We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artist House on Fleming

Save Saved
You added Artist House on Fleming to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Artist House on Fleming
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Zuerich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The place is gorgeous and located in a quiet and lovely neighborhood, very close to all attractions. The room was spotless! The management pays so much attention to detail everything is beautifully decorated, the breakfast is delicious and the staff very friendly and helpful. We will stay again at this place when we return to key west!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you, Andrea! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to be the cleanest and friendliest guesthouse on the island and we're happy to hear that it shows! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    84
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
247
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solomons, Maryland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 4 days in the Mallory Room. Well appointed with nice king sized bed, opens out onto the patio with private seating area. The house has a warm homey atmosphere and the staff couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. Breakfast was delicious, bikes were great. Definitely the nicest place we've stayed in Key West. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks Frank! We appreciate your review and are glad to hear you had a great stay! It means a lot to us to hear you say we are the nicest place you've stayed in Key West, because we know you've stayed at some nice ones!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Three of us stayed here, initially sharing the Cornish Suite on the third floor, being two bedrooms and a bathroom. Unfortunately, we didn't realise the bathroom was only accessible via one of the bedrooms and after one night the management very kindly moved us into 2 separate rooms on the first floor, each with their own bathroom, for no extra cost, The Cornish Suite would have been absolutely fine for families but wasn't ideal for we three adults. The new rooms were superb and tastefully renovated and decorated without losing the old world charm. The Artist House is very well located and only a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street and the Marina and has a lovely, well furnished front porch/verandah featuring a swing chair. Breakfast was superb and eating in the rear courtyard with the sound of the spa waterfall was very relaxing. The spa in the courtyard is enormous and the water very warm. The owners have an afternoon happy hour at their nearby sister property on Eaton Street where free drinks and light snacks are available, which we thought was very generous of them. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. There are no staff physically present after 5.00 pm which we found enhanced the experience and made the place feel like more of a home from home. Our only gripe is that the pillows could have been a little more plush or maybe we are spoiled by having top of the range ones at home. We would definitely return and highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We arrived as walk-ins at the Artist House on Eaton and were redirected to Fleming Street, where we were fortunate to stay in the Mallory room for three nights. Situated adjacent to the kitchen, we felt like the kitchen was our own because of the homey welcoming feeling there. The choices of food for breakfast were outstanding. We were well taken care of by the staff in reception and Jen did a great job of refreshing our room daily. We parked our car on our arrival and used it only to drive away at the end of our stay. We would certainly recommend this B&B to our friends and family!
The Smiths
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: We loved the Mallory on the ground floor which opens to the kitchen and also to the terrace along th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad you found us and appreciate you recommending us to the Vancouver community!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Best room in the house.
Top five reasons:
5. Great King size bed
4. Water Cooler right outside the door
3. AC Works very well
2. Back doors open right onto the patio and pool deck
1. Pool's water fall runs throughout the night creating that lovely, sleepy sound of falling water!
Outstanding few days.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks, David! We think ALL of our rooms have their own unique "top fives", but we're glad you found the Mallory magnificent! Thnak you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Nice small bed and breakfast in Key West
Good location à little outside the busy downtown
Room nicely decorated but the bathroom is very small
Vert kind and helpfull personnel at thé réception but nobody as of 5 PM

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you, Louis. We're happy you chose us, and appreciate your review. Like many B&B's in Key West, we are not staffed 24 hours, but we always have someone "on duty" by way of our emergency contact number, and we are all just moments away in the event that our guests need us after hours. Thanks again.....We're happy you chose the Artist House on Fleming!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This property is everything it says it is: charming, clean, friendly, lovely outdoor sitting areas, nice back garden pool (spa) area, wonderful breakfast and much more. Parking on the street was no problem at all. Would definitely recommend!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artists-Fleming, Manager at Artist House on Fleming, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks! We're happy to hear we met your expectaions, and appreciate your recommendation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Artist House on Fleming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artist House on Fleming

Address: 1016 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Artist House on Fleming 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Artist House on Fleming reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artist House on Fleming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.