We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Reach Resort is Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #37 of 47 Hotels in Key West
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Reach Resort is Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Where do I begin? The Reach resort on Key West is amazing!
We arrived on Sunday, November 27th for a four- day 30th wedding anniversary get-a-away from New York. We found paradise. Had I known how well we were going to be pampered by the staff, we would have certainly planned on staying longer.
We met Mariya at the front desk as we checked in. She was professional, polite, eager to assist us and seemed genuinely happy to meet us. At the pool each day Ricardo and Chad were never more than a few steps away. They always made sure we had clean and dry towels, and walked around the pool each day with complimentary fresh fruit and frozen popsicles.
General Manager Kasha Nowak was always available to assist guests. She was extremely courteous, helpful and eager to answer questions. Cindy and Kevin at the front desk were always available to offer advice as to the best places to eat, as was the doormen. Housekeeping made our bed two times daily and each time left chocolates for us. We had the pleasure of meeting Jimbo, who was one of the painters and provided us with invaluable local history and interesting facts about Key West.
The staff at the Reach were all gracious hosts and ambassadors to one of the most charming and fascinating locations we have ever visited. Each and every staff member went out of their way to make us feel special and as if we were the most important guests staying at the resort.
The resort is located just a block from Duval Street, the heart and soul of Key West. The Reach is meticulously maintained, intimate, and provides a very and accommodating and warm ambiance.
Staying at the Reach was an absolutely wonderful experience that we look forward to repeating for many years. I highly recommend the Reach Resort.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TWA1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We just checked out today but are planning our next trip back. This year was better than our last trip to the Reach. The setting is wonderful but the staff is what make the trip so memerable. Ricardo and Chad made our beach and pool experience exceptional ! Jason Carter at the front desk made our whole stay outstanding. Cant wait to visit again !
Jayne S.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel91184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Having never been to Key West before, I had no idea what to expect. After reading some of the reviews on this site, I was a bit nervous about what to expect. Only stayed 2 nights, but wish we could have stayed much longer! Went with our only goal being to lay on the beach and not have to think... Goal accomplished! Service on the beach was wonderful. Room was great, beds very comfortable. If I could change anything, I would ask that the housekeeping service learn patience... At turn down time, she would knock 3 times before we could get to the door! Had a snafu with reservations (at this point, looks like I screwed up), front desk was amazing! Valet/bell stand super helpful.

Already planning return. Asked my daughter if she wanted to try Casa Marina, no.... Reach is her choice too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littleskatersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The reach is right on the beach, and a short walk to Duval Street with all it's stores, restaurants and bars. The room was clean and quiet, overlooking the courtyard - enjoyed a cup of coffee while reading the paper on the balcony each morning and watching the hotel come to life. The access to their sister resort, Casa Marina, is also an bonus.

If I returned to Key West I'd stay at either of the two resorts again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

great location, service is excellent. Especially Ricardo Chad as a beach attendant

Room Tip: make sure you get a ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldrivertrucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tysons Corner, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great resort located right next to the ocean with its all private beach. The service is great, concierge very helpful, pool staff helps set you up at the beach with lounge chairs and fresh towels.

The resort is clean and located just a block away from the bustling Duval Street and a few blocks from the Southernmost Point. The restaurant 'Strip House' in the resort has a great outdoor dining deck facing the ocean. The food is a bit expensive and there arent too many vegetarian options. Their garlic fries are delicious.

The pool area is kind of small and gets full pretty quickly. So if you want a seat near the pool, come a bit early. The pool itself is very small and with kids playing in the pool, it gets a bit crowded.

The only complaint I have is about their Spa. The Spa is located at their sister properly - Casa Marina. When the concierge was booking our appointment, she didn't inform us that its not an actual spa, but a setup in a suite. Also - we assumed we would get two female massage therapists, but were surprised to see a male and female therapist. Since there was no one else available, we had to make peace with that. When making a spa appointment, I strongly recommend specifying the gender of the therapist you want. Otherwise, you will dish out a good $150 for a therapist you don't feel comfortable with.

Overall - its was worth the money we spent and we would love to come back and stay here. Hopefully, we will get a room with a better view then (this time it was facing a parking lot)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ani J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian River, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I've been going to Key West for 20+ years. This was the best resort I've stayed at in the Keys. The service was awesome, property was clean and the location is perfect. The restaurant was great - a little expensive, but worth it for the atmosphere! The pool/beach area is great, well maintained and staffed. The guys that work the pool and beach are very friendly and helpful. Not only would I stay here again - I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Be specific about the location you want. I would have paid more for a better view if given the opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.1 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Pier House Resort & Spa
Pier House Resort & Spa
#11 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1435 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#15 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Key West's only private natural-sand beach, The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, is an intimate, elegant destination for those seeking a casual retreat with the highest level of service. A warm sense of hospitality, gracious staff members, a beautiful shoreline and breathtaking sunshine all provide the backdrop for a memorable and romantic travel experience at our Key West hotel, just steps from Duval Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reach, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Reach Resort Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing