We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoable, a little different layout without enclosed hallways” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $219/nt
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Sylvania, Ohio
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoable, a little different layout without enclosed hallways”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Enjoed the hotel, very relaxing, a bit pricey, nice but small beach,. Dont stay in lower floors. There is noise from the parking garage underneath. Breakfast is expensive. Walk down to southernmost beach restaurant for great food and drink prices

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    629
    309
    214
    128
See reviews for
395
1,067
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our first visit ever to Key West and The Reach was a great way to start. Very few Key West hotels have a beach, but this hotel does, married up with a fabulous location that is within walking distance of nearly every good thing to see and do on the island. This makes the hotel very versatile, particularly if you and your traveling partner happen to have different vacation priorities.

This hotel is probably best for couples on vacation, or families with elementary school-aged children (younger or older may find less to keep them occupied). Overall, this is a hotel that seems to focus on the basics of beach resort life and gets them right. Everything that would likely be on your list of things to ask for on vacation are things The Reach will have available – bellman, concierge, bar, pool (towel) service, valet parking, bike rentals, watersports etc, etc. It is not at the very pinnacle of luxury, but it isn't priced that way, either, so you do get your money's worth.

We had a standard king-bed room facing away from the beach with a no-particular view out the back of the property. We stayed for six days. The room itself was fairly large and modern and met our needs just fine (though even a few dresser drawers and more than one towel rack in the bathroom would have made a big difference). The pool is of decent size and well maintained, and there are various games strewn about the well-maintained courtyard to stave off any boredom -- bocce, billiards, human-sized chessboard, etc.

There is a full service restaurant and room service, although we ate at the hotel only once for lunch because the nearby Key West restaurants are so outstanding (the hotel restaurant closes at 10 p.m., anyway). The bartenders were uneven – new hire Zach was great but some of the others were gruff, and the drinks were expensive but well-made and service was fast.

Housekeeping was particularly good at this hotel and it made a big, big difference to the experience. We were never bothered when we asked not to be, and yet the room was promptly and expertly cleaned soon after we stepped out each day and put out our tag requesting service. Moreover, we had numerous small special needs that were all quickly and very generously attended to (e.g. extra towels, tissues and coffee). Definitely 5-stars Waldorf Astoria quality in housekeeping!

The concierge was able to hook us up as needed, making outside restaurant and scuba diving reservations for us before arrival, and renting bicycles directly to us once we were there. Unfortunately, the restaurant she recommended was extremely expensive (though very good) and the scuba diving on Key West was rather mediocre (but the dive company nice). Like all the staff at The Reach, the concierge (we dealt with two) seemed to drop everything to attend to each guest, which is great when she is helping you, but not so good when you are the third person in line and needing to ask a simple question. They probably need a second person working there at peak times.

If you stay here do not miss watching the fabulous Key West sunsets from the hotel pier, as we did all but one night.

Yes, the beach is small, there is lots and lots of seaweed, and there are quite a number of rocks underfoot. If you want great beaches, don’t go to Key West! But if you (or your spouse) want to get at least a little sand in between the toes, this beach is perfectly fine for sunbathing or a little wading.

A few warnings: no one told us that roosters run wild on Key West and if you have an outward-facing room they will likely wake you up a few times. We got used to it after two nights or so, though. Also, the “hallways” on the way to the rooms are very, very, very “Motel 6” rather than “Waldorf Astoria” in appearance: you will likely walk through or over an exposed parking garage and around stacks of linens as you enter and leave each day – along with bantering staff on the floors below. Our balcony was just four feet above several peoples’ cars. This aesthetic problem alone prevents the hotel from ever being a 5-star facility. Once the room door is closed, however, the soundproofing is great and aside from the roosters you will see and hear little else. The bar has quite a few “classic” 1920s era photos of very topless women, which helpfully keeps the children out of the area but wasn’t our favorite kind of decor. And then there is the “resort fee” of (usually) $25 per day, which is mandatory for most guests who don’t have some kind of special status or arrangement with the hotel in advance. But, this includes all sorts of "free" stress-reducing amenities, including in-room espresso machine, daily New York Times, excellent wi-fi, local and long-distance calls, towel service, etc. As a vacationer, I prefer everything to be “included” in this way, so it seems like a fair trade.

We would recommend this hotel to others who want to get the most out of a Key West vacation.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have a good view. But if you can't get used to the roosters, pony up for an in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our family of 5, including 3 teenagers, stayed at The Reach the week before Christmas. We had never been to Key West before. The island itself is an OK place to visit & staying here made our trip worth it. We had great weather, loved using the gym (although I had to ask twice for bacterial wipes to clean the machines-never showed) and loved, loved hanging out at the pool. We were "pampered" by Ricardo, John and Patrick who brought us towels, fresh fruit, drink samples, cleaned our sunglasses & chatted with us! Poolside bar and snack service is great, also. The outside pool table and sand games were a big plus! The only downside to the wave runners and scooters is that you have to be 18 yrs. old to drive, so we couldn't do either of those activities as a family. Overall, the Reach was very enjoyable and we would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My wife and I are frequent travelers and stay at the nicest places when we do. We are hard to please people and demand excellence. The Reach did not disappoint and, in fact, satisfied us completely. Paul and Stephanie at the front desk went out of their way to make our stay fun and perfect. As others have said, Ricardo and the rest of the beach staff also were superb at taking care of our every need. We are booking a follow-on trip for March just to stay at the Reach again. If you are looking for the best Key West has to offer, look no further than The Reach.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has a lovely deck that we found quite enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Desk Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We had a wonderful time having you on property with us! It is woth all of our efforts when we see guests enjoying their time at The Reach as much as you two did. We look forward to seeing you soon! Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terracina, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed here for a night while travelling through. I stayed with my famly in one of the suites. The suite was not exactly what I think of when I think of suite, but it was clean and had great views of the ocean. The resort is great. The service and accomidations are first rate. The private beach on the property is also a very nice perk to have. The staff was very helpful and knowlegable. I will be coming back for a longer stay and look forward to it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay at The Reach. We aim to provide superior service and luxurious accommodations. If I can be of assistance to you in any way when you begin planning your return visit, please reach out to me via email at paul.bartush@waldorfastoria.com Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband & I stayed here through the 4th of July in 2012. We reserved a boutique suite which was very spacious with high ceilings. Everything was clean and the furniture was nice. The balcony overlooked the ocean which was a great view, and was also a pretty good size itself. The staff was friendly and helped us book all of the things we wanted to do for the week. The Strip House restaurant on site had amazing food (very worth the price). My biggest downfall to this resort was the beach, it was incredibly rocky once you got into the water that you had to step up and down over the huge rocks. The jet-ski's next door to the property were always making the water muddy, and the beach isn't huge to begin with. We traveled to the other beaches around The Keys, mainly bahia honda, which ended up being our favorite place. For the 4th of July it wasn't as crowded as I expected, so we really enjoyed the laid back/relaxing atmosphere of Key West. The fireworks were let off a little late due to a storm that came through, but they were excellent. Overall, this was just what we were looking for.. a nice, relaxing vacation and we would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a great place! Location was at one end of Duval Street so it was a short, beautiful walk to everything that we wanted to see on our first trip to Key West, a definite must. We felt like 2 princesses on the beach with Ricardo, John, and Patrick attending to our needs, fresh sliced fruit, popsicles at 2 pm to cool us off. They set us up on the beach with chairs, umbrellas, towels, whatever we needed. We will definitely be going back next year, we can't wait.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the courtside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.