We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting Key West” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #16 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiesbaden, Germany
1 review
“visiting Key West”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

good location - extremly close to the main POI! Free parking places. Good service at the front desk. Very nice breakfast. The staff was very friendly. the garden area was welcoming.

just average cleanliness; we found leftovers in the bathroom; fruit-leftovers behind the bed.
The sheets were not in a very good shape.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our house. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our breakfast and the staff looked after you. I am sorry to hear that your room was not clean. I can only apologise for this oversight and assure you that this is not usual for our housekeeping standards. We hope you will come back and visit us again the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    106
    18
    0
    2
See reviews for
43
361
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were in Key West for a wedding and more than a little surprised at the rates in the local "chain" hotels. So we checked out B&B's and I'm so glad we did! The Artist House on Fleming is reasonably priced, clean, has a friendly staff and is in a great location - a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of all the partying you care to do! The breakfast was delicious and varied and even though it was described as a continental breakfast, it was so much more than that! I would definitely recommend and if I ever have the good fortune of going to Key West again, the Artist House on Fleming will be the FIRST place I check!
I almost forgot - the BED WAS SUPER COMFORTABLE. It felt like I was sleeping in a cloud ...

Room Tip: We were in the Whitehead Room (the smallest) and it was fine with a private entrance in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Wow...what a lovely review, thank you. We love a good breakfast and try to provide something for everyone. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the varied selection. The Whitehead room is a cute room with an outside deck overlooking the pool - always a favorite with the guests. We hope you will come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mondercange, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

very nice B&B, good location, quiet and close to all interesting places in Key West. Free parking places near the house. Next time we are visiting Key West we will definitely book again at the Artist House on Fleming. Gilbert

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It was great to meet your family and I am so pleased the Restaurant recommendations we made suited you. Parking is always an issue in Key West and we are lucky to have free, street parking around the house. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the artists house on Fleming. The location was great very quiet but close enough for shopping nightlife and restaurants. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The house is beautiful with a very nice covered porch with comfortable furniture where you can sit relax and read the afternoon away. Out back they have a nice private deck with a great pool. We stayed in the Gato room and thou roily enjoyed our visit. Great Great Great

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Owner at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay here. I am glad to hear your enjoyed the porch and outside deck. The porch is a big favorite with all our guests. We look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Arrived a little to late to meet the staff but everything was just as they said. The bed was so comfortable and we slept like a baby. Had no problem finding a parking place and enjoyed breakfast the next morning. Great coffee and lots of fruit included. Rented 2 bikes for the day and really enjoyed Key West. Bravo Artist House!

Room Tip: The upstairs king room is quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. One of our goals is to make each of our guests feel at home here, and we're happy to hear that you were comfortable enough to relax and enjoy your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

These folks own two properties in Key West. While this is the lesser known property, it has its own character. The location is great for walking or biking around old town. My wife and I enjoyed our stay here both for the property itself and the service provided by the staff.

On our first day, Trevor helped us get our bearings and provided recommendations for dinner and entertainment that played out well for us. On Day 2, Jo helped us get reservations for our Jet Ski tour. All three days, we got service with a smile.

The rooms were clean, quiet, and comfortable. I would say as far as value, the B&B was priced competitively.

Breakfast consisted of fresh fruits, breads, and pastries. Everything was delicious.

My wife and I are in our 40s, and we felt like we were on the young side of the clientele for our stay. There were no children and for us, that was perfect since we had left ours with their grandparents.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to help you make the most out of your visit! We love sharing our local knowledge and we're glad you found our service helpful and friendly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at Artist house last night, very nice B&B boutique style Inn. After reviewing many properties including hotels on the internet, we chose this one based on reviews, availability for one night only, price and location. In the old Key West section, this property is lovely, with back yard with small pool and the deck was perfect for breakfast. We arrived too late for the happy hour but were promptly offered cold drinks anyway after our long drive to Key West (thanks Joanne). The breakfast included was perfect with many choices, including pastries, cold cuts, cheese, fruit and yogurts - excellent. We had the Truman room which was very clean, modern, and had a fabulous queen bed for a very deserved good night's sleep after roaming around Duval street and town late into the evening. Would highly recommend this property - can't see how you'd be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks Margo! We're glad you enjoyed your brief stay with us and appreciate your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.