We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like going to a tropical island resort without leaving the country.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Cyber Monday Sale!
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Key West
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Like going to a tropical island resort without leaving the country.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We came to celebrate our retirement. This hotel is so special and intimate. What a wonderful place for a special occasion. Treat every guest like royalty. Employees are awesome from doorman to check in desk top pool concearge to maids . Hotel is top notch. Will be back. This is an island resort without leaving the country.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for chosing The Reach Resort to celebrate your retirement! I am glad that each of the departments delivered superior service to you throughout your stay! We look forward to your return. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    617
    305
    212
    128
See reviews for
389
1,045
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I needed a break so I booked a flight to Key West...looked at almost every hotel on the island and selected The Reach. Good choice, great location. Easy walk to Duval Street. Check in was quick and off to my room...the room was very clean and fully stocked, everything worked perfect, The a/c was super cold. The place is so relaxed with very little noise. Best sleep. The property is super clean. The staff members are the best!!! I did order room service and it was a little $$$ but the meal was good and got to the room fast. Check out was quick...they did call a taxi for me, only a five minute wait. I will book The Reach again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I am so pleased that you had such a positive experience from beginning to end during your stay at The Reach. We hope that you consider us once again when returning to Key West! Thank you, Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My sister and I took our 85 year old Mother to Key West for her birthday. I've been to Key West four times but this was my first stay at The Reach. The location is excellent, the staff is amazing!!! Have to say Patrick and the pool staff made Mom feel like a Queen. The restaurant there was VERY good as well. We've already decided to go back to The Reach next year. It is my favorite place to stay in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had such a great time celebrating your mother's 85th birthday! We loved having you all on property and look forward to your return visit! Our best, Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamosa, Iowa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We chose this hotel to celebrate our 30th anniversary and was not disappointed. Management gave us a free upgrade along with Champagne, chocolates and balloons. All the staff was friendly and helpful. Only down side was the cost of eating at the resort. At least the breakfast should have cost less. The location was great and loved the beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The Reach is in an excellent location, with a small private beach that's nice. Overall the staff is friendly, however heavily reliant on tips as the staff made it very clear to us on several occasions.

The rooms are normal hotel room size and the bed was comfortable.

There is a $25 dollar resort fee which includes free Internet, pool "toys" one floating raft, pool table and beach volley ball. All other activities you have to pay for like the paddle boards or bikes which in my opinion should be included in the resort fee.

Breakfast buffet was the biggest let down to the whole vacation. For $23 dollars a person I expect to see a large variety of options. They don't even have standard breakfast items such as pancakes, any cereal or oatmeals. Just an omelet station, some meats, very few cheeses and some bread and pastries. I expected from a resort like this to have a better breakfast buffet than a Holiday Inn which is definitely not the case.

The hotel overall is clean and well kept.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

After vacillating between The Reach and Casa Marina for our Key West stay, my husband and I chose The Reach for its smaller size and the availability of the private sand beach. We definitely made the right choice. Casa Marina is certainly a beautiful property as we noted when we paid a visit, but we were looking for something with a less frenetic pace.

The pool area was lovely and both it and the beach were well-maintained. I can't speak to the condition of all rooms but I certainly can say that our suite was beautiful and very clean. Outdoor hallways are not my favorite but they certainly didn't detract from my vacation. And with Duval Street just steps away, I can't imagine a hotel with a better location for savoring everything that Key West has to offer.

The staff was wonderful. Paul Bartush checked us in and, later in the day, took the extra effort to make sure we were happy with our accommodations. Brian and Gethro greeted us as we drove in and, after taking us to our room, Brian made sure we had a map marked with many restaurant recommendations. (If you stay at The Reach, do yourself a favor and take his recommendations. They're right on the mark.)

The only thing I missed was a pool bar. The one at Casa Marina was lovely but required a walk. Of course, given the wonderful restaurants to try in the Florida Keys, that might be a good thing.

The Reach is not formal, as some would expect when seeing the Waldorf name. If that's important to you, this might not be your place. But if you're looking for a beautiful hotel in a great location with a wonderful staff and a more laid-back atmosphere, book a room now.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience at The Reach! Our team members pride themselves in providing exceptional service and going above and beyond. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. If you need assistance with future arrangements, please be in touch. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Lovely hotel and stayed there already 3 times. The beach and pool is amazing specially John helped us out a lot and was so nice. Even when it was beaming hot he was so friendly.
And of course Ricardo always fun..he is helpful as well. so the service is just WONDERFUL.
The floors in the room on 2nd floor which we had could use some cleaning..carpets were a bit dirty. On one bed sheet we had rusty stainy and the other one was torn. Location is amaziing but the sea-weed in the water could have been cleaned by the jet ski guys during the day at least 2 times. The pier is nice... I want the manager of John to know that I witnessed the incidence on SAT afternoon were 4 guests yelled and made fun of him bc. he told them to put the liquor out of the pool, they kept on going and wanted to annoy him. he was always friendly to them!! I certainly love that no liquor is in the pool allowed specially with the little kid.. on sunday people ate chips form the rest. on pool side and birds were coming. that should be adressed for the high standard hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor and up and not on 2nd floor next to the outside terrace bc. there were wedd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.