We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip...near perfection” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Gloucester, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Anniversary trip...near perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was beautiful. Staff was amazing and very attentive. We had a little issue the first night but the manager was quick to attend to us and most definitely handled everything to our satisfaction. We enjoyed the pool and the poolside bartender was great. We stayed in a deluxe king room on the 5th floor and it was spacious and very accommodating. The bathroom offered ample room (despite other reviews). We will staying again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear skmiller68,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed your king leisure room and it added to the pleasures of your stay. When your travels have you return to the Southernmost Point, please let me know so that I may assist with your accommodations. Until then, enjoy the memories made here on your Anniversary trip!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    265
    158
    79
    62
See reviews for
144
428
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I tried the new 430 Duval for our date night--and left feeling completely satisfied! We shared the gourmet pizza tapa for our appetizer--WOW! Delicious, creative, and way underpriced...not sure how they can afford to make this offer! I never thought of those combinations of toppings for a pizza, but we both loved it! Michael and Jen (our waiter and waitress) made sure that we were comfortable and had a relaxing evening by checking on us frequently but giving us space to enjoy our date. For our main course, I got the rigatoni while he chose the ginger chicken. Mine was so creamy and his had great seasonings...definitely worth the price (which was less than most dinners in Key West)! I loved how upscale and comfortable the seating was--the best surprise was that the plush surround chairs can be slid to your preferred distance from the table. It was just one more sign of what a classy restaurant 430 Duval is!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Amber J,

Thank you for dining with us, we are glad you enjoyed the libations of 430 Duval. We are proud of our new restaurant, the food prepared by Chef Andrew and the service provided by our team, we are excited about what the future holds for us. Thanks again for dining with us.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Crown Plaza has so much to offer: location, view from the top, lovely new lobby and restaurant. However, it's just looks good. The furniture in the lobby/restaurant is not functional....short tables with no place to put your legs. My 6' 3" husband gave up and just held his cereal bowl in his hands. Service was extremely slow..40 minutes to get a bowl of cereal. One morning the milk came in a teacup, and then a large glass; pitcher was finally used on the 3rd day. Room wasn't cleaned one day even after we reminded them before leaving for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us here on TripAdvisor. We truly value your feedback and are disappointed to hear that your time with us was not on par with our expectations would like to extend our sincerest apologies. We have spoken with the appropriate departments and will be sure these errors are not repeated.

Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share information regarding your recent stay with us, as all feedback helps us to ensure that your future experience(s) with us are seamless and enjoyable.

If you have any questions or comments in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me using the information provided below.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elma, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Excellent place to stay in Key West. It is in the middle of Duval Street, walking distance to most everything! Rooms have recently been updated... they are small but clean and contemporary. Beautiful pool and tri-level outdoor pool area with an outdoor bar. Lobby is very modern and clean. Service is very good. Wonderful feature is the rooftop! You can see all of Key West from up there. Friday night, there was a bar up there, live music, and we all sat around and watched the sunset! It was awesome. Breakfast not included in your rate... there is an attached Starbucks, and Wendy's is about 2 blocks away. Valet parking (I think it's $20/day)... we haven't used our car yet since we've been here as we walk everywhere. There is a trolley stop right outside the hotel. The passes are good for two (2) days so well worth it to get around town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear RBE14059,

We appreciate your feedback on your stay and thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our staff is always very pleased to hear when guests enjoy their vacations and cherish their time spent with us. We hope to welcome you back to the La Concha Hotel very soon!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

As title of review, it's nearly good, but ends up as average.

Pros:
- Valet guys were great
- Good location - good for Old Town generally, not just Duval Street
- Clean rooms - and not the smallest I have seen, either
- Pretty quiet [although I am used to New York, so maybe I am immune]
- The lobby and front of house are very nice - have clearly just been done up


Cons:
- The rooms are a bit dated. Where the lobby looks clean, fresh and new, the rooms look like they have been given a quick lick of paint - they are just not up to the level of the refurb downstairs
- When I arrived I was given my key for my "twin room, just as you requested, sir". Er, no, I didn't. Still, that got changed.
- Key didn’t work the first time, had to go back down to reception [ok, not a massive issue, but I arrived at 4am, having been travelling for 12 hours, could have done without it]
- No bottled water in rooms. I've never been to a hotel [even one a 1/4 of the price of this] that didn't provide bottled water in the rooms, just odd
- Housekeeping didn't come for the first 2 days, and I had to ask them to come at the desk. When they did come they didn't replenish Shampoo or soap
- The Terrace really is just a roof. It's a shame, this could be a really nice space, great views of the sunset and the town, but nothing up there. Just feels like you climbed up the fire escape onto the roof; this space could be amazing, bit of care, few plants etc. Would maybe draw more people and encourage them to stay [guy serving in the Terrace Bar was great though]
- Service in the pool bar is poor. Firstly you can’t put drinks on your room, secondly the general level of service from the attendant was very poor. Could barely pull herself away from chatting to her friends.
- Got the bill wrong twice. Went down at 8pm night before leaving at 3.30am next day to settle up, first bill had wrong rate on it, nearly $500 over. Went down later and got another version, looked more right, was told it had been settled on my card. Leaving following morning told it hadn't been, had to do it there and then, at that time of the morning which is exactly what I didn't want to do. Different amount again [although the right amount finally]. Never know if you are being charged twice or what [weren't, but hassle you don't need at that o'clock]

Pool area and pool are small, but I was not hanging around there and didn’t bother me.

All in all, it was fine, but not amazing. All the above might be ok if you were paying $100 a night [“might”…], but this is not a cheap hotel. I know this is Key West and it’s not a cheap place, period, but even so, for the cost, I expect a good experience and it just wasn’t there, was very average.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear GingerMatti1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us here on TripAdvisor. While I am disappointed your experience fell short of expectations, I am thankful that you have shared the feedback with us as our team reviews all guest feedback in an effort to improve the guest experience. Please feel free to contact me at any time to discuss your stay.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza La Concha for a long weekend in Feb. Everything in Key West was expensive so while normally I wouldn't pay as much as I did for a Crowne Plaza, it was comparable to local peer hotels. It goes without saying that it is a huge upgrade from some of the local motels. The location is great, right on Duval street and easy to find. I was impressed walking inside with the modern lobby and nice bar area. Lots of seating and a fresh, clean look.

The room was smaller but well appointed and the decor was modern and tasteful. High ceilings helped the room feel larger than it was. The bathroom was very small and since the door swung in, one would have to open the door, and squeeze by before being able to shut it. The windows must have had great insulation as the noise from Duval Street was muted and we were only on the 4th floor. The plantation shutters were a nice touch and did a good job of keeping the sun out in the morning. The bed and pillows were comfortable.

All of the staff from the valets to bellboys to the front desk were friendly, helpful and did a great job. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient and the valets were fast with retrieving the car when needed. The only parking available at the hotel is valet. In general, unless driving to/from other Keys, a car is not necessary in Key West and better to avoid the traffic.

Overall I would consider staying at the La Concha again when visiting Key West.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We appreciate your review and are thrilled you had such an amazing experience. Our staff is very motivated and eager to serve each of our guests and provide a seamless experience. When you travels have you return to the Southernmost Point, we would welcome you to return to the La Concha Crowne Plaza Key West!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Crowne Plaza offers a very good location... However the price for the suite not worth the cost.. The cost for this room was way too high. The hotel is located on Duval street, The Plaza's greatest asset. The restaurant was good for breakfast but even though I called to confirm and was told it was part of the package it was NOT included. about construction, they said it was complete and no more work at this time, Upon Arrival, the desk offered a Luke warm reception. I was informed that the elevator was out of service and had to walk to 1 end go up to 3rd floor then walk to the other end and take that elevator up to the 5th floor this was next to impossible with my luggage as there were steps.
The construction seems to be everywhere... at the pool and in the main lobby I see them taking measurements for more construction (remember I called and was told all construction was over)
The hallways smelled of mold. Our room was large enough The refrigerator was not cold, I ALWAYS ran out of hot water in the shower. The toilet was industrial style and very hard to flush, the shower had some mold ... The cleaning people left things on the floor and did not pick up the basics.
The elevator was out for most of the week so it was like a maze to get back to our room. The wifi was spotty. The construction in the elevator hallway was constant and noisy. The pool bartender was annoyed that we were there. Some good points ... the bed was comfortable, location was great, food was good, just not worth the cost and would not go back

Room Tip: Book only if you get a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear drjonesphd,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay here at the La Concha Crowne Plaza Key West. We appreciate your detailed account of your stay and your experience while here on property. Your feedback will be shared with each department head for follow up. We are pleased that our hallway and lobby upgrade is complete and there will be no further interruptions to our guests experience. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us upon your return trip to Key West.

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0200
jasoncarter@laconchakeywest.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Address: 430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel La Concha Key West is a unique and historic hotel located directly on Duval Street within walking distance of all major attractions, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife. Built in 1926, home to luminaries like Hemingway, Truman, Tennessee Williams (when he wrote a Streetcar Named Desire). La Concha Hotel offers the most spectacular 360 degree view, with nightly Sunset Celebration and all of Key West from the 7th Floor deck and lounge at the top of the hotel. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily in Jacks Seafood Shack. Outdoorswimming pool and pool bar on the second floor level. Fitness Room 4th floor, free weights and cardio equipment. CORNER PANTRY, off the lobby, snacks, soft drinks, sundries, ice cream, tee shirts, hats... etc. A Starbuck's Coffee Shop is located on the Lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha Hotel Key West
Key West Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.