We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Key West Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3031-41 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #38 of 46 Hotels in Key West
kc63
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An unexpected gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stumbled upon this hotel by accident driving around the streets of Key West in search of value for money accommodation. We had stayed one night in the nearby Radisson and were very disappointed. I stay in a lot of chain hotels with work and Marriott Courtyard would not normally be my first choice.

What a find this was then! From check-in to check-out we found the staff courteous and always willing to go above and beyond. One staff member on the front desk even went to the trouble of delivering some wine glasses to our room despite the fact the hotel didn't offer room service. Breakfast was served in the dining room daily. Excellent value for money buffet or a la carte. Lunch was served at the poolside bar from 11 - 2 (we thought they could have offered lunch till 3 perhaps?).

We couldn't fault the room. Clean and spacious with a comfortable bed. We were given a free upgrade to a room with a jacuzzi. The bathroom had a large wetroom style shower.

The highlight had to be the pool area though. Beautifully landscaped with a variety of tropical trees for shade if you needed. The large main pool was heated. There was an outdoor spa pool which was open will 11pm. The well stocked Tikibar had a tasty bar meal menu. The staff again were charming. There was a small beach area where you could get down to the ocean. This was no where near as pleasant as the pool area, but it was nice to have the option.

The hotel offered a free shuttle bus to the historic Old Town area from early morning until 1045 in the evening. The service ran on the hour and on the half our all day. Excellent service. There was no option, but to drive from the Radisson. Not what you want on holiday!

I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    91
    66
    38
    21
See reviews for
98
119
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I am a Marriott Rewards member with over 150,000 points accumulated (all used up now) during the last 10 years and although there were a few Tripadvisor negative reviews, I had to chose this hotel since I was paying with points and they were the only hotel in the Marriott family with availability (now I know why).

Got to Key West at 9:00 AM on Sat May 2nd for two night's stay. We left our bag at the reception and received a claim ticket. We had a full day of activities planned so had to rush out of the hotel. I had requested a small fridge be placed on the room and extra towels. No problems they said.

Got back to the hotel at about 10:00 PM tired and wanting to shower and rest. I asked for our bag and the reception person said what bag? we don't have any bags here. Well, if anyone has ever had their car stolen or house robbed, then you know how this feels. The bag had a laptop, credit card, ids, money, and personal items. It feels terrible. The lady said, well maybe we took it up to your room; go and check.

Got to the room and no bag, no fridge, no extra towels and no soap. Called them and she said well I don't know where it is. hellooooooo?????? how hard is it to keep a bag stored in a luggage room? I asked if they had given my room to another person since my room didn't have a fridge as requested so they called one room close to mine to ask the people if there was an extra bag; totally unprofessional. Did they really think that someone who got an extra bag and didn't return it during the entire day was going to do it now?

I was getting very upset and told them to call the people that had worked in the morning and track back what they had done to the bag. They just didn't know what to do or didn't care about solving my problem. As far as they were concerned: lost bag; that's it. Leave us alone.

After about half hour we got a call that they had found the bag in the shuttle bus that goes from Marriott hotels to Marriott hotels. What? what the heck was my bag doing traveling all over KW?

Not an experience I would want anyone else to have.

I thought about talking to the day manager since there was no night manager on duty or to complaint to headquarters but just didn't want to let this incident continue to ruin our short vacation so just put it our of my mind and tried to enjoy KW as much as possible. But certainly, I wanted to post here so others are aware of how badly managed and unprofessional this hotel is. I must have stayed at over 15 Courtyard hotels thoroughout the U.S. and I had never experienced this level of incompetence. Do not stay there unless you don't have another choice.

Also, the first night got the safe combination lock programmed with my usual code that I have used for over twenty years and opened and closed the safe a few times and in the morning when I tried to open it, guess what; invalid code. had to call and get a technician come and open it.

Lastly, the rooms are not well insulated so you can hear people in the next room and people walking by the hall. So if you can hear them, I guess they can hear you. Not good if you want a private, restfull, romantic stay.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

Stayed at the hotel over Thanksgiving. We had a double queen standard booked and since the hotel wasn't close to full they gave us a free upgrade to a double queen suite which gave us an additional room, jacuzzi, microwave and kitchen. It was nice of them to do that and other hotels would be wise to do the same thing as it leaves a guest with a positive feeling and can overcome any problems.

This hotel has a nice pool area and is quiet even though its on Roosevelt. You get free coffee and tea in the room and the lobby, free internet, bring a cable for your computer since its not wireless, free transportation every 30 mins to and from downtown key west. However, during busy season i wouldnt count on that free transportation always being available since that bus only holds about 12 people so you might have to wait for the next one or plan on a cab.

Room was very clean, plenty of cable tv channels, staff and front desk were great. They have a beach but don't plan on swimming there since the water isn't conducive for that. nice pier at the hotel for checking out the wildlife(birds, sea snakes, crabs, fish, etc.) Again, i wouldn't go walking around in that water unless you are a marine biologist and like sea life up close and personal. Beach is nice and they have chairs, use the pool that is 50 yards away to do your bathing.

Tiki bar is right at pool and staff were very friendly. Breakfast buffett for 14.95 per person. My recommendation is hit the Circle K across the street or Albertsons grocery store for your breakfast. You will feel better and so will your wallet. You need to have your war chest ready to deal with duval so don't blow it at the breakfast buffet. Courtyard does provide a free paper each day.


If you dont need to be in the thick of it then this hotel will serve you well with good value.

  • Liked — Very good value for Key West
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs.England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Booked over phone after refusing to stay in a previously booked hotel in Islamorada due to poor standadards. Marriot exceeded our expectations. Spotless Queen Suite, with 2 beds in bedroom, fold out Queen sofa in other room with large Jacuzzi bath. Reception staff friendly & efficient, public area welcoming with nice carpets and sofas, and 2 computers for guest use. Also had Wi-Fi connection (free) in that area and cable connection in room.

Nice pool area with good sized heated pool, large terrace area, spa pool, and Tiki bar.

Out back had decking path round waterfront area with tables and chairs for sitting out and watching views. Beach area was a little messy with debris floating in but staff cleaned it regularly, but as next to Mangrove area I would not swim in it, just soak up view.

Internal corridors with secuity locks made one feel secure. Good buffet breakfatst (at extra cost) Major benefit was the free shuttle than ran hourly into Key West harbour area, and picked up from there until 10.45p.m.

My first experience in a USA Marriott, and a first rate impression was gained.

  • Liked — Size of Suite
  • Disliked — Debris on beach/waterfront
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytona beach,fl
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

The Courtyard Waterfront is a hidden gem in Key West.
The public areas are spotless and very inviting. The front desk personnel are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very well kept and of a decent size. The pool is large and has a jacuzzi.

We stayed in a first floor suite with 2 queen beds and interior corridors -- ( there are 2 buildings with exterior corridors). The living room was very large , with carpeted floors and a whirlpool tub in a croner of the living room. The large bedroom had 2 queen beds ,a chair ,night stand, and dresser. There was a kitchen area with a counter and cabinets, sink, refrig, and microwave. The bathroom was rather small and had a single sink, but it was adequate.

The nice thing about the suite was that it had 2 sets of sliding glass doors that opened onto a huge furnished patio that overlooked the pool. It was very convenient for pool access and just sitting outside.

We enjoyed breakfast in the cafe every morning. The buffet was reasonably priced ( $14.95) and the service and food was great.
The Tiki bar by the pool offered "Happy Hour" drinks for $2-3.

The Courtyard offered a complimentary shuttle into town, with pickup/dropoff at the Conch Republic. Even though we had a car, it was easier using the shuttle, as parking is a problem in Key West.

The only negative that we have is the air conditioning--the units blow on you while sleeping and do not seem to extract the humidity. This gives the rooms a "moldy" odor, which does not help people with asthma.

  • Liked — Clean,large room and patio
  • Disliked — odor in room from air conditioning unit
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2008

THere is really nothing fancy about this place. It's a Courtyard!!! Anyway, my room was clean and the breakfast the next morning was great. We took the tram from the hotel that drops you off right at the top of Duval. The only thing I would change is to keep the tram going longer. We took a cab back from Sloppy Joe's and it cost like 10 Bucks. I did walk by the pool and the jacuzzi but didn't use it. I had too many other things to do while in Key West!!! I gave it a three because it's a Courtyard. i think excellent is a good B&B. No complaints other than the tram. Contact with any questions.

  • Liked — The tram to the top of Duval
  • Disliked — The Tram stops at 12
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Address: 3031-41 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Marriott
Key West Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Key West Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.