We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, kind staff, expensive breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit, Per Night
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great location, kind staff, expensive breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The front desk staff and concierge were helpful and friendly. The room we stayed in was very spacious and quiet, which was great because I'm very sensitive to noise. The shower water pressure was low, but it was still enough to take a decent shower. The toilet paper roll holder was located on the same wall as the toilet instead of on the wall perpendicular to the toilet, so reaching behind to grab toilet paper was bit of a stretch - literally! Maid service was very good and they even come in the evenings to replenish towels or anything else if you want. The bed and linens were very comfortable.

The gym is excellent with lots of different equipment to choose from, and it was never crowded. Water bottles and towels are provided in the gym. The wifi signal in our room wasn't very strong, but it was good enough to check email and browse the web. We could not pick up the wifi signal at all from the gym where I tried to connect my iPad to the wifi, but there are televisions in the gym and each treadmill/elliptical has a tv monitor. There is a business center with a computer and printer so you can print out your boarding pass. Parking is available for a fee, though we didn't need a car at all during our stay since we walked everywhere. Everyday in the lobby they put out really delicious apples which were refreshing and great to take along as a snack.

There is a daily resort fee of $25, but well worth it because the private beach is clean, not crowded, and the imported sand is very soft. They will set up an umbrella and beach chairs for guests. You can rent jet skis, paddle boards, and kayaks from Barefoot Billy's which is located on-site. The water is very calm so this is a great place to try a water sport for the first time.

The restaurant offers outdoor seating with a terrific view of the beach in a classy setting. The breakfast buffet is expensive, $28.87 for adults - that's with the tax and tip which was automatically calculated in. They did make us omelets to order, which was nice, but for that price we expected a larger, fancier buffet with more options. However, the beach setting is lovely, so if you are looking for a place to get your breakfast immediately and eat in a relaxed environment and if you don't mind paying the price, it is a good choice. It would be nice if they offered a la carte choices in addition to the buffet - if they had offered a la carte options we certainly would have eaten there every day.

We received the New York Times at the door every morning, and the Wall Street Journal was available in the lobby every day. These are nice touches which we really appreciated.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room when we made our reservation, and we indeed received a quiet room. From wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    693
    346
    235
    137
See reviews for
448
1,182
31
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Michigan
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

An expensive, but beautiful hotel.
Our room had a closet that wasn't deep enough for a hanger to hang in and literally NO drawers to put our clothes in. I was charged for a courtyard view, but our balcony was so far in the corner, that my only view was of the other balconies that did have the view I paid for. The hallways echo and we were never able to sleep in do to the noise of people and the elevators. Parking was outrageously priced.
The property & beach are beautiful though!!!

Room Tip: If you don't get a courtyard or beach view room, you may have quite a long walk to the beach, re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The property was beautiful, beautiful views and very roomy! The staff was exceptionally slow and the drink prices were outrageous! We spent $22.00 for a bloody mary and $18.00 for a pina colada in plastic cups! Yikes!

Room Tip: Bugs were in the restrooms off from the lobby! Obstructive view rooms quoted at 'beach view'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at The Reach for 5 days. We were with a group, and the hotel did an excellent job of providing a great place to stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint that I have is that at breakfast, the buffet placed undercooked bacon out. We had to ask that some crisp bacon be made available. This was done each time we asked. The wait staff in the restaurant was excellent (especially Teressa and Ailene). The conch fritters were the best I have had. The pool area and beach were excellent. We are planning another stay at this resort, and would recommend it for anyone visiting Key West. We did have a problem with the tank on our toilet leaking because of a broken seal. We called the front desk and the problem was fixed within a half hour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice property and good service. Location was great in that it was off the "strip" but walkable to everything you would be interested in. I do think that the dining options weren't great (no real food service at the pool). I would suggest exploring Casa Marina as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Attended destination wedding. Perfect setting for all activities including biking, beach wedding ceremony, hanging out with friends. the bride was beautiful and the gtoom handsome . all in all a great weekend getaway

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great private beach that's very clean and suitable for swimming. Pool/beach staff are the winners of the place. Those guys will do anything to make you fee comfortable. Hotel restaurant is terrible. Poor service, over priced, bad attitude and flies all over the food in the breakfast area - disgusting. A/C stopped working one night but was fixed quickly. The rooms are very nice and reception staff also very courteous and helpful. I would go back, if better options are lacking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.