We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit, Per Night
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel has everything you need, clean rooms, nice small private beach with hammocks and Pier to watch the sunset.
The service is great, a must is a great breakfast buffet on the Striphouse restaurant terrace! Why I gave 4 stars is only because the pool wasn't heated and the bed was not really comfy. But overall really happy, if we go to Key West would stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    960
    727
    369
    247
    141
See reviews for
474
1,265
32
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kemah, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to run down to Key West for a couple nights and booked here. The front desk staff was fantastic and very helpful. We had a nice view of the ocean from our balcony and the room was very roomy. It looked from the site map the rooms vary a lot in size so maybe we jut got lucky. The only surprise was the bar where we went for our free arrival drinks. I was with my wife & daughters and it has a 40s stripper theme. Tame for Key West but we didn't expect it here. Bartender was very friendly and helpful. Only a short block from Duval but quiet and peaceful. We plan to go back in April.

Room Tip: Ask for a ocean front on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We visited The Reach for a long weekend in mid December. We had a great time at the beach and the pool. Ricardo is the best! Anything you need including dinner reservations can be arranged without leaving your lounge chair. We also rented bikes and took a jet ski tour with Barefoot Billy's. It was the highlight of our trip. Thanks for everything Ricardo and Patrick!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great location on the south side of island, right next to Duval. Great rooms but just realize if you get a room on the Simpleton street side (ocean view), it may be loud (the street dead ends and truck back up to exit (beep, beep, beep...)--it's a trade off.

Pool/beach are great. Staff runs around and brings you towels, popsicles, cleans your shades...ok, our family isn't use to this so it was great. You can rent paddle boards and other beach stuff right there. Grounds were gorgeous--can play outdoor chess or bocci ball.

Saw plenty of kids/families there so it's not a total uppity place. Since the beach is there, most the kids were playing in the ocean so the pool's pretty relaxing.

You can walk to lower Duval, southern most point, Hemingway's house etc.

I'd absolutely do this hotel again.

Room Tip: if you are on ocean side (Simpleton Ave), it's LOUD in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent two days at The Reach. This is our third time. This is the best spot in Key West. The pool staff (Ricardo, Patrick and John) take case of all your needs. They will even clean your sunglasses...... and the mojitos are great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed for a week at The Reach. We loved the location because it was close enough to the Duval without being in the middle of it. Beach area and pool area very nice. The staff was excellent....especially well taken care of by Ricardo, Patrick, and John at the pool/beach area. They helped make the stay even better.

The overall service levels were great. We encountered great staff throughout the facility.

The resorts needs some upkeep in places. I was disappointed with the fitness center. Some of the equipment was in disrepair (programs on eliptical did not work) and others needed repair or replacement.

The location is excellent as it provides the opportunity to site see and and walk Duval without taking a cab or renting a car.

Had a great time.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pool area/ocean for best room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have stayed at The Reach multiple times over the years. It is a perfect location where you can walk every where in a short time. But the real reason we keep coming back is the service we receive when we are there. Before we landed in Key West we had already arranged for our scooters to be ready as soon as we checked in. Cathie Henning, at the Concierge desk, made sure we received the best price, and had only a short walk to Casa Marina to pick them up. Cathie also set us up on the Sunset Cruise which was fantastic. Of course, I indulged too much the first day and had a mishap with one of my contacts. My eye doctor was kind enough to send me another contact but wasn't so accurate with the address he sent it. Needless to say the front desk staff did everything they could to "find" the missing contact. Paul Bartush the Front Desk Manager was very sympathetic to my plight and made me feel like I was not the idiot I was feeling like due to my own stupidity. Then there are the wonderful guys at the pool. Ricardo you are the best. You have also trained the guys who work with you to follow your lead. We never needed anything at the pool because someone was always near by to assist. John had my sunglasses so clean everyday I could almost see without the contact. We've tried a couple of other hotels in Key West but have decided no more looking around, we are back to stay. We hope everyone is still there next Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
I am so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay with us at The Reach and that you felt well taken care of by all of the staff. It is our pleasure in knowing that you had the vacation that you had hoped for and that it was luxurious and restorative. We look forward to your next visit with us! Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#14 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.