We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing to say the least” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing to say the least”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We typically stay at B&B's in Key West but my boyfriends company was sponsoring the first night here. Open arrival they couldn't find our extended reservation after we had talked to two different people prior confirming it. The front desk staff is clearly untrained in problem resolution because their only offering was for us to find the confirmation email to extend our stay. We did, and provided it, no apologies from the front desk staff, even though the hotel was the cause of the inconvenience. Our sheets had blood on them, the towels were not refreshed at the pool, the shower leaked as well. One of the gentleman I asked for directions at the front desk handed me a map with no explanation. I did have a positive interaction with he bartender Jeff and a housekeeper Diana. It is my understanding this hotel generally pays a lower rate to their employees in comparison to other hotels, doesn't train, and has high turnover. I am a prior front desk manager for Marriott and was shocked how poorly managed and inhospitable this hotel is. Overall, it's a poorly run operation and the value is not worth the cost. Next time we will most likely return to the Historic Key West Inns.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jamie E,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding housekeeping and customer service from our staff which is unacceptable. We will address these points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    265
    158
    79
    62
See reviews for
144
428
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The positives were that the hotel was clean, the beds were comfortable, and the shower was great. The negatives were that the rooms, especially the bathrooms, were very small ,and the pool area was small and crowded.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

if you stay anywhere else in key west go here during sunset! its spectacular. by it being the highest building in key west the views are amazing!!!! I have also looked at the rooms which are very nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Key West. The room was clean and roomy, and considering the age of the hotel, really a pleasant surprise! It has the feel and class of old Florida, an oasis in the middle of Duval street. You don't need your car here because when you walk out of the hotel you are within walking distance of everything, very convenient! We could see the sunset from our room, but from the rooftop the view is breathtaking! (The is a bar as well as a viewing platform). Everyone was very friendly and helpful. There is a Starbucks downstairs for your morning coffee. Would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms off Duval street were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such an amazing experience here at the historical La Concha Crowne Plaza Key West. The history and feel of our hotel gives our guests a first had experience of what luxury was like back in Hemingway's days here in Key West. We are grateful to have such amazing guests as yourself grace our hallways and share in the history of La Concha. We hope you will cherish the memories made here and will visit us once again here in paradise!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0203
jasoncarter@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Compassrose89
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

First time staying here and last time. I live in Key Largo and bring guests to Key West, often, at least once a month. The location is nice if you want to be in the middle of all the "Hoopla".. Paid for a Balcony room, workers two rooms down were sucking out water from the carpets and our room smelled of mold.The wood doors to the balcony were completely rotted out, leaving large gaps where the wood and the windows meet, thus you could hear all the noise from the street all night long. I have definitely paid less money for nicer rooms away from the "fray" and will take my hard earned money elsewhere on the next trip. If you take the stairs, you will see all the gross stuff they hide in there. I've stayed in Crown Plaza numerous times in other places and never been disappointed. This place is pretty nasty. The staff was nice, accommodating, lobby looked nice.

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on a balcony suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Compassrose89,

Thank you for your comments! We hope you are enjoying your stay here with us. We apologize for any daytime noise our refresh team has made. We are in the process of replacing all of our historic balcony doors and frames to eliminate any unwelcome noise from below, upgrading the overall appearance of La Concha. The backbone of our property is the people we have working for us and the dedication they have to service. We are pleased to hear they remain consistent and will be certain to share your comments with them.

We hope that upon your next monthly visit we are able to host you and your party. Until then enjoy the memories made here in Key West!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0203
jasoncarter@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had an amazing time at this hotel and in Key West. The location of the hotel is great. You walk right out onto Duval street and you're in the middle of all the action. The roof top bar and watching the sunset was amazing! I hope they keep the bar up there and don't close it as rumor suggests they might. It is an older hotel and you should not expect that new hotel feel. It has a lot of character and ambiance (maybe a few ghosts too). The rooms were a little small since we had children with us, but we managed just fine and slept comfortably. The staff was great. A maid saw we had children in the hall. A few minutes later she knocked on the door with extra towels, soap and hair products. Next time we're in Key West, we will stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and users of TripAdvisor. We are truly fortunate to have been chosen as your resort during your visit to Key West!

As you experienced first-hand, our team strives to achieve total luxury for each and every one of our guests. We look forward to having you and your family return to La Concha when you need to escape to paradise once again! Until then, enjoy the memories that you have made while staying with us!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0203
jasoncarter@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nebraska
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Spent 2 nights here in May. Key West is a very over priced town, but we were able to get a pretty good deal on a large suite. There was a sofa bed for our grand daughter, as well as 2 flat screened TVs. Large marbled over-sized shower. You can't beat the location for "old town". The trolleys all stop right out front. Even though it rained most of the time we were there. We were able to see both a beautiful sunset & rainbow at the same time! Anyone can go to "The Top" for a gorgeous 360 degree view of the whole city!

Room Tip: As for a larger room, as I have heard many of the rooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason C, Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear lindastano,

We appreciate you response and hope you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed hosting you! Our junior suites do offer a very accommodating arrangement with a sectional couch, 2 TV's, desk and larger bathroom. We are glad it was the right size for you! We encourage all guests of Key West to grab a drink at the 'Top' and enjoy 360 degree views of Paradise!

All the best,

Jason Carter
305-280-0203
jasoncarter@remingtonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Address: 430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel La Concha Key West is a unique and historic hotel located directly on Duval Street within walking distance of all major attractions, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife. Built in 1926, home to luminaries like Hemingway, Truman, Tennessee Williams (when he wrote a Streetcar Named Desire). La Concha Hotel offers the most spectacular 360 degree view, with nightly Sunset Celebration and all of Key West from the 7th Floor deck and lounge at the top of the hotel. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily in Jacks Seafood Shack. Outdoorswimming pool and pool bar on the second floor level. Fitness Room 4th floor, free weights and cardio equipment. CORNER PANTRY, off the lobby, snacks, soft drinks, sundries, ice cream, tee shirts, hats... etc. A Starbuck's Coffee Shop is located on the Lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha Hotel Key West
Key West Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.