We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Key West Vacations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our Key West Vacations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

When we go to Key West either just the two of us or with the kids or with friends there is only one place to stay and that is The Reach. The rooms are upscale(for Key West), always spotless, the staff and ambiance is unequaled any where else in Key West. We've stayed at just about every hotel down there and we feel most a home here, in fact no place even comes close.

Lets start with the little things, Free bottles of water everywhere, iced lemon lime water everywhere, free news papers(Times & WSJ) great gym to workout in. Then you get a really great beach to hang out on, great beach staff from Patrick and John handing out cucumbers for your eyes, a eucalypti frozen towel to cool you off in the hot sun, free ice pops for the kids, frozen fruit coladas, Teresa being there everytime you need a cocktail, and then really great food from the Strip Teak House served to you right on the beach. Not sure what else you can ask for!

The only slight negative I can come up with is that the Breakfast Buffet can be improved, the setting is awesome out on the veranda overlooking the beach but the food selection is limited and not the best. BUT its a short walk form the Reach to Blue Heaven for the best breakfast place in Key West so not all is lost regarding breakfast.

Paul the manager is awesome and always makes sure you are satisfied and comfortable. We are just so happy everytime we stay here because of Paul and his great staff. If you've been to the Waldorf in NY don't expect the same here. Remember its Key West! Some people get turned off because they are expecting the Manhattan Waldorf. Take it down a notch and get into the laid back spirit of Key West, let the staff take care of you and you'll have a great time-Guaranteed!

One last thing, it is on the quieter end of the strip, no cruise ship crowds to deal with and you can still walk to any restaurant worth going to. Ask Paul for food recommendations, he turned us onto the Flaming Buoy which we just love. Had to cross one our favorites off our list to make room for this one.

Room Tip: when you call for a room make sure you compare the square footages of each room you are considering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
It is like a family reunion when you come to visit us at The Reach! I am so happy that you had yet another wonderful stay. As always, it was a pleasure having you with us. I look forward to your next visit! Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    590
    297
    199
    120
See reviews for
377
986
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The good:

The Reach has a small private beach

The bad:

i) you will stay in a tiny "3 star" standard room in a 4 star hotel paying 5 star price, but this is key west, not a big deal

ii) the front desk will not tell you that the check out time is 11am, and they will charge you $50/hour for late check out. Don't hang out too late in the night, otherwise you will be ripped off like us.

iii) When we argued that they didn't tell us the check out time when we checked in, the front desk lady was extremely rude. After I showed her that my Expedia reservation email did not have any info about this early check out time and nobody in the front desk informed us when we checked in, she told me that I should complain to Expedia and read their rules on internet myself instead of asking !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, Front Office Manager at The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
I am sorry that you had this experience. However, I was present during your check out and remember the conversations clearly. The staff were fair and respectful.

We are transparent with regards to our check-in and check-out times and have them posted on not only our own website but also those sites that sell our rooms. These times are also listed on all reservation confirmations. Our check out time and late check out charges are consistent with Hilton worldwide as well as many other major hotel chains.

If you wish to discuss this further, please be in touch with me via the hotel's main telephone line. Paul Bartush, Front Desk Manager, The Reach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stapleton, Alabama
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The Reach at key west is in the quieter part of town, if you like to be away from the noise and bustle of Duval street. It is very close to the southern most point in the USA The hotel is very nice, worth staying at. The rooms are modern, fresh and large . The pool area is close to the small beach and the pier is nice for just hanging out at . All in all, a very nice place to stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was expecting something a bit more posh since they highlight the fact that they are a "Waldorf Astoria resort." It is quite nice and clean; however, there were small issues that surprised me (e.g., loud, rattling refrigerator; cheap hair dryer; sticky iron). Don't anticipate long walks on the beach, as their stretch of beach is small. The layout of the building is annoying, and it takes a while to figure out the shortest distance between two points. It is very peaceful, though, and I would stay there again in a less expensive room. If you aren't so interested in the loud nightlife along Duval Street, then this is an ideal place to stay to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon, and were greeted imediately by the doorman as we pulled in. The luggage was brought in while I parked the car. the evening staff checked us in and we went to our room, it was a little bit of a walk kind of 6 one way and half dozen the other as far as location in the complex. The room was neat as a pin and clean, the view was good, the water was in clear view from the balcony as well as the courtyard. We stayed here last year and are familier with the walk to Duval St. Key West is not about driving a car. Walk, bike or mo ped.The Reach is quiet enough in the evening and busy during the day. The working staff will go out of their way to get you anything you want and truly make you feel like you are on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel is at the wrong end of the Island if you want to be close to the Duval Street "Bar Zone". You must walk a lot to get close to the Duval Street "Action Zone". Depending on you that could also be a good thing when you go lights out "No Noise". Please do not be thinking Waldorf Astoria so that you don't be disappointed, but the Hotel is as good as you can demand in Key West. No thrills, no extra fancy accommodations, although I must mention the beach is one of the best for any hotel in the Island (don't be thinking paradise to be at a good beach in Key West you must get in a boat and find it). I had a great time and I will go as far as saying I will not mine staying here again. They just didn't get in my way of having a good time. I will recommend a dinner at A & B Lobster house (Grouper Oscar *****), also dinner at Louie's Backyard both excellent, lunch at Hogfish Bar & Grill Stock Island (best grouper sandwich ever), for breakfast Two Friends Patio is good enough to mention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Savvy travelers know you don’t go to Key West for the beach. But if you really insist on a beach, The Reach is as good as you are going to get in Key West. I just wish there was more of it.

The Reach claims to have the nicest natural beach on the island. But they stack the lounge chairs three deep on the narrow spit of sand just inches apart.

If your idea of a relaxing tropical beach vacation is listening to loud, obnoxious, overly talkative New Yorkers retell their Duval Street exploits literally inches from your eardrums, then this is your kind of beach.

For me, I’d have preferred a lower tourist-to-sand ratio.

Fortunately, we were able to enjoy a quieter untourist-obstructed view of the water from our balcony which overlooked the pool and beach.

Our upgrade to such a nice room was much appreciated. As a Hilton Honors Gold Member, I was using points for our three night stay. Usually that means the worst room on the property (annoying considering this is a decade’s worth of points I’m spending).

But I requested an upgrade the day before our trip via email and was pleasantly surprised to have received one!

Clean rooms, great service and an ideal location just a block from Louie’s Backyard and the South end of Duval Street add up to making The Reach a great choice for exploring Key West. Just expect to get very familiar with your neighbors on the tiny beach.

Room Tip: If Hilton Honors, send an email a day or two inadvance to request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.