We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Save Saved
You added Blue Marlin Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Marlin Motel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1320 Simonton St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Peschiera Borromeo, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Clean and good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

If you are looking for a budget accomodation but clean with all you need that is the right hotel. It is near southern most point (5 minutes walking) 30 minutes walking from the busy Mallory square. It is clean it is good for families. If you need an owner very very friendly thery aren't but they do their work well. so I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    272
    99
    22
    16
See reviews for
153
239
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spring/Houston, TX
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Booked this hotel based on TA reviews and it was as expected, but one thing I don't remember reading about were the thinness of the linens. That drove me nuts!! Also, if you don't like to hear people walking around upstairs, get the upstairs rooms. Never had a problem with the neighboring walls or outside, but heard the walking. Floors could use a mopping between guests too. otherwise it seemed pretty clean.

Very close and easy to get to anything from this hotel. Price can't be beat, but if you want something very nice, looks elsewhere.

Parking was very tight! We had a hard time parking most nights because the parking spaces are so close together. Not sure where you would park if you came in very late, because the parking spaces are truly limited.

Staff was fairly pleasant. Skipped breakfast here, it was super basic. I only saw danish and muffins offered, along with juice and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Second stay at Blue Marlin, nice big rooms, parking (big bonus in Old Town Key West), staff all very friendly and helpful, especially Marcus. Good location near quiter end of Duval Street. If you are there for 4th July, there is a great firework display at White Street Pier/Higgs Beach which is within walking distance, had a really good night down there sitting on the beach with beers and cigars watching the display.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The Blue Marlin was a great place to stay. We traveled to Key West with a 14 year old and our 2 year old granddaughter and found the Blue Marlin to be the perfect place to stay. It was quiet and safe and very clean. The bathrooms are huge,even with a 14 year old. It was close enough to everything to be convenient, but on the quiet end of Duval street, so was perfect with a 2 year old. Staff was great, pool was also very clean and the whole place is well taken care of. The free parking was a must in Key West and the trolley stop is just around the corner. Also 2 blocks from Southernmost area. We would definitely stay there again if we get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale,Fl
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

This is a nice, clean motel in a very good location. Upon arrival we found our room was very clean and larger than I expected. One of the two beds however had a quite noticeable caved in area in the mattress. Fortunately we didn't need to use that bed though. I didn't take any pictures of the place since the ones I see already posted are representative of what I found.

Pros: Price for sure; location, cleanliness.

Cons: You might find grabbing a parking spot near your room tough when the place is sold out. (as it was during our stay)

Also beware - their website states "some rooms have kitchenettes". This isn't true. We requested one and I was told that ever since they renovated a year or so ago the kitchenettes were removed.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, PA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

The Blue Marlin was the perfect place to stay in Key West! It was in a great location (1 block off Duval). My husband and I parked the car when we arrived and never moved it again, we just walked everywhere. The Blue Marlin is nothing overly fancy, but is clean, charming and well taken care of...and priced perfectly! We would certainly stay at the Blue Marlin again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

I had intended to go to the Dry Tortugas while in Key West, but the weather prevented us from going. So while in Key West, we checked into the Blue Marlin. It is your standard hotel room. There is a nice pool. Of course, even though we couldn't go to the Tortugas we found no shortage of things to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. No complaints overall.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Address: 1320 Simonton St., Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.