was spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was very quiet at night. We slept well the whole time we were there.

Main issue was the breakfast. They offer a continental breakfast and I'm not even sure I would call it that. We were disappointed since we specifically sought out a bed and "breakfast" and had to pay for breakfast elsewhere since we were left hungry each day. I don't mind a cold breakfast, but they had very little to offer and the stuff was rude. It was a buffett with a small fruit basket consisting of apples, bananas and 2 rotten strawberries. I asked if they had anymore fruit and she pulled 6 grapes from a plastic bag that were mushy. The milk was left sitting out and it was warm (gross) they only had 2 yogurts left, they were out of waffle mix. We were left with a few hard boiled eggs some picked over mini muffins and bagels. None of which were very good. We also had to scrape our plate at the end and put out dishes in this nasty bucket like we were at camp. For the price we payed to stay here I expected much more.

The cleaning staff also seemed to hate their job and they only made the beds for our entire stay and wouldnt even look us in the eye. They never emptied the trash, cleaned the bathroom or wiped anything down. Luckily we were only there for a few nights.

It's a shame because this place has the potential to be so nice if they were just put a little effort in. They should hire the french place across the street to serve their breakfast, that was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    109
    28
    23
    23
See reviews for
19
206
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

I think you will enjoy perfectly located, friendly staffed bed and breakfast. I found it clean, quiet and very comfortable!
The Duval House is located in the middle of Duval street, so your right in the thick of all the fun. Hope you enjoy your as much as we did :-)

Mark,
Michigan

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This small guest house is perfectly located right in the middle of the bustling Duval Street. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The place is quote old-fashioned, but that's part of its charm.
My only criticism was breakfast. Rather limited in choice and slightly cramped if the weather is inclement (most people would sit outside in the courtyard on a nice day).

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing the street, which can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Poor Maintence. Almost no shower pressure. Toilet seat broken. , needs paint. No space to hang clothes not even a clothes rack. Couldnt check out as you sign a document that says no refunds for thr time booked. we would have checked out after the first night. Would not recommend to anyone. We are frequent travelers and have stayed in B&b's all over the world. This was the worst. RICH SELLS

Room Tip: Dont go there No Good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel is right in the heart of downtown key west. The palms and court yard buffer the noise at night of busy duval street. Check in was very easy, staff was so nice gave us a tour of the property and made us feel at home. Overall it was a very nice place to stay for a good price. Will stay here again next time we visit key west.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Whenever I visit Key West the Duval House is a favorite. The Duval House Staff is very accomodating. They personally take the time to walk one through the property to review everything. Each room is clean and unique. It is a tropical retreat, right in the middle of town.

It is also nice to wake up to be greeted by the "house" cat who lives on the property. If you want, he will even sit with you and help you read your morning paper ;-).

Duval House is Island style at it's best. When one stays there, one feels like a part of the family.

I will warn you-It is right across from the French Bakery-Croissants d'France!! But don't worry, just stroll Duval Street to walk off any evidence!

Room Tip: I can honestly say that I have stayed at the Duval House 6 times. Each room is unique and beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I am puzzled by the positive reviews of Duval House. I think the sign at reception says it all "no refund for early departure". I'm sure they must have have many requests...so we are stuck. That seems to be their general policy of bad service... lose your room keys $100.00, call for help after 9:00PM $100.00. The toiletries provided are on a par with the ones you get at a cheap motel (little samples of no name soap and shampoo). The continental breakfast served sadly is not even on par with the Hampton's breakfast. The property is charming and has a very nice backyard, but being right on Duval St means lots of noise from all the bars. Try sleeping through drunken shouting. At $350.00 per night plus parking..it's definitely the worst high priced hotel I've stayed at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDuvalHouse, General Manager at The Duval House, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
We’re always concerned when a guest expresses discontent, and one of the things we always emphasize to every guest after showing them to their room is a request for them to please let us know immediately if they have any concern or problem so we can do everything we can to rectify it. Unfortunately though this review was written the day after this guest checked in, and did not post until their checkout day, they never once mentioned a single thing to us during their three day stay, about any discontent, problem, questions or any issue at all.

Needless to say, this is always puzzling to us. Nonetheless, after an inordinate amount of investigation, we were fortunate enough to be able to determine their identity and discuss their concerns with them at checkout, as well as some of the inaccuracies and distortions contained in the review.

Our primary focus, however, was to suggest, assuming the ultimate goal on behalf of both parties is to enjoy a wonderfully satisfying experience, that perhaps a preferable, more constructive and beneficial approach might be to bring any concerns to the immediate attention of the Front Office so that every attempt can be made to rectify whatever the problem may be.

Naturally we hope that every guest's visit is as close to perfect as we can make it, and we will continue to work to that end with this and all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duval House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval House

Address: 815 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duval House 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duval House is the heart and soul of old Key West. Our bed and breakfast is the perfect destination for an idyllic getaway. The Duval House is a traditional, caribbean-style bed and breakfast centrally located at the midpoint of Duval Street in the heart of Old Town, Key West. We offer seven buildings overlooking our lush, tropical courtyard and sunny, newly-constructed pool. All of our rooms offer private bathrooms, overhead fans, Wi-Fi, air conditioning, and complimentary, continental breakfast. Reserve your stay at paradise and let us make your getaway dreams a reality at The Duval House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Duval House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duval House Hotel Key West
Duval Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duval House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.