We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Great Summer Rates - $189
Ranked #29 of 41 hotels in Key West
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quite nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I was expecting something a bit more posh since they highlight the fact that they are a "Waldorf Astoria resort." It is quite nice and clean; however, there were small issues that surprised me (e.g., loud, rattling refrigerator; cheap hair dryer; sticky iron). Don't anticipate long walks on the beach, as their stretch of beach is small. The layout of the building is annoying, and it takes a while to figure out the shortest distance between two points. It is very peaceful, though, and I would stay there again in a less expensive room. If you aren't so interested in the loud nightlife along Duval Street, then this is an ideal place to stay to avoid the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,901 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    748
    563
    284
    189
    117
See reviews for
355
954
28
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Landenberg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon, and were greeted imediately by the doorman as we pulled in. The luggage was brought in while I parked the car. the evening staff checked us in and we went to our room, it was a little bit of a walk kind of 6 one way and half dozen the other as far as location in the complex. The room was neat as a pin and clean, the view was good, the water was in clear view from the balcony as well as the courtyard. We stayed here last year and are familier with the walk to Duval St. Key West is not about driving a car. Walk, bike or mo ped.The Reach is quiet enough in the evening and busy during the day. The working staff will go out of their way to get you anything you want and truly make you feel like you are on vacation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Hotel is at the wrong end of the Island if you want to be close to the Duval Street "Bar Zone". You must walk a lot to get close to the Duval Street "Action Zone". Depending on you that could also be a good thing when you go lights out "No Noise". Please do not be thinking Waldorf Astoria so that you don't be disappointed, but the Hotel is as good as you can demand in Key West. No thrills, no extra fancy accommodations, although I must mention the beach is one of the best for any hotel in the Island (don't be thinking paradise to be at a good beach in Key West you must get in a boat and find it). I had a great time and I will go as far as saying I will not mine staying here again. They just didn't get in my way of having a good time. I will recommend a dinner at A & B Lobster house (Grouper Oscar *****), also dinner at Louie's Backyard both excellent, lunch at Hogfish Bar & Grill Stock Island (best grouper sandwich ever), for breakfast Two Friends Patio is good enough to mention.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Savvy travelers know you don’t go to Key West for the beach. But if you really insist on a beach, The Reach is as good as you are going to get in Key West. I just wish there was more of it.

The Reach claims to have the nicest natural beach on the island. But they stack the lounge chairs three deep on the narrow spit of sand just inches apart.

If your idea of a relaxing tropical beach vacation is listening to loud, obnoxious, overly talkative New Yorkers retell their Duval Street exploits literally inches from your eardrums, then this is your kind of beach.

For me, I’d have preferred a lower tourist-to-sand ratio.

Fortunately, we were able to enjoy a quieter untourist-obstructed view of the water from our balcony which overlooked the pool and beach.

Our upgrade to such a nice room was much appreciated. As a Hilton Honors Gold Member, I was using points for our three night stay. Usually that means the worst room on the property (annoying considering this is a decade’s worth of points I’m spending).

But I requested an upgrade the day before our trip via email and was pleasantly surprised to have received one!

Clean rooms, great service and an ideal location just a block from Louie’s Backyard and the South end of Duval Street add up to making The Reach a great choice for exploring Key West. Just expect to get very familiar with your neighbors on the tiny beach.

Room Tip: If Hilton Honors, send an email a day or two inadvance to request an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first trip to Key West. We originally booked two nights, but quickly extended our stay to four nights. The Reach has one of the few sandy beaches. It's private, so you don't get overrun with too many people. We had a king room on second floor wih view of the pool area and beach/pier. It was very convenient to have the beach right on site with pool/towel and lounge chair service included. Also, a sporting concession, Barefoot Billy's was on the Reach beach, which was very convenient. We took the waverunner tour around the island (27 mile circumference, approx 2 hour tour) and were able to see the major sights from an interesting perspective: Southernmost point, Sunset Key, several islands, Mallory Square, Higgs, Smathers and Zachary Taylor Fort beaches. It gave us ideas about what to see next. We used the private beach every day, went snorkeling and stand up paddleboarding. The room was spacious for a couple, and we especially enjoyed the Nespresso coffee machine every morning. Two concierges were particularly helpful, Genevieve, who booked our waverunner tour, and Annica who booked a snorkeling/kayaking Eco Tour. The tour guide was supposed to pick us up from our hotel, but inadvertently had forgotten. Annica did all the worrying for us - she called the tour company, discerned what had happened, and had the problem fixed, all in time to get us to our tour. Many thanks, Annica. The doormen/bell staff were helpful and had many tips for fun around the island. Other staff were hit and miss, but we weren't really relying on them heavily so it didn't much matter. The property is located a few blocks from Duval street. It was nice to walk out the door and be able to be close to the restaurants and bars, but avoid the noise or potential rowdyness. I would recommend for someone who wants to do water activities, but have a really nice comfortable place to relax after a day in the sun or a night out. Did not try out the restaurant, it seemed pricey and didn't see many people hanging out there. We brought our own food for breakfast and enjoyed our coffees on the balcony. We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This fantastic island resort contributes to the acquisition of Keys Disease ("the infectious virus that temps every visitor to the Florida Keys to stay far longer than originally intended")!

Every room is steps away from a beautiful private beach with choice of hammock or your own chair & umbrella. Wake up at your leisure with free in-room espresso & enjoy your complimentary New York Times delivered daily to your doorstep while sunning on your private balcony. Complimentary happy hour champagne and chilled water is served in the lobby which can be brought poolside to the outdoor heated pool.

The resort is quiet & serene located within a 10-15minute walk from the bustling shopping / nightlife on Duval Street. Taxi prices are reasonable ($8 per person to / from the airport) and you can rent a bike from the hotel for an easy, fun way to tour the area. Be sure to have your picture taken at the Southernmost Point marker just down the street and it's well worth the 20-minute walk to Mallory Park Square for the daily sunset celebration.

The Reach has everything you can imagine along with the price for convenience. I recommend a good drink or two from the Strip Restaurant located at the resort - you can't beat a pina colada on the beach! At $12+ / each for specialty drinks though you may want to head across the street for a few beers or wine coolers from the little convenience store to stock your in-room mini fridge. This store is also great for missed essentials (don't forget the sunscreen!) and the attached Cafe is highly recommended for authentic cuban sandwiches and true in-the-coconut coconut water.

All the staff at the resort are 5-star, they go above & beyond to make sure your stay is a memorable one. The rooms are 5-star with luxurious beds and an iPod / iPhone radio to play all the island tunes you've stored up on your playlist. I will definitely return to The Reach soon as my Keys Disease fever has yet to break!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher floor for better city / ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Just spent 4 days at The Reach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was great, room was great, pool and beach service were great. The property is exceptional, beautiful landscaping with nice views. The concierge arranged dinner reservations for us and was very helpful with our Key West questions. Our room was clean and nicely appointed. We'll be back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#10 Spa Hotel in Key West
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its $32 million renovation complete, Reach Resort is open for business! Emerging as the standard in Key West luxury, this boutique beauty has been completely redesigned and remodeled, but is still in the same great location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.