We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten path” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Save Saved
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Williamstown, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days 2 nights in Sept 2013. The property and room are in excellent condition following some really terrific renovations by the new owners. The breakfast spread was great and they bring in the pastries from a shoppe right on Duval. The pool area was nice. Small, but quaint. Super quiet at night to relax by the pool with a cold beer on property, but also convenient trip by bike to duval, walking distance to Schooner Wharf and all the restaurants on the marina. This is a great place to stay if you want to be close to the action but not kept awake all night by drunk loud people and partying. I would totally stay here again! I hated leaving!

Room Tip: If you are a large person (big-boned, husky, chunky, very curvy, fat) then avoid the Truman room bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Well, we're sorry you had to leave too....Guess you'll have to come back some day! Thank you for taking the time to review the Artist House on Fleming. We're happy to hear you found so many things about the property to enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    84
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
247
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed 5 days at the Artist House on Fleming and enjoyed a warm welcome from the lovely staff. Our room (Hemingway) was a good size with a couch, fridge and spacious porch with sun loungers. A typical laid-back atmosphere, fantastic breakfast, safe and convenient location and some PARKING, which is not always available on KW. Thanks to Treva and Jo for looking after us - we hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks Fliss! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here at the end of September on the penultimate leg of our FL road trip and it was fantastic. The house is beautifully restored and decorated, we had a room on the ground floor with patio door access to the garden and pool both of which were so rarely used it was almost like having it all to ourselves. Breakfast in the adjoining kitchen was refreshingly healthy; fruit, porridge, yoghurt and pastries (the exception being the mimosa :-)) and there was as much as you wanted, you can eat in your room or on the terrace it was very laid back. The only slight downside was that it is a good 10 -15 min walk to Duval Street but if you go via the Historic Peer instead of the residential roads you hardly notice the distance. Bikes are available on site to hire and the nearest hop on/off trolley bus is no more than 5 mins away

Room Tip: I think our room was The Mallory. We had a great time BUT a previous occupant had been disturbed by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation. The Mallory is a lovely room, one of my favorites. The little outside patio is a lovely quiet spot and I am pleased to hear you made full use of it. Breakfast is important to us and we have so many compliments about our spread. Who can resist mimosa's for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I went on line to a booking site for a KW place that was close enough to walk to the boat to Ft Jefferson and then the Key West Express back to Ft Myers. This place was perfect. 3 or 4 blocks and we were at the terminal. 11 minute walk. Then we walked to Duval, Mallory Square to watch the sunset, and the next day all the way to Ft Zachary Taylor....a bit too far but can be done even for retired folks.
The accommodation were outstanding. Everything was crisp and fresh from paint, to beds and bathrooms. We enjoyed the porches and the common area to socialize. The breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit and baked goods. The location was perfect for those catching the boat trips. Everyone was helpful and friendly during our stay.
Katherine S

Room Tip: We, two couples, stayed in the two lower level rooms so were able to relax and visit together plus s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased to hear that you thought we were a 'Great place to stay'. You are right, we are in a great location for the seaport area, just 3 blocks away. Very handy for all the great bars and restaurants located in that area.
The front porch is a lovely spot to hang out and watch the world go by. It sounds like you had a fun trip. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was my 4th time to Key West and my second staying at a B&B. I picked this B&B based on the fact that there is plenty of free parking (this time of year) and the location being close to the wharf area and within walking distance to Duval. I was in the Truman room which was very nicely appointed. One area of concern was the tight squeeze in the restroom between the toilet, the sink, and the shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and provided for 2 great nights of sleep. The staff is very warm and willing to assist, but not overwhelm. The breakfast spread was perfect and the pastries were sinful. The small pool was a great spot to rest after lots of walking. I recommend a stay here and would gladly return.

Room Tip: If you are on the larger side ask for a full size restroom. It appeared some rooms have a full tub/s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were a 'Good Choice' for you. The bathroom in the Truman room is small but we have rooms with much larger bathrooms. If you want a queen bedroom with large bathroom including tub bath then I suggest the Simonton room for your next visit. It is another lovely room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida,United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The house was very nice and clean, our room was nice and what we were looking for our just for th weekend trip. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was very nice as well. We enjoyed staying here very much, we would stay there again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thanks Phoebe! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A very nice small, charming and "Old Key West style" decorated hotel . Great atmosphere and with very nice, comfortable rooms. The room we stayed in was the Gato room and we loved it. Bed was great, fridge, airco and very nicely restored in a authentic style. Coffee and teamaker also. The hotel has also a porch where you can sit with your drink and enjoy the life. At the back of the hotel is a nice and cosy deck plus a dipping pool. Really wonderful. The big surprise was the extensive breakfast with a big choice and you can even enjoy a glass of champagne. The staff and owners were so friendly that we felt us from the first moment at home. We enjoyed our stay so much that definitely we will come back. The location is great and you can walk in only a few minutes to Duval street and to the Historic harbour. At the premises we rented bikes which is great to discover all kind of places and beaches.
They even offer a happy hour, free of charge, at their also very nice and charming sister property which is only a few minutes walking away. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends. Thank you very much!!
Engelina and Leo

Room Tip: All rooms are great and in a very authentic style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Enelina and Leo, Thank you so much for your detailed review! We are so glad that you found us, during Key West's quieter time, and look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.