We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Save Saved
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I surprised my husband with a night away for our anniversary. I am so happy I found this place. The reservation agent I spoke to was great and was one of the reasons I booked this property over all the others I found. We arrived before check in time and our room was ready. i have never stayed at a bed and breakfast before and this experience was a memorable one. This house was beautiful. We stayed on the first floor in the Flagler Room. The room was spacious and had everything we needed. They also have a complimentary happy hour daily at one of their other properties that was also great. They offer a complimentary breakfast in the morning from 8:30-10:30. We woke up and had an intimate breakfast by the garden by the plunge pool. This property is only a few blocks from Duval and they also have bicycle rentals for only $15 if not its a scenic stroll to Duval. Will definitely stay here every time I visit from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thanks Melissa! We're happy you found us.....and even happier to hear that we will be your home away from home whenever you visit Key West again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    90
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
273
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Recently (March 20th-27th) my wife and I fortunately visisted the Artist House on Fleming St in Key West, Florida. We arrive a bit early and Jo accomodated us by housing our bags and later placed them into our room while we strolled the town for bloody marys, lunnch and a visit to Key West Aloe. We read many reviews on this relatively renovated property, and were not disappointed. The location was new to us as we formerly stayed closer to the warf and Duval St. It was quiet and relaxed. The room was clean, bathroom very nice and well appointed.

My wife & I were cautiously looking forward to the continental breakfast &, later, the happy hour, as were used to a very grand offering in prior years (12 really). The breakfast was grander than we had hoped. Than you Artist House for that. We were prepared to visit the Artist House on Eaton for the combined happy hour later in the afternoon. Pleasent, but somewhat disappointing. Again, were were used to a rather substantial offering in prior years at another facility.

As I said, the room was clean with nice furnishings. Our only disappointment(s) were that the mattress cover did not fit the EXTREMELY plush mattress (very comfortable BTW), and perhaps a small drawered cabinet would be useful in the rooms, as we had to leave some of our clothes in our bags.

All-in-all, the Artist House on Fleming was a very nice experience. We would plan to return, as soon as we decide whether we can fit a Key West visit in for 2014. The staff was thoughful and accomodating. The price of the room was very competitive, and what we felt to be a fair value.

Karl & Maggie Castor

Room Tip: Each room has a bathroom, so no worries there. Pack lightly as storage may be somewhat of an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Artist House on Fleming experience here! We appreciate the feedback, and do hope you'll be able to return next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

FANTASTIC place! We had the Mallory & Flagler rooms on the 1st floor. The Mallory room had a door to the patio, which was amazing. The rooms were clean, spacious, and comfortable. The staff/owners are helpful and friendly. We needed a recommendation for dinner and the lady that helped us even called the restaurant for a reservation. The breakfast was amazing with everything you could possibly want. Close enough to walk everywhere, yet far enough away from Duvall Street and very quiet. Just a great place, would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for the fantastic review! We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest bed and breakfast on the island, and we're happy to hear you use clean and friendly to describe us. It means a lot to us to hear that our guests would stay with us again when they return to Key West and we look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in the Cornish Room on the third floor and it was lovely! There were four of us - my husband and I and then my brother and sister-in-law. Everyone loved the location, the friendly staff, the atmosphere and the breakfast! Really the best continental breakfast around... They even had mimosas! The house is beautiful and welcoming, a real gem. If you've booked here, you must go to Paseo, around the corner for some of the best food on Key West. We rented bikes as well from the property which worked out great and is the best way to explore.

Room Tip: We didn't hear a peep on the third floor and the bedrooms were a good size. Keep in mind you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Artist House on Fleming. The location was perfect and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We've stayed at several B&B's in Key West and we would definately do this one again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for your review! One of the best compliments we can hear is that you will return the next time you visit Key West! We'll see you then..... : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Bayern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Key West for 7 nights and stayed the 1st 4 at a beach resort then switched to the Artist House on Fleming for our last 3 nights to change things up a little. We could not have been happier with our choice to stay there. The owners are lovely people who are very friendly and accommodating and willing to help with anything you need. The house, although structurally old, has been recently remodeled and redecorated by the owner and she did such a lovely job! I liked the decor of our room (Simonton) so much that I took pictures to use as inspiration for decorating my own bedroom at home! The breakfast was great with a wide variety of fruit, cereal, fresh bakery good, coffee and tea. You can enjoy your breakfast out back by the pool or on the covered front porch watching people go by. The location was also fantastic for exploring Duval St and Mallory square (about 15-20 min walk) or the entire island by bike. You can rent bikes directly from the front desk for $20/2 days- a great deal and highly recommend! The only negative thing I can say is that our bed was a bit uncomfortable because it was too soft (but better than being too hard!). Also, since it is an old house, the hot water takes awhile to come on but once it does, it works just fine. Neither of these minor complaints would keep me from recommending or rebooking the Artist House on Fleming. It's truly a fantastic place for a great price!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thanks Megan! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Very clean, very nice accommodations with a super friendly, helpful staff. It is conveniently located near many Key West sights, but provides a quiet backyard oasis, excellent breakfast buffet and lovely rooms. I was concerned that our first floor front room would be noisy, but we never heard a sound. The back courtyard provided a lovely oasis away from the hustle and bustle of downtown, and included a huge spa/hot tub for relaxing. The rooms were immaculate, we loved the mini-refrigerator, private bath and there were plenty of clean linens. It is nestled in a quiet neighborhood, yet is only blocks away from all of the excitement that Key West can provide. I would highly recommend this B&B!

Room Tip: I think any room would be wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you so much for the recommendation! We really do try hard to be the cleanest and friendliest B&B on the island, and we're happy to hear that in your opinion, we have made the Artist House on Fleming a "wonderful place to stay"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.