We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina to your Saves list
Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1445 S. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We just returned from a week,traded through Interval and I admit I was nervous after reading some of the reviews on line. But we were very pleased - the apartment was very clean and well kept as were the grounds and pool area. The pools are small but also well kept. The small marina was a nice place to watch the sunrise. A few caveats: staff was nice, but not all that helpful; blankets were worn and need to be replaced; hot tub jets were weak. We did not have a car, and the cabs were easy, but we wished we had stayed closer to Key Wests main streets. But if you are a family and coming with kids, this is a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    80
    42
    27
    23
See reviews for
110
82
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Traded through Interval International and very disappointed with the condition of the condo. Found bugs (roaches, ants & grasshoppers) nearly every day. Furniture was in very poor condition. Sitting on the couch you fell into the center section, leaving a family of four with kitchen chairs to sit on since it was so uncomfortable. Doors falling off the entertainment center, hair dryer hanging by a thread on the wall, if the hot tub jets worked, the heat didn't and vice versa. Sparse kitchen supplies (pots/pans) so don't plan on cooking much beyond breakfast. Pool chairs were missing seating straps so you fell through them.

The positives, friendly staff and beautiful marina views. Independent bar located on the property has nice bike and kayak rentals and the staff is very accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgood, General Manager at Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear m b, one of the beauties of the Coconut Mallory is our tropical environment. A cost of that is that we are sometimes visited by little critters in certain seasons even though we are regularly treated for bugs. Unfortunately, you were with us during one of the critter seasons. Just as a different season would have been better for bugs, a stay later in the year would have been better for furniture. We will be installing a new couch, a new entertainment center and other furniture pieces over the weekend of February 23. And I greatly appreciate you pointing out the other shortcomings in your unit. After your review our maintenance staff has been focusing on checking those item conditions in all units. Thanks for also noting the positives. We wish for you the best in your future vacation travels. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We just returned from a week's stay and found it to be terriffic! Clean as can be, friendly staff and service and a dockside bar filled with great folks! We have been to Key West several times in the past and stayed at high-doller hotels (Casa Marina, Westin) but this truly was relaxing and so much more "lay back". We rented a car and had no problem getting to the heart of things (restaurants clubs on Duval etc) Our daily routine was nice--a little sun poolside in the morning, down to Banana Cafe on Duval for breakfast and then off to the beaches or one of many sites to see, happy hour at many great places, back to the condo to clean up and off to a great selection of outstanding restaurants for dinner and back to Duval for shome shopping and night caps and then to the boatsde bar at the Mallory for another! Ahh, "Life Is Good"

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving week with out kids and grandaughter at the Coconut Mallory. Six of us occupied room 112, a two-bedroom, single-level unit in the building closest to the entrance. Although we filled every bed in the condo, we never felt cramped or crowded (except when all of the "chefs" tried to run the kitchen at once.)
The condo was clean and reasonably well-maintained, and there were adequate utensils and supplies in the kitchen and baths (except the toilet paper, which we were responsible for restocking). It's not "the Ritz", but we don't travel to stay in our condo and pick the place apart (unlike some of the reviewers on tripadvisor - I mean seriously, if a frying pan makes or breaks your vacation, you should just stay at home).
Nani at the front desk was terrific, and had coffee waiting for me every morning :-). But bring your own cup - they've gone "green".
I did have an issue with the "toy" rentals from the bar - and I'm not sure the Condo has direct control over this - but I rented a kayak the first day there, and nearly sank before I could get back. Stay away from the blue, single-person, sit-on-top kayak, because it takes on water. If I had less experience kayaking, I would have been swimming back to shore (or at least wading given the shallow water). Also, a number of the bikes for rent had maintenance issues, and the pump provided to inflate the tires didn't work. I know these rentals get a lot of use, and probably abuse, but I feel that they should be well maintained so that guests can enjoy them carefree.
We loved Key West, and enjoyed our stay at the Coconut Mallory. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Ontario
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We were invited to this timeshare resort by another couple, and stayed in unit 208. The resort is located on the east side of Key West, away from the main drag. The unit we had is a great two-story townhouse condo; two bedrooms, two washrooms (one ensuite), full kitchen, living room, dining room, balcony. Spacious, and we never felt we were in each other's "space". I must say though, the place was "tired" in terms of freshness and newness, and the ceilings on both floors showed evidence of water damage/repair work. There were 2 swimming pools, one hot tub, but it was somewhat cool, and we didn't have the opportunity to take advantage of any of them. There were bbqs and a bar, but didn't take advantage of them either. It was beautiful weather, so we always took advantage of breakfast on the spacious balcony. The front desk, unfortunately, had mostly inexperienced staff, who couldn't give us any useful recommendations in terms of restaurants or places of interest, although Nani was helpful. All in all, I`m really glad we stayed away from Duval, and took a car when we wanted to get closer to where the action was. Nice to have that choice.
Sleep was interesting ... my husband and I are used to a king-sized bed, and we slept on a queen. Not too good the first couple of nights (I took to the living-room sofa, which was fine), but we managed okay for the rest of our stay. Sofa was comfortable!

Room Tip: Get a unit that faces the swimming pool. I don`t think the other options are as appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here Nov.10 to Nov.17, 2012 and had a great time. We stayed in a two bedroom and two bathroom condo at the Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina the grounds were beautiful. You take a short toward the water and you find a small but big enough bar if you know what I mean, where a few of the locals came to unwind and have a drink and talk. It wasn't until our last two nights we discovered how much we missed by not coming here during the first part of our vacation. As my title says the quite part of Key West but with no trouble getting to Mallory Square or Duval Street where all the action is. Our first Sunday there we watched the Eagles football team get beat in the Rum Barrel bar which is called the Southern most Eagles bar. Did most of the tourist things, touring the Hemingway House & the Conch Train, good trip by the way and watched the sun go down at Mallory Square. Duval Street starting at Mallory Square and walking up the street stopping and looking in the stores and checking out some of the famous bars such as Sloppy Joe’s, Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville and others. We spent a week here and still didn't see everything we wanted to see. Well worth the trip if you can stay at the Coconut Mallory Resort and Marina. A short drive will get you to a Publix food store and much more.

Room Tip: Even though it was only the two of us the two bedroom condo was great, we got there on a trade with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This was our second time staying at this site and the second time was even better than the first. Nani at the front desk was very personable and made check in a snap. The condo we were placed in was more than we could have hoped for. All the amenities of home on the inside- kitchen with refrigerator and stove let us make breakfast in and enjoy the gorgeous weather on the patio. Just a short drive from Smathers and Higgs beaches. This hidden gem shouldn't be overlooked!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina

Address: 1445 S. Roosevelt Blvd., Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Mallory Resort And Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.