We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend in The Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $219/nt
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Weekend in The Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First, the bad - the room is nicely appointed, but small, and getting to the room is like going through an outdoor maze. But the property is right on the beach, and it is a short walking distance to its sister property, Casa Maria, (another very nice property), and to all the action and restaurants on Duvall Street. Most importantly, we felt like we received the full Waldorf treatment from everyone on the staff. We want to give special recognition to our beach attendant Ricardo, he was very pleasant, and extremely attentive.

Room Tip: try to get a room near an elevator or you'll have to walk through a maze of corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    629
    309
    214
    128
See reviews for
395
1,067
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Grande, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The private beach was beautiful and very relaxing. Be sure and try the Lobster Bisque Soup at The Strip restaurant. We liked it so much we went back 3 times. The staff was great and very accomodating. The hotel itself is within walking distance of Duvall street which had everything for everybody. We will definetly come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were VERY disapointed with our stay. we did not have a coffee pot in the room and didn't realize it until the first morning. to some this isn't a big item but it was for us. TV didn't work. Internet code didn't work, and after three reports they finaly came to fix the AC. it is currently 80 degrees in the room and engioneering is finally here working on the AC. Normally I wouldn't write a review like this on a 69.00/night hotel,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,BUT this was a 489.00/night hotel and I would expect a whole lot more. Won't be staying here again. ever ,,,,,, ever.....

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Reach Resort. If you would like to discuss your stay please contact me at cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. It is the feedback of guests such as you that assist us in the training of associates. Cindy Acevedo Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Not sure if we would stay there again. I like to unpack my suitcase and put things in drawers. Rather have coffee then espresso...why not have an option. Rooms were clean and it was nice to have a newspaper delivered, nice touch. Employees were friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy A, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at cindy.acevedo@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. Cindy Acevedo Front Desk Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel no longer offered shuttle service to and from the airport which cost us nearly $40. The buffet breakfast for two counting tip was nearly $70. One 12 oz. frozen drink at the pool counting tip was $17. Dinner for two at the restaurant was over $100. Very expensive for what we received.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I celebrated my 60th October birthday at The Reach and had a wonderful stay. It was only one night so way too short. Easy check-in with accommodating front desk staff-upgraded to King suite as requested adjoining rooms not available. Loved the beach location. Ricardo (beach staff) especially helpful-recommended good lunch spot and also had tips for our group on our way back to Miami. Have to mention that Mike and Patrick were attentive to our sun-bathing needs. I wish I were back there now (in Minnesota and the temps are close to 30 degrees)!

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilal M, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the opportunity to complete our survey. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We think our staff is pretty great as well and are so happy that you appreciated them.

We look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Beautiful Hotel, but extra $20.00 a day for parking that is right under the hotel. $20.00 charge per day for the pool if you use it or not !! Extra charges not worth it. Other choices just as nice without extra charges.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.