We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love KeyWest” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Save Saved
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love KeyWest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Artist House on Fleming for 5 nights during Feb vacation and loved every minute of it. It was our first trip ever to KeyWest and we had a great time , incredible weather ( Every Day in the 80's & Sunny), and it was tough to leave and come back home in MA. All of the staff were very nice and helpful. We arrived at 10:30am and were able to leave our luggage here until our room was ready. Trevor took my cell phone number and called us as soon as the room was ready ( around 1pm) so we were able to check in a couple of hours early which was appreciated since we were up at 3am that morning to catch our flight. Later during our stay one of the staff ( can't remember her name) was helping us decide on which beach to visit and suggested we rent bikes to explore the island. I absolutely recommend renting bikes to anyone staying at KeyWest and you can rent them right at Artist House. We rode everywhere on our bikes and it was so much fun, got to see the whole island , and get some exercise in as well. She also recommended the restaurant on Higgs Beach ( Salute ) which we stopped for lunch on our bikes of course which was also a good call by her.
Now to the room and Inn itself. Our room was on the 3rd floor and it had a 2nd bedroom which was convenient because we invited my wife's parents for 2 nights. Our room had a huge very comfortable king sized bed and the 2nd bedroom had a queen. Each room also had a large flat screen on the wall which to be honest we never turned on. There was also a mini fridge for beverages and the Inn provided wine glass for us. After all when you go on vacation to KeyWest all you really do in your room is sleep so I believe a comfortable bed is key and it was. The 3rd Floor Suite shares a patio with one other suite with some nice deck furniture and we had some nice conversations with the party in the adjacent suite. You do have to go up 3 flights of stairs to get there but no problems there. The entrance is low so being 6 ft tall I did hit my head a few times entering the room but most of time I had enough alcohol in me I didn't feel it. The one big negative think about the room was the bathroom. Very small , very small shower , I could not really turn around inside of it without hitting the walls or door. Also , the knob needed an adjustment because it would not stay in the middle. So the water was either too hot or cold and if you were lucky to get it right where you wanted it the water would all of the sudden get cold. Also, very little water pressure. I never complained because overall it was not a big deal. Also, one other nuisance was an outside light by entrance door that kept going off and on all night. I think it was on a sensor but something may have been setting it off. Again , not enough to warrant a complaint to the staff although my wife probably disagrees with me there.
Breakfast was excellent , they had a very nice spread from local bakery's. There was plenty to choose from also , coffee, Juice , water. There was plenty of patio tables , chairs to enjoy your morning breakfast and coffee outside near the pool area , well actually the it is a hot tub not a pool. Since we had low to mid 80's all week a pool to cool off would have been nice vs a hot top. The locations was excellent. Very quite street but you are only about 6-7 blocks from Duvall St (10-15mins walk). The walk back always seemed longer than the walk to Duval Street but if you get tired of walking back you can easily find a taxi and it will only cost you a few bucks.
So overall , the place was very good, room was clean , very comfortable bed , also had love seat couch. Again the negative was the bathroom size and shower situation. Great location , Great breakfast and all staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us! We were happy to read that you loved every minute of it despite the couple of minor things that you mentioned were a nuisance. We're glad that you mentioned them though. Since we don't sleep or shower here, sometimes the only way we would know about annoying porch lights or loose shower knobs is through our guest's comments.
Thanks again, and we hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    89
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
272
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Key West and we did the drive from Miami.. unfortunately the weather didn't really cooperate with us for our drive or stay, but we made the most of it. Our stay at the Artist House on Fleming was a HUGE part of that. We had a late arrival and had no issues finding the property and room key and information was left for us without incident... Rooms are quaint, nicely updated, clean and comfortable. Would stay here over a hotel any day. We stayed in one room the first night and then was moved to the Cornish suite (2 bedroom) suite on the third floor for the next 3 nights.. was just the two of us, but the room was very nice.. lots of steps to tackle after a night out (lol), but plenty of privacy. Great continental breakfast, served on beautiful patio weather permitting.. nice seating areas on covered front proches.. bikes for rent... heated spa/pool.. just really an amazing place quiet place off the main drag but close to everything.. the hosts were very helpful and full of suggestions for first timers like us that just were winging it as we went with no set agenda in mind. Highly recommend this place.. they have a sister property as well which looked beatiful as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We're happy to hear we played a part in making your first visit a good one even with the unusually less than pleasant weather we were experiencing during your stay. Come back and see us again....Odds are the weather will be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innisfil, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We recently spend 2 wonderful days in Key West...and the Artist House on Fleming was a wonderful place to come home to. I can't say enough about Jo, Jess and Trevor...they made our stay very pleasant. The breakfasts were to dye for...I'm missing them. The location is great. Easy walking to attractions. We very much recommond the Artist on Fleming.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here! We're happy to hear you had a pleasant visit, and we appreciate the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Artist House on Fleming recently for a quick mid-week Key West trip and it was outstanding. The home is beautifully decorated and exudes warmth once you enter. Trevor was extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. For the price and location what you get is unparalleled. Our room was beautiful and cozy, the breakfast was delicious, the atmosphere is incredibly relaxing - we regretted not staying longer. Having visited Key West several times and stayed at other establishments, I can say that the service and ambiance at the Artist House on Fleming is what we look for in accommodations and we will be staying here anytime we visit in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! And thank you for adding a couple of nice photos here! We try hard to exceed our guest's expectations, and we're glad our service and ambiance were just what you were looking for.....Hopefully next time you will get to stay a little longer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Although, a room was quite little, everything is clean and nicely decorated. Staff is very friendly and the breakfast beside the pool a really great start in the morning. It is a little bit farer away from the centre, but this also makes it quite and cosy and one can rent bike directly in the house! Overall, we would be happy to come again.

Room Tip: The rooms out on the back are surely quiter and being there, we realised that there is a big differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you, Andrea! We appreciate the recommendation, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed so many things about the Artist House on Fleming. And we are especially pleased to hear that you would come back if your travels should bring you to Key West again in the future.
Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LU
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights and really enjoyed it. This place is lovely - quite area, clean, great atmosphere, beds were comfortable, good breakfast... We would love to stay longer... The parking situation is a little bit challenging. As soon you find a parking space, stay there - you anyway don´t need a car on Key West.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Flagler Room. It is directly at the entrance, so it is a little bit "loud"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed so many things about the house despite our street parking : )
There are four or five parking spaces very close to the house that generally are available for our guests, but, like you, most people leave their car once they find a spot. We try hard to help our driving guests find a suitable spot, but in the rare case that parking should become more than a bit of a challenge, the city parking garage is less than two blocks away. And offers very reasonable overnight rates.
Thanks again for taking the time to review, and we hope to see you again some day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed there Feb. 8 thru 10. Clean, large and tastefully decorated rooms along with a very friendly and helpful staff make this a 5 star selection. The cost of the stay was quite reasonable too. The happy hour at their sister property was a very nice touch and provided a nice break in the day.

There might be B&Bs a bit closer to Duval St. but this one is worth a few extra steps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate the recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.