We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Adventure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
SLC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Key West Adventure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay! It was exactly as the photos show - very quaint and comfortable. The staff was very helpful - we booked a snorkeling excursion through them and it was a very smooth process. We are glad to stay a few blocks from Duval Street and this was close enough for a 8-10 minute walk. Comfortable bed and breakfast was great. I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking for some calm and luxury away from all the "action"!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your adventure with us and appreciate your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    91
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
277
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Really good place - small and cosy; the softest bed I slept in.
Very nice people - caring and helpful.
Unfortunately we've only been in Key West for one night this time, but when we come back (and we will!) we shall definitely consider staying in Artist House on Fleming again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear you will stay with us again when you come back to Key West, and look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My friends and I very much enjoyed our stay at the Artist House on Fleming. It got high marks in all of the standard categories. On the special side, it gets high marks for its location within old town, but not too close to Duval Street. We loved renting their bikes and exploring the island. We loved just hanging out at the House, in one of the many relaxing spots - by the jacuzzi, on one of many porches, in the outside patio. The morning breakfast spread was substantial and delicious, including champagne for mimosas if you are so inclined. We simply had a wonderful time and would most certainly return.

Room Tip: Sorry it doesn't have room service but I couldn't get rid of rating. All of the room positio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you! We couldn't have asked for a better review. We're glad you all enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing some of the wonderful things the Artist House on Fleming has to offer our guests! We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was our first call since leaving Miami Beach and was three excellant days based at the Artist House a quiet location but easy walking into the central area of Key West..With a good restaurant around the corner if an even shorter walk was preferred.The rooms we had were on the ground floor and very good,not sure how my wife could have coped on the higher floors but no problem for the younger guests
Small area and plunge pool for relaxing after a busy morning and nice breakfast area if the weather is good.
Staff is limited to times prior to 5pm but this was not a problem,Trevor made us feel at home and Jo who is a fellow Brit made us welcome the following day.

Room Tip: We didnt see the rooms on what in USA would be 2,3 &4th but access seemed to be difficult for ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Artist House on Fleming to be your home base while visiting Key West! We're glad you felt at home here, and happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Fleming Street!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for our 35th anniversary. I had hoped for a bouquet of flowers or a bottle of wine maybe? We really liked the atmosphere but a few things kept it from being perfect. Trevor and Jess were wonderful. They got us reservations at some great places, and were very helpful and friendly the entire time we were there. The cleaning left a bit to be desired. Our room was clean except they never picked up our dirty coffee cups or glasses. I had to take them back to the kitchen myself. The bed in the Hemingway suite needs to be replaced. It sunk so badly in the middle I had to pull myself out of the bed! For the money we spent I really did think we would have had it better. I have stayed at 4 different places, all B&B's this is not on the top of my list.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Pat S,

It pleases us to hear that we were able to accommodate your requests for reservations and recommendations. We were thrilled to hear that we were spot on!

We sincerely do apologize for anything that may have been amiss with your room. You seemed so delighted with the room that we were completely unaware that you were anything less than pleased. Upon reading your review we did inspect the bed and found one of the lower posts had been loose. This is something we gladly would have corrected immediately had we been notified while you were staying with us to ensure you had the most comfortable stay as possible. Also, we apologize that our housekeeper overlooked the coffee mugs. We were in a bit of a transitional phase with our housekeeping staff and we’ll strive to ensure that this error is not repeated. We are happy to hear that you did feel that the room was clean otherwise. We do hope that if you are ever back in Key West again you’ll give us another chance!

We hope you had a wonderful anniversary and enjoyed your time in paradise!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

CONS: We got the Truman room and the bed was horrible! Gave me and my husband a back ache. I complained with one of the employees, and she said she was going to do something, but she did nothing. I expected more for the price we were paying.Also, the a/c was super noisy! We stayed for three nights, but would not stay again.
PRO: The hotel is well located (20 min walk from downtown), and the breakfast is great (lots of fruits, pasteries and breads).

Room Tip: Do not get the TRUMAN
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
MGaia,

We're glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. We do hope that you were able to appreciate all that not only our Bed and Breakfast has to offer (dipping pool, complimentary happy hour, etc) but also the island of Key West itself.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy our pillow-top mattress. We did actually did rotate the mattress once you had left for the day. Short of this, unfortunately we are unable to alter a mattress. Our mattresses are top of the line, extra thick, pillow-top mattresses. Although we did opt for the medium firmness to try to accommodate most guests, it is impossible that everyone will have the same preferences for mattress firmness.

Again, we are glad that you were able to enjoy other aspects of our B&B. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

good location - extremly close to the main POI! Free parking places. Good service at the front desk. Very nice breakfast. The staff was very friendly. the garden area was welcoming.

just average cleanliness; we found leftovers in the bathroom; fruit-leftovers behind the bed.
The sheets were not in a very good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff looked after you. I am sorry to hear that your room was not clean. I can only apologise for this oversight and assure you that this is not usual for our housekeeping standards. We hope you will come back and visit us again the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.