We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $319/nt
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Wonderful views no matter where your room is located. The service was impeccable, and the hotel was well kept.The pool was beautiful, and the beach was always cleaned of seaweed. The food at the restaurant was very good. The location was good, close to all of the shops, and you were on the beach. Overall we had a wonderful time!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Reach! We look forward to another opportunity to provide you with wonderful service and a relaxing vacation! Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    651
    320
    217
    131
See reviews for
409
1,091
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We would visit again just to have them take care of us! Popsicles, towels, chair, umbrella & table set up! Awesome hospitality.
The food & drink service was very slow. Hard to get a cocktail & we would have had more.
The room was comfortable & housekeeping was spotless.
We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I read so many mixed reviews and I want to talk about the Reach. Key West is about relaxation, chilling on the beach, walking around in your flip flops, and just enjoying your self and who you are with. Any time I have ever had any issue the staff have always been helpful and correct any problems we may have. I choose the Reach every time we go to Key West because of the service, the location, the quality and the people. Their rooms have beautiful views (and I just love walking over to Louie's backyard!!!) I can't wait to go back, and will continue to go back every year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of The Reach Resort based on your most recent stay. I could not agree with you more! I look forward to your return and would be happy to personally assist you with you future reservations. Please be in touch! Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort. paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros.... Staff is fantastic and beach is very nice. Cons... Rooms are small and average for the price point. Overall, the property is very nice but I think the prices are far too high. We stayed fortunately on points but if we had not I would not have agreed with the price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This is a great resort if you would like a pool and a beach. The rooms are nicely accomodated with very comfortable beds. It's not too crowded. It's a quick walk to Duval St. and all the great restaurants.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was the second time at the Reach which is a great location on Key West. The only hotel with a beach, which is fabulous. The hotel itself, for a Waldorf property, is tired. Common areas are in severe need of fresh paint and updating. Service was spotty at best. One day the maid would leave coffee pods and water, the next day nothing (you'd think they would use a check list for housekeepers to make sure everything is in order). Another day, because several housekeepers called in sick, no room service and no apology. The service around the pool, other than Theresa, who is great, is indifferent and slow. Breakfast buffet is overpriced. However, right next to the hotel is a great little Cuban grocery store (third-world authentic) with a breakfast joint annex. Great value and tasty food. Sunsets on the roof top of the hotel are awesome but they could use some more seating.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the city are loud with roosters crowing in the morning and tour buses coming by and gaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your honesty and first-hand impression of our resort. Rest assured, we are in the process of several projects that address the upkeep of the building and the seating. We hope that you will return when our projects are completed! If I can be of assistance with your travel arrangements, please be in touch. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort. paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We wanted a quiet winter vacation in Key West, and found The Reach was the perfect place. The staff are very attentive and personable. Martin at the front desk, was very professional, informative and provided some of the best tips for restaurants on Key West. Another big draw for us was access to beach, and The Reach provided a wonderful private beach front, with great beach staff -- Patrick, John and Ricardo -- were welcoming, provided excellent service to ensure our time on the beach was comfortable - chairs, towels, umbrellas, tables -- finding just the right place on the beach, near or awaw from the water. The location was perfect - near the "southern most" end of Key West, with easy access to Duval Street. Walking distance from plenty of local restaurants and shops, but far enough away from the Dulval "high-life" to ensure quiet. We cannot wait to return for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view, for morning sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.