We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the big bucks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jetpack Adventures

Jetpack Adventures
0 Duval Street, At Ocean Key Resort & Spa, Key West, FL 33040
305-294-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #150 of 302 activities in Key West
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: * Under NEW OWNERSHIP Experience the ultimate thrill of a lifetime. Blast off in a jetpack! Begin your adventure by boarding our shuttle boat for a quick ride across the harbor to our custom flight deck anchored in a picturesque bay. Once on board your instructor will introduce you to all of the features of the Jetlev R200. A few minutes later you'll be lifting off!
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the big bucks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A one-of-a-kind experience!
The guys were very informative and knew what they were doing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    3
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Makes you feel like a super-hero!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Jetpack Adventures is expensive - $250 - but if you can afford it you absolutely have to do it! The day I went the other person cancelled and so I had the crew of two to myself. Patrick was the captain of the boat and the trainer (he guides you via a helmet radio); Ben manned the Skidoo that follows you has you fly around. They were both knowledgeable, friendly and top-notch.
After motoring out to the flight zone (location varies depending on wind and sea conditions - they pick a quiet spot), Patrick tested the unit out to make sure it works (nice perk!). After a brief description of how things work, you get strapped into the suit, don a helmet and get into the water. The Jetpack is light - less than 25 pounds and floats, so this is easy.
The first thing you do is learn to control the unit while your lower body is in the water. The trainer controls the thrust and you control direction by leaning your head in the direction you want to go. After you've mastered this, it's time to get airborne! Just listen to the trainer and make small movements and you'll have no problem.
The Jetpack is attached to a modified Skidoo motor that pumps water through a 30' tube to the jetpack. You can fly up to about 20' high or lean forward and fly along close to the water. You basically drag the motor along behind you, so you're not limited to being close to the launch platform.
I've got to say it's the most fun I've had in a long time. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper midwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait for my next flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

What a great way to get your adreniline flowing. Check out my video for a start to finish view. suit up to high flight. The instructors are great, our scheduler did fail to let us know where they were flying out of the day we went, suggest you call to check before you go.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRNLNR-cABk

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing adventure with Nick and Patrick!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband, myself and my 18 year old daughter enjoyed this immensely! Nick and Patrick (our 2 guides) were amazing, friendly and incredibly patient. They made the whole excursions wonderful with their humour and charming personalities. I can't say enough about how worthwhile and memorable this activity is. Don't miss it!!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a Rush”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband did this on a day when there was only one other person scheduled to go out. He went first and the training was comprehensive. He had a great time, and highly recommends this as an activity.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetpack Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Jetpack Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jetpack Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jetpack Adventures to your Saves list