We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moonset?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 25%
Ranked #31 of 40 hotels in Key West
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Moonset?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I've stayed here before, but not on this trip. I remember it being very nice and would recommend the hotel if someone asked... but that is not what this is about. Anyone visiting Key West must go to the rooftop bar to watch the sunset. Get there early though if you want a seat, because this is no hidden secret. The drinks were strong and the views were awesome... best view of Key West, easily. During our visit, we got a little extra view from one of the locals. You'll see what I mean if Trip Advisor approves the picture... this review title won't make sense otherwise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    197
    101
    55
    42
See reviews for
112
314
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The employee at the front desk Caroline was very professional. The staff and room service was excellent. I stayed in the room with a balcony on Doval st and we loved it. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My girlfriend and I had an excellent time and we will be back. My hat goes off to Mel as well, sales manager. You are the bomb....

Room Tip: The room with a balcony on Doval....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alton virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Super location...friendly staff...beautiful lobby...clean rooms. The view from the roof top bar is great but the bar itself is too generic..very plain...if they redesigned the bar it could be the #1 spot to visit in KW. If you need silence to sleep we didn't find it. The flush toilets are loud, and the neighbors walls seem thin. Also, the key west eagles (roosters) take some getting used to.
They like to "call" each other at any time of night. But!, we had a great stay at this hotel! Did I mention great location?...can't be beat. Check out Jack Flaps nearby for the best hamburger in town....all their food looked good...also the Conch Repulic down by the historic seaside walk for the best seafood...good oysters and good mohitos...enjoy

Room Tip: rooms away from Duval street are probably quiter...we had room 307
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

First, I didn't get the room type that I booked. As a platinum member, I was supposed to get it. Of course, they didn't recognize me as a platinum member either, which is not the case with Priority Club.

This hotel is very dirty. We had bad bugs, but they didn't change our room soon after waiting for over 40 minutes. We had to call Customer Relations at Priority Club...then the hotel found another room. We didn't hear any apologies. The manager was supposed to call us, but of course the person was either having fun or doing whatever and didn't call us.

The breakfast was bad...and they put 18% of the service charge automatically without any proper service. Unless it is free, avoid this restaurant. The food is so so...but expensive. The waiters are also rude at the restaurant. It will be a terrible mistake to eat in this restaurant if you have to stay at the hotel.

They have lots of customers because of the location. This was the most disgusting and unpleasant stay I've ever had. On the second day, our room was not cleaned. The people at the front desk do not even say hello to you even when they are not doing anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed two nights as part of a group tour---would not stay there again. Rooms are very small and bathrooms are even smaller. There is no table or desk for writing--or chairs either if you should want to have a room service meal. One would have to sit on the bed or a sofa with no table
surface near it. We could hear EVERY word (including much profanity) from the rooms on either side of ours. This was probably the most disturbing feature as it spoiled our vacation mood
and also sleep as it went on until midnight or so. Our room viewed many rooftops and fronted on Duval St. though we could not see the street from the 5th floor. And get this---the ice machines are NOT on each floor, but only on the 4th floor far away from the elevator and impossible to find without the help of a kind hotel worker. Ridiculous---when have you ever seen a hotel that doesn't have an ice machine on the floor where your room is???? The positives of the room were a comfortable bed with good reading lamps on either side--and a big flat screen TV. And
of course, the location on Duval right in the midst of all the activities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived at the La Concha and everything seemed fine. However, on our first night we were woken a number of times in the middle of the night by a knocking sound. It turned out afterwards that this was the air conditioner unit (note if you ever stay in room 642).
We asked the reception if they could get this looked at, to which they agreed with no issue. Upon returning late that night it became apparent that the issue had not been fixed (as it woke us up). We complained again the next evening, and it appear no one had looked at the problem. We also asked if we could have the room made up as we had stayed in late. The desk staff agreed upon a time for the room to be made and the air conditioner to be inspected. Upon returning to the the hotel later, it was clear that the room had not been made up, and the loud knocking sound was still occurring from the air conditioner.
I went down to the front desk to complain. I was more annoyed in the fact we had specifically left the room earlier than planned to get the room cleaned and air conditioner fixed.
The front desk seemed very non-concerned and offered 'drinks tokens' for the roof top bar as a remedy (FYI - the roof top bar is not as it is described. Yes, the view is great, but the bar has the atmosphere of a cardboard box with junk furniture piled up in the corner, and a rather musky smell). Anyway, after stating I was not at all happy, I was told I would be given a 'better' room. Upon inspecting this room, it was apparent it was not 'better'. It was much smaller and right opposite the lift/elevator entrance (and on Thanksgiving Day night it was obviously going to be busy and loud near the lift/elevator). Upon returning to the front desk I stated I would not have the 'better' room (which I think they gave us on purpose). This was met with the statement 'well, I upgraded you for free'(FYI - I have platinum priority club card and if superior rooms are available, they should be offered as part of the deal). At this point I gave up complaining. It was a complete waste of time as the staff were not concerned and quite rude with no manager on duty.
As an aside, the pool was not well kept either. Looked like it could do with being drained, scrubbed, and re-rendered/tiled.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort lauderdale
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is beautiful. Really no complaints there. The bed was comfortable, our room was spacious and cozy. The only complain I have is the toilet bowl, you would think that such a beautiful hotel would have more modern flushing mechanisms. Also the walls are a little thin so you can hear what is going on in the hallway and the other rooms but other than that, the hotel is good!
The rooftop pool was nice, the location can’t be beat, really! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha

Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha Hotel Key West
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha Hotel
Crowne Plaza Key West
Key West Crowne Plaza
Address: 430 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Green Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Hotel La Concha Key West is a unique and historic hotel located directly on Duval Street within walking distance of all major attractions, shopping, entertainment, and nightlife. Built in 1926, home to luminaries like Hemingway, Truman, Tennessee Williams (when he wrote a Streetcar Named Desire). La Concha Hotel offers the most spectacular 360 degree view, with nightly Sunset Celebration and all of Key West from the 7th Floor deck and lounge at the top of the hotel. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner served daily in Jacks Seafood Shack. Outdoorswimming pool and pool bar on the second floor level. Fitness Room 4th floor, free weights and cardio equipment. CORNER PANTRY, off the lobby, snacks, soft drinks, sundries, ice cream, tee shirts, hats... etc. A Starbuck's Coffee Shop is located on the Lobby level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.