We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $239/nt
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Key West
new jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“awesome resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I just returned from 4 nights at this resort. Everything about it was really top notch. We had a large ocean front room with a balcony, worth paying a little extra. The facilities were well maintained, very clean and comfortable, from the gym to the beach. We had the breakfast buffet everyday, delicious food. Will come back again!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,262
    1,106
    561
    271
    179
See reviews for
1,082
2,046
65
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
509 helpful votes 509 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

If you are going here are a few tips:
1. Self park your car on the street, and avoid the $20/day valet, which is right next to where you will park. Completely safe. Just drop off your family/partner with bags in front and park. on sidewalk. Plenty of parking.
2. Stay away from the island view suites, or rooms, it just overlooks parking and hvac units. Go for the ocean front, but make sure it faces ocean, not the pool with a peek at the ocean, that just isn't fair.
3. Breakfast albeit easy, wasn't worth it, go to Sarabeth's in town. Worth every penny.
4. if you are noise sensitive, ask for a room at the top level, and not an adjoining room if one exists. Trust me.

REVIEW

Waldorf Astoria? Aren't they built on "creating customers for life" they need a serious reality check. All staff members, including management, need to go back to hospitality school and retrain, and then train some more. Here are some examples of our stay.

Check in:
No one there at front door to assist. Because it was pouring, and the front walkway of tile was like stepping on ice. I went down a couple of times, no staff anywhere.

Check in desk; Was supposed to get "high floor away from elevator" called the front desk twice to confirm this request before arrival, and was given ground floor right next to elevator/ice machine. Instead of suggesting something else, the woman at the front desk merely stated "there were no more rooms she could give me". So I politely suggested "even if I upgrade?" and then she, completely bothered, had to check, and found a semi-oceanfront room on the top floor albeit next to the elevator, but with a $50 a day increase in price. SOLD. I also booked the "winter escape" package, which she claimed was not so, and she never suggested that she assist me in finding out what happened, she just told me that I needed to show her in writing (which I eventually did) where I booked it. No apology.
No one including reception asked to assit with bags, or suggested where our room might be. Which was out the door, to the left, through a cocktail paty wedding reception, elbow to elbow asking them to 'excuse me" as I trudge to my room. Which was in the third building on the left.

Room: One bedroom Ocean Suite-
I have seen Ikea furniture look better than this. The furniture is clearly low quality and not comfortable, it was, badly beaten, and not very clean. No window opens except the slider to the balcony, so you were forced to have the a/c on regardless. Which was located in the bedroom which faced the pool and the reception of the wedding.
Bathroom had one tissue left, very little toilet paper, and mold in the shower. No big deal. The lighting was terrible over the mirror, and there weren't any special touches, like a close up mirror, lighting over the mirror.
Bedroom was just a bed and a tv with closet, nothing special, no personal touches or anything to make it feel cozy.
Biggest downfall of the room was that if you had a neighbor, you could hear EVERYTHING through the double doors. This was not nice. Ask for a room without this feature if it is even possible.

All four days we were here were clearly catered to large parties (wedding/business travel parties) and it showed. It was very noisy until at least 11:30 at night with party goers enjoying themselves, which is fine with me, as long as it isn't disturbing.
Food: I had to send back two breakfast entrees. But we generally stayed away for food, too much to eat/see in town.
Pool: At least during our stay....the other guests were pigs, who were here to drink and leave their crap blowing into the pool. The cabana boy was pleasant and couldn't be more eager to please you, which was refreshing. He was clearly overworked and was running a lot. The free drink of the day was pink lemonade and vodka, in a small sip cup. C'mon.......And the free popsicle at 2pm, was a joke as the staff had to fish out most of the wrappers from the pool 10 minutes later.
Spa: I didn't partake, but it is oceanside in open cabanas, there is no spa here, so you are in plain view, and most likely a volleyball game is going on right next to you. Sounds relaxing right?
Staff: Most seemed foreign. Nothing wrong with that, but they never greeted you, most looked down as you passed.
All in all, this hotel has SO MUCH potential. They clearly need a better GM of this hotel to manage it properly. If they could upgrade furniture, standards of cleaning, and train staff to address issues with grace and poise they would have my repeat business. But for $400 a night, not including the "resort fee" with the "Waldorf Astoria" name, it just isn't worth it. I would rather stay at a Sheraton and pay half the price. At least there I know what I am getting.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Absolutely gorgeous grounds. Was like paradise, absolute luxury. Did not want to leave! The rooms did leave something to be desired in terms of decor, but the beds were super comfy, and the room was very quiet. Loved the pools and people bringing us drinks. Staff was friendly and helpful. Only downfall was the location because it was a little far from all the action of Duval St, but that did make it quieter and more peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

This was our second stay at the Casa Marina and we were very pleased with the service and the amenities. We were particularly pleased and impressed with Patrick Anello, the front desk attendant that handled our check in and check out, as well as some other items that came up during the course of our stay. This is not to say that the rest of the staff did not do a great job, but Patrick went that extra mile to insure that we were satisfied with our accommodations and enjoyed our stay. Patrick is a pleasure to deal with, he is straight forward and efficient while retaining a sense of humor that is delightfully engaging.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed at the Casa Marina 4-4 - 4-9 for our honeymoon (we got married in Islamorada). The Casa Marina was awesome! It's so beautiful. We probably wouldn't spend this much on a hotel on a normal vacation but we splurged for our honeymoon.

It's one of the few hotels on the island that actually has a beach which was a big plus for us. It has two pools & neither were that crowded during the day. The beach was pretty large, very well kept, and the "beach butlers" were very helpful.

Although the hotel is 100% smoke free our room smelt like smoke (because you can smoke on the patio) when we arrived but after keeping the patio door open with the AC on full blast it seemed to go away.

The hotel is located on the South side of Key West so you'll do a fair amount of walking to get to the busy end of Duval, Mallory Square, or the harbor where most excursions leave from. So make sure to bring comfy shoes or plan on renting a bike or scooter (which is how most people get around Key West). We rented bikes from the resort which were $20/day per bike. You can probably get a bike cheaper from one of the many bike rental places on the island but it was jus easier for us to use the Casa Marina's.

They pretty much don't have the internet. There are two computers for public use in the lobby but they are so slow after 10 min of not getting very far most people gave up. We heard other people at the hotel that had laptops with them that say they couldn't get a connection either.

The Casa Marina is one of the Old Town Trolley stops which is nice.

Neither parking or breakfast is included in the cost of the room. $15/day to self park, $20 for valet (plus tip of course), & $20/person for the breakfast ~ we never tried it so we don't know what it was like.

The concierge was kind of a joke. He's only there Thur - Sun, but don't use him anyway. When we first arrived, we asked for his (Don) advice for food, we just wanted some appetizers for a mid-day snack. After being there for a while and trying all sorts of places, we realized his reccomendations were probably the last places I would tell somebody to go because there are so many other better restaurants.

During the week, we used the "Guest Services" button on the phone, which is free, several times to make reservations and they were great, every reservation was made at the exact time and place we wanted. The people at the front desk also made reservations for us and were very helpful throughout our trip.

If you're looking for coffee in the room, there is a Keurig style machine. They give you 6 K-cups (3 decaf and 3 regular) and the coffee cups are small.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

After discovering an expired passport while packing for Cancun, we decided to give Key West a try and Casa Marina was the only 'beach' hotel with availaibility.

First the good stuff. Service was good for the most part, rooms were very clean and pools/beach were well maintained. Beds were very comfortable and tile showers had great water pressure (almost too much pressure!) Also you get full acces to the neighboring Reach Resort. We didn't have enough time to go there, but I wish I'd given their beach a try.

Ok, now the not so good: First, the beach was artificial and the shoreline is rocky so don't plan on just walking into the ocean. There is a pier with stairs that gets you past the rocky part and a swimming pier about 50 yards out into the ocean. However, the water is full of sea grass, the bottom is muddy and the swimming pier is covered with bird crap! Next, we called to have the room made-up by 3:00 (after reading reviews about late maid service), when we came back to the room at 3:15 it still wasn't done. Not what you'd expect in this price range hotel. Finally, the location is pretty far from everything so plan on taxi/bike or drive.

Finally, my personal rant about resort fees. Casa Marina charges $25/day plus $15/day for parking ($20 for valet) This just seems like a cheap and swarmy practice. Yes, the online list price is lower and maybe you suck people in the door, but it's just a nickle-and-dime practice. Either include the services and raise your list price, or don't include them and stay cheaper.

So we enjoyed our stay overall, but won't be retuning and would be hesitant to recommend unless you find a good deal ($300 or less)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAND FORKS
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

We just checked in. We had reserved three rooms for nearly a week for our family. We were promised rooms with a "nice view" and we were told they were "good rooms".
Well, at this hotel "island vista" means parking lot and or HVAC roof equipment.
Our room came equiped with bloody tissues in the waste basket and a pubic hair on the tiolet. The view is of the parking lot and our table shakes from the HVAC just below us.
Our son's room was meant for someone else who obviously objected tot he room as is shown by the anniversary baloons in the room. Not their anniversary.
The poor girl at reception could not help as our rooms had oviously been given away.
This is supposed to be a Hilton property but it is run like a low end rip joint. No management, no class.
Unfortuanr]tely we are here and here we must stay or pay penalties etc.
Avoid this place if you have a group or if you expect a modicum of quality or a decent room for a big price.
Oh, and don't even get me going on the "resort fee" which is added to the bill for use of the resort's beach, etc. Rip off!
More to follow as our saga continues.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.