We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cowboy Charters

Cowboy Charters
1801 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-5888
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Key West and the Florida Keys are well known as the fishing capital of the world and holds more world records than anywhere else. We have been charter fishing the waters off of the lower Florida Keys since 1965 and have been the winners of many fishing tournaments. Fishing is a family tradition for the Baumgarten family. Hans Baumgarten started Cowboy Charters in 1965 and his son and grandson have carried on and expanded the family tradtion. You will experiencea both friendly and professional crew on the well appointed 36 FT & 45 ft Hatteras yachts" with twin diesels, when you join Mark Baumgarten and crew for a day of sport fishing. Mark has been fishing professionally for over 40 years and has been consistanly able to find that trophy fish for his customers. Visit our Facebook Fan Page "Cowboy Charters-Key West" or follow us on twitter at "Cowboy_KeyWest"
Port Dover, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great time in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had a great time with Cowboy Charters. The weather was perfect. We caught a few fish, nothing really big but it was fun. I would recommend this as a fun couples, family or friends thing to do. Not great for anyone that has any tendency to have motion sickness.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    0
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgway, Colorado
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Wow that was fun. Fishing charters are not cheap but when you see how much goes into them it's a lot of value for the money. Captain Eddie and Lucky were awesome hosts and took great care of us newbies. Me, my wife and our three girls (24,15,11) had wonderful time and we caught way more fish than we could eat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Everything I Could've Asked For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

First and foremost these guys are a customers 1st all the way. When we decided to do a fishing charter we had a budeget in mind, unfortunatley that budeget put us well under the asking price of most fishing charters simply because they refused to do a split charter forcing our party of 3 to rent out the boat to ourselves. Cowboy went out of there way to find an additional fisherman to fill out the boat to keep us where we wanted to be in price. This was the 1st of many HUGE 5-Star ratings I can give these guys.

The 2nd goes to Michelle (who handles bookings). The week we came in there was a massive storm which basically rendered the charter fishing on the island helpless. Cowboy called us & immediatly apologized for the cancellation & asked if we were open to another day, which I said "Yes!". As the next couple days passed each one Michelle called us to give us updates on how things were looking on the water. The whole time explaining that even if we went out we wouldn't catch anything & since that wasn't what we were paying for she wouldn't let that happen. Eventually the waters calmed, we got the call the night ahead & that morning we were off! This kind of service you can't put a price on.

The 3rd 5-Star is going to our captain crew. This one will be short and sweet. On our trip our party of 4 caught 2 nice size 20lb Mahi Mahi, a Wahoo, & a 6ft White Marlin. That if you don't know is a nice full day of fishing, but on a 4hr trip it's simply AMAZING! And guess what....we were 1 of 2 ships out that caught anything and we blew that number 2 out of the water (sort of speak, LOL!).

After that the great customer service continued as they filet'd our catch for us & even recommended an outstanding resturant that'll cook our catch for us (Dante's)!

And this is where our final 5-Star rating comes in. After such an amazing day out and gratious hosts we decided to ask them all to stay and have dinner with us! Great company, great conversations, great meal, AMAZING DAY! What else could you possibly ask for?

I would never consider booking with anyone else.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Most memorable day of my Key West vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

What a wonderful day of fishing! And what a great fish fry we were able to have that night with our catch! If you love fishing in Key West with a crew who REALLY knows what they are doing...Cowboy charters is it! Thanks Mark...see you again soon!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best charter boat trip EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Mark is truly a fish whisperer! The day we went out, nobody else was catching very much. Mark managed to drop us right on top of a school of Mahi Mahi and we reeled them in as fast as we could get lines in the water. Great day of fishing with a true pro! I would totally recommend Cowboy Charters to either the novice fisherman, or the pros who want some big action.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Charters also viewed

 

Been to Cowboy Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowboy Charters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.