We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Key West
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best view in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, right on Duval St. with an excellent rooftop view of Key West and the sunset. Easy walking distance to most festivities (eating, drinking, dancing). The front desk staff was excellent (Deanna I think was her name) and recognized my Priority Club status, providing a very nice welcome package. The rooms are a bit outdated and the thermostat was difficult to control but overall a nice place to stay in Key West. The last downside was that Valet wasn't staffed at 7:30am when we checked out so we had to find our own car in the back lot, fending off the loose roosters and chickens that apparently weren't happy to see any tourists.

Room Tip: Be sure to get to the rooftop about 45 minutes before sunset to secure one of the sparse tables or v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    231
    129
    65
    55
See reviews for
129
368
25
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We spent a pleasant three evenings at La Concha, but the hotel advertised a host of amenities that they did not actually provide. Both the printed and online materials promised a work-out facility; they did not have one and instead weakly offered a free pass to a gym located a mile away! They promised free morning newspapers and turn-down service, but neither materialized.

The service was average, the room was clean, and the location most excellent. Not worth the price and did not deliver what it advertised. Disappointing experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear John N,

Thank you for taking the time to your review. We apologize for the shortfalls during your recent stay with us. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

I want to extend my personal apology, and to thank you for helping us improve our hotel and services. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was registered a chain hotel that was horrible service and rooms smelled like mold. Thank you to Lacy at la concha for saving my vacation, finding me a room at 8am so I could move hotels. Just finished a medical treatment and wanted a nice vacation for recovery. This hotel is clean and all staff are wonderful. In heart of old town. Thanks to Lacy and the La Concha!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was my second time at the La Concha. I really like this hotel as it is in the heart of Key West. I did have some difficulty with charges to my card (large), but we worked it all out and I'm just happy that I checked my e-mail and received the alert! I really missed the wonderful juice that they used to put in the dispensers in the lobby. It was a nice touch...

Room Tip: Had the balcony room on my first trip and it was so noisy. We could hear outside noise and way too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coral gables
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I just spent 2 nights at the La Concha on Duval St. Overall, it was terrible. On the plus side, the room was exceptionally clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. The location is perfect too, right on Duval St. The bad is that despite the fact that the hotel advertises that it has a gym, it does NOT. It's a total scam. On the 4th floor there are signs to the "Fitness Center," but it's nowhere to be found. I asked at the front desk and they said "it's under construction." It's a lie. What they did was turn the gym into a couple more rooms because they are greedy. They do have a partnership with a gym that is 1.1 miles away, but it was kind of crappy. The "ugly" is the horrible value (or lack thereof). I paid $350 a night for 2 nights with a AAA discount and it was the SMALLEST hotel room i have EVER stayed in in my whole life (and I have stayed at some economy hotels in Manhattan and in Venice and other cities famous for small rooms and this one was even smaller. Basically, think about a cheap, small interior-cabin size room on a cheap cruise ship and that's what size this was....even the bathroom was about the same size as what you would find in a small stateroom on a cruise ship). And for $350 a night!!!!! Are you kidding??? I will NEVER stay in this hotel again. What a rip off. My advice, for half the price go stay at one of the Hilton properties close to Duval or even one of the many bed and breakfasts. These people are greedy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here....dollar per square foot it will be the biggest ripoff of any hotel you ever st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear agentgables,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay. I am pleased to know that our location was suitable for your needs and you find our rooms clean and beds comfortable. I appreciate your comments as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. We do have an on site Health and Fitness Center and is open for 24 hours, as an upscale hotel a Fitness Center is one of our brand standards and I regret you were not able to take advantage of it. As for the rates, we strive to provide a competitive rate in the area. It is not our intent to inconvenient our guests instead provide rate options that make sense. Nevertheless, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention as this is our best resource in providing guest satisfaction

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and thank you very much for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Location great; valet parking great; reception staff when we booked in (after 6) terrible; housekeeping non existent in our room. Despite reporting to reception that our room hasn't been serviced - our telephone wasn't working - and agreeing it would be remedied whilst we were out, this never happened. My husband asked for coffee refills and a poor girl was sent with a coffee machine!! We were offered a free breakfast which we refused as we had eaten here that morning and were disappointed with the food for the cost. When we checked out, no apology, but the car parking cost had been taken off our bill. As. Priority Club member with this hotel group a very disappointing experience. There are so many places to stay in Key West we definitely wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Jenni R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am pleased to know that the hotel compensated the inconvenience you experienced by offering you free breakfast and took off the parking fee from your bill. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class service and for that please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and I regret our hotel fell below your expectations in many aspect. I appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and rest assured your feedback will be reviewed and most certainly be forwarded to the appropriate departments. We will work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay. Overall the hotel is beautiful, nice rooms, nice pool area and lobby. Convenient since it is situated right in the middle of town. But I was disappointed by the attentiveness of the staff and would have expected more for the price I paid. There is only one elevator, so we had to share it several times with the cleaning staff, including a mop bucket with dirty, smelly water. There was a spill on the 3rd floor elevator - I had notified the front desk twice in 2 hours and they were finally cleaning this up 4 hours after I had originally brought it to their attention. My friend had gone down to the front desk to ask if there was coffee available in the lobby - the front desk was kind enough to tell her she would check to see if she could get any out of the kitchen, only to hear "Tell her to go get it from Starbucks" from the kitchen.

I find Key West to be a wonderful walking town with so many other lodging choices and beautiful inns that cost less than this hotel, that I don't think I would ever stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear djliny,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased to read your compliments of our hotel, the rooms and the pool. However, I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. I have taken note of your comments regarding the staff, these will be passed on to the right department. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Address: 430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel La Concha Key West is a unique and historic hotel located directly on Duval Street within walking distance of all major attractions, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife. Built in 1926, home to luminaries like Hemingway, Truman, Tennessee Williams (when he wrote a Streetcar Named Desire). La Concha Hotel offers the most spectacular 360 degree view, with nightly Sunset Celebration and all of Key West from the 7th Floor deck and lounge at the top of the hotel. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily in Jacks Seafood Shack. Outdoorswimming pool and pool bar on the second floor level. Fitness Room 4th floor, free weights and cardio equipment. CORNER PANTRY, off the lobby, snacks, soft drinks, sundries, ice cream, tee shirts, hats... etc. A Starbuck's Coffee Shop is located on the Lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha Hotel Key West
Key West Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.