We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel placed at the best spor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Key West
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hotel placed at the best spor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Expectations are high when it's a Waldorf-hotel.

It's located on the beach which is not that common in Key West.

Standard rooms with small balconies.

If you go to Key West - choose this one or Sothernmost Hotel On The Beach, which is just beside.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    590
    297
    199
    121
See reviews for
377
987
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel has indeed nice location and picturesque beach, but I cannot say anything else nice about this property. We spent 60,000 HH points to book a room that had dirty scrunched up carpet. We stayed at Hampton Inns that had nicer, bigger rooms. The room lacked in comfort but at least it made up with beautiful view of the beach. I'm glad the people experienced great service; I wasn't so fortunate and couldn't even get a towel at the pool until I was ready to return to my room. Worst of all I got a fungal infection after staying at the Reach. I never had ringworm before and I am sure I haven't gotten it elsewhere. Wasn't worth the points and the pain/discomfort I had to deal with. Thumbs down from me

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I am very sorry to not have had a chance to discuss your experiences with you while you were on property. It is unfortunate to read about guest dissatisfaction after the fact rather than when management could have taken action to assist you with a more pleasurable stay.

While I am sorry to hear about your fungal infection, we pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms and property and have had no other claims of infections from any other guests. Sadly, your experiences differ greatly than the majority of our guests.

I would like to know if there is anything that I can do for you and would appreciate hearing from you. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have been staying at the reach for 5 years now, and what i have seen is a true decline in service and customer satisfaction. What topped it off was that i was given false information when I booked my room. I was given 10% off my rooms but they failed to tell me that would disclude me from the Stay and Play offer. So they ended up making money .... I see why they were so eager to change my rate.
Ricardo Patrick and John at the pool are still hands down the best of the best !!
The front desk ... Cindy Acevedo who offered to rent me a room by the hour is much to be desired. And the overall Hilton Customer Service was helpful but not even they could get through and help ! The showers have developed mold and I rent 3 rooms per stay all three had mold and the carpet is beyond tired. This is the first negative review I have written of the reach but it looks like after 5 years and 7 stays I cannot return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

For a high end hotel they can do better hence I only gave them a 3. Service was what I would expect from a $200 a night beach hotel, not $600+

The good

Great location, nice restaurant nothing fancy, bell hops were great.

The Bad

The housekeeping was a bit erratic, you better use your do not disturb otherwise they will keep knocking, did not understand arranging a time, one day they did not come at all.

The pool service was an F the first couple days, nobody serving drinks, you had to walk inside to the bar to get a drink, nothing outside anywhere to be found. The last two days they did have staff.

More good

We loved Key West and this was good location for families on the south side of the Island
Great ocean views
The local outfitters work hard, Kayaks, jet Ski's etc
Walk to Hemmingway House

More bad

The staff is marginalized by function
The spa in the sister hotel was not a spa just a converted double room advertised as a spa

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We chose to start a week long adventure from Key West to Charleston by staying at The Reach. We are so glad we did! From the moment we arrived until we departed, everything was perfect!

The bellman took our luggage to our room and gave us an introduction / orientation to the property. This hotel has the only natural beach on the island and we loved it! Especially the hammocks sprinkled around the area.

Our room faced the water and we slept with the sliding glass door open to hear the waves and create a lovely ambiance for our sleep.

The coffee maker was Nespresso and was perfect for us. Room service breakfast was correct and at just about the time they said it would be. This hotel was perfect and we will be back for another time in Key West.

Oh, and it is on the opposite end of the island from the bars so it is quiet. We walked it a few times and rented an electric car for a few hours so it is possible to get to the "Scene" without taking a cab. Just depends on if you want wild, quiet or a mix.

Room Tip: Ask and pay for an ocean front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Desk Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at The Reach! We pay close attention to what our guests are saying in order for us to maintain superior service during all aspects of your stay. We hope that you will consider another visit with us in the future. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has everything you need, clean rooms, nice small private beach with hammocks and Pier to watch the sunset.
The service is great, a must is a great breakfast buffet on the Striphouse restaurant terrace! Why I gave 4 stars is only because the pool wasn't heated and the bed was not really comfy. But overall really happy, if we go to Key West would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kemah, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to run down to Key West for a couple nights and booked here. The front desk staff was fantastic and very helpful. We had a nice view of the ocean from our balcony and the room was very roomy. It looked from the site map the rooms vary a lot in size so maybe we jut got lucky. The only surprise was the bar where we went for our free arrival drinks. I was with my wife & daughters and it has a 40s stripper theme. Tame for Key West but we didn't expect it here. Bartender was very friendly and helpful. Only a short block from Duval but quiet and peaceful. We plan to go back in April.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean front on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.