We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Key West Waterfront to your Saves list
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3031-41 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very bad staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I checked in the hotel a few weeks ago, the hotel itself is not too bad but the lady whom i was sruprise is the front desk supervisor, was very untidy and abnoxious. I'm not sure if its her accent or the fact that the walk out in her barefoot. She then said sorry and passed it off saying i grew in south africa. I think is way below standard for any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    80
    62
    37
    21
See reviews for
91
105
14
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This property, which is a former Howard Johnson's (Ho Jo's) is a cost effective opportunity for those visiting Key West. It is in "new town', which is not in the Duval Street area, but they offer a free shuttle to "old town"

Room Tip: We stayed in the "A" section, which was facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boca raton
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Chose the Marriott Courtyard mainly based on price and being a long time rewards member. Although not in the downtown area, it does have a free shuttle which runs until 10:45 PM.
Arrived around 1:00PM and our room was not ready(check in time is listed as 3:00PM). We were given a room key to use at the tiki bar for lunch charges and were told we could use the shuttle if we wanted.
We went to lunch and returned at 2:35. Our room was being finished and within 10 minutes was ready. We had reserved a two queen pool side at the suggestion of the Marriott reservation specialist. Although we prefer a King room he said the pool view would be better. When we finally got our room keys we were given a complementary up-grade to a Queen suite. The room(s) was on the first floor and consisted of a living area with a jacuzzi, and a separate bedroom with two queen beds, microwave and mini fridge.
Lobby area was updated and very clean. Free WiFi and three guest desk tops. The cafe was open for lunch and breakfast. Front desk staff was certainly up to Marriott standards and could not have been more friendly or helpful.
Rooms were large and although a little tired, were for the most part clean and fresh. Desk chair was stained and air freshener was used to excess but overall OK. Used both beds and mine was very comfortable but my wife did not find hers to be quite the same. Based on some other reviews I expected it to be somewhat of an "island thing" but we certainly were not disappointed with the accommodations.
The shuttle is free and a great added benefit, but it drops off and picks up near the Northern most point on Duval. If you want to go to the Southern end, drive down early and park on the side streets. Many spots are free. Otherwise it is a long walk the length of Duval back and forth from the shuttle stop.

Room Tip: Pool area has lush landscaping and gives an Island feel. Tike bar is at one end and doesn't get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Courtyard by Marriott, Key West, Waterfront is a classy and comfortable hotel. It has everything that you expect from Marriott: Comfortable rooms, exceptional service, good location. This hotel is not in the main tourist area of Key West (Duval Street). It is about a mile north of Duval on the main North-South thoroughfare, Truman Street (also Route 1). While there is a major construction effort on Route 1 (northbound only) between the hotel and Duval street, it does not effect pedestrian traffic, or bicycles. Vehicular traffic traveling north from Duval must make a detour about 2 miles out of the way. Not a real big deal.

This hotel is comfortable, has a very typical Key West tropical feel, has easy access and not too much noise and bustle. Great pool, hot tub, Tiki bar, small beach (note that there really aren't any great sand beaches in the Keys), and wonderful scenery and sunset views.

Room Tip: The second floor, ocean view, rooms, as well as the poolside rooms, offer exceptional scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Went to KeyWest for Hemingway contest. Prices were already extremely high because of the special weekend. Had to change rooms because smell of chemicals was so bad in the rooms. The next 3 rooms were the same. Had no choice but to take room since other hotels were sold out. Staff was excellent, but did not try to compensate in any way. For the price of hotel ($300.after taxes per night), I thought this was inexcusable!
I have stayed here in the past because of free shuttle to downtown, but will not stay again. Price is not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I figured it would just be a rundown business hotel, typical of a hundred others in this chain but the place was great. We had a room facing the water which was very quiet. The grounds with pool, small beach and terrific decks were a nice surprise. The room was clean and the location was convenient. Not a tropical paradise resort but a decent, clean, and pleasant place.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room facing the war for quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We visited in May of 2012, had a fantastic time! Our room was clean, the pool was beautiful and we loved the little Tiki Bar. As for location, it is a ways out the action of Duvall street, but we loved that we had the shuttle bus. But the reason I am writing this review is to spotlight the service we had while there. They went out of their way..(especially Jessica), to help us with our bags that had to be kept somewhere til we could check in, and they kept them safe when we checked out and couldnt leave til 5..this being that we took the Keywest Express to and from Keywest. She delivered the bags on time, with a smile right as we needed to board..Everyone was very friendly even the groundskeepers, who I thought did a tremendous job..Thank you, and when we return I know where we'll stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Key West Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Key West Waterfront

Address: 3031-41 North Roosevelt Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Key West Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Key West hotel located on the Gulf of Mexico in the "New Town" section of Key West. Located within a 10 minute drive of any attraction on the island. We feature spacious guest rooms, including suites with a variety of room configurations including in-room Jacuzzis. Every room has free hi-speed internet access, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, coffee maker, cable TV and refrigerators. A Tiki Bar is located adjacent to our large outdoor heated pool and Jacuzzi or feel free to tan on our private sunbathing beach located behind our hotel. Join us in our Bistro featuring Starbucks and a wide range of breakfast items. Our Complimentary downtown shuttle service will drop you off and pick you up in the historic seaport; walking distance from Duval Street. Be sure to talk our our onsite concierge agent who can assist you with the many activities and history enriched attractions the island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Key West Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Key West Waterfront Hotel Key West
Key West Courtyard
Key West Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Key West Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.