We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Renovated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Marlin Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blue Marlin Motel to your Saves list
Blue Marlin Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1320 Simonton St., Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Naples, FL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Newly Renovated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location near the southern most point, and only blocks from Duval Street. Even the swimming pool has been updated. The rooms are clean and comfortable for those on a limited budget, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    354
    120
    25
    17
See reviews for
202
295
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lampertheim
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose Blue Marlin for the cheapest Rates on Key West. The Hotel was clean and had a nice clean smell when entering the room. The people at Check In where really nice and helpful. Even though we didn’t use the pool, it looked really clean. We would recommend it anytime. Great Low Budget accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chocen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in this motel at 26th-29th aug 2013 (a family, but of a 6 adults - 3 couples). The rooms are clean, the wi-fi is working ok, the swimming pool is really huge for a motel of this price range, and on one side a true 6' which feels good after so many places with kids pools. Plus, if you are not being noisy, you can stay in there for as long as you want, even during the night!

All the bathroom stuff - soap, lotion, shampoo has a distinctive Key West lime scent, too! ;-)

Breakfast could be a bit better - I'm not exactly a fan of sweet breakfasts, a few sausages, slices of ham, or something like that would do no harm.

The staff was helpfull, both during the day and the evening. We were a bit late with checking out, yet nobody is rushing you out.

Location is a bit tricky - on the map it does look like the beach is right around the corner, which is not completely true. The "fun part" of the island, with bars and shops is within walking distance, though. Definitely would come back, thank you for a pleasant stay in Key West!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culebra, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Key West and would definitely go back if we're in Key West. The room was VERY spacious and we had two queen beds, refrigerator, coffee maker and a clean bathroom.

The furniture is a bit dated but in good condition. The swimming pool is a great selling point for this Motel and it is very clean (and stays open until late). Our bed was a little bit uncomfortable, but, we were able to sleep well. The Motel offers free continental breakfast at the office at the entrance. The coffee was very good and strong.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I stayed only one night and was generally pleased. The room was spacious, very clean with exceptionally comfortable beds. Excellent air conditioning as someone from the Northwest could die in this climate !! The room did however, have a bit of an acrid, stale odor as if someone had violated the no smoking policy in the distant past and that odor is very hard to get out!! It was not strong enough to cause me any distress, I am just extremely sensitive to odors. Staff was pleasant and the pool was nice. Generally easy on the eye, this is just a somewhat older motel. I guess the price is reasonable for Key West where everything is very expensive. Breakfast was good , just grab it in the lobby, no place to sit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collonges-au-Mont-d'Or, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Blue Marlin Hotel in July 2013. This hotel is ideally placed for visiting Key West, close to Duvall street, the main street of the island. The hotel (motel) is correct, pool and rooms with standard quality. Apart from the noisy air conditioning, no major complaint about the accommodation. The breakfast provided is symbolic with two options: eat standing in the lobby or make several trips to take to your room. And beware of late: I arrived at 9:02 for a deadline set at 9 am, everything was packed and the young woman at the reception service shows you the clock to indicate that the time is up ! Do not go asking for something, about the wifi, for example, people in the lobby did not even look up when you talk to them and certainly do not try to help you. I have never worked with the rudest people and unfriendly. The hospitality and smile are two essential things when working in the hospitality industry, I believe that the employees of Blue Marlin got the wrong job.
Given the location of the hotel and housing demand in Key West, they think fill sure the hotel : it is a short-term goal that could change!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Please accept our apologies. Poor guest service is unacceptable and we do not tolerate it. Thank you for letting us know about it so that we can address it immediately. We are sorry that we failed to exceed expectations. We are working on improving our breakfast and we will definitely get our guest service back on track. Thanks for posting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Wasn't sure about this place but called made a reservation was looking for something in walking distance to the action. This Motel is nicely remodeled inside and is one block from the famous Duval street. And it's one block from the Southern most point and the southern most public beach. It had two queen beds and a large flat screen TV I loved the two vanity sinks. One was located in the bathroom and one outside the bathroom. So you can put your make up on and dry your hair while the other showers. Was a welcome surprise continental breakfast could use a little work not the greatest. But the value and location makes it worth the stay. Enjoyed my stay.......

Room Tip: Great rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dBranham, General Manager at Blue Marlin Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for posting! We appreciate your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Blue Marlin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Marlin Motel

Address: 1320 Simonton St., Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Marlin Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two-story Motel located 1 block from town center & 3 blocks from ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Marlin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Marlin Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Marlin Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.