We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hotel in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $239/nt
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Key West
New York City
1 review
“The Best Hotel in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

The Casa Marina is by far the nicest hotel on Key West. The rooms are newly renovated and comfortable and the hotel has the largest and best private beach on the island. My boyfriend and I just returned from a week in Key West and the Casa Marina is what made our trip really special. It's perfectly located - far enough away from Duval St. that you aren't bothered by the party animal fray but close enough that you can enjoy a nice dinner and stroll back to the property.

The beach is what really sets it apart. It's beautiful and the staff is remarkably attentive. They bring around free water, a frozen cocktail and ice pops everyday to cool you down. There are almost hammocks along the beach so you can lay down and relax and listen to the waves.The Sun Sun restaurant is affordable and serves fresh light food - which is hard to come by on the island. Overall, the staff was warm, friendly, polite and very hospitable.

Overall, I would definitley go back and if you are looking to save some money on a beach vacation Key West is a great place to go and the Casa Marina is the place to stay. Oh - if you are thinking about upgrading to a beach front room - do it and request a room on the ground level. You'll have a little patio where you can watch the sunrise and sunset.

  • Liked — The beach and the staff
  • Disliked — The size of the bathroom, could be a bit bigger
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,270
    1,110
    562
    272
    180
See reviews for
1,088
2,053
65
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (935)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed at the Casa Marina resort the last two days of our Key West trip (Fri/Sat). The first two nights we stayed on Duval street, so we wanted to get a way and see the beach. For those of you that don't know, Key West only has a few beaches, and they are mainly on the south side of the island.

Casa's beach is beautiful. You could swim in it if you want but with many Atlantic beaches (aside from the Bahamas and Miami beach), they are a little rougher and rockier. It is large as is the resort. There are many palm trees and many piers to go out on. A great way to see the sun rise and sun set. This is the type of place you see post cards made from. There are free hammocks and lounge chairs for those who just want to sit on the beach and soak up the sun. Great for those notherners who come here in December. Like many places in Key West, it is a potpourri of different ethnic groups which is nice and refreshing.

The hotel itself is an old hotel but very modern and pretty. The rooms are a decent size with very modern decor, even in the bathroom. I highly suggest a ocean view as it is perfect (other then the palm trees which seem to be in the way of many good pictures). There is a boat (jet ski, paddle boat, etc) rental right on site. There is a spa here as well which we did not use. Many ballrooms for those who want to have private functions here (seems like a very nice place for a wedding). The staff was very nice and always were opening doors for you and greeting you. Also the restaurant here served pretty good food be be forewarned, it is outside dining only, so it can get chilly.

On to the complaints, and there weren't too many. FEES!!! $20 resort fee, $12/day parking, $12 internet (and don't think about using one of the two free internet computers in the lobby, not only are they 56k modem slow, but people will sit there and stare at you until you get off. And then general high priced items that you find at any hotel/resort. Lunch was a decent price, dinner seemed way too high for the options (which we didn't eat). Also, between 6:30am - 7:30am, the grounds crew was cleaning up the beach. While this may sound good, it was VERY VERY LOUD waking both of us. We like to sleep with the door open to hear the ocean but that still didn't matter. They had a guy driving a tractor around combing the beach (something that could be done by hand or with something electric that is not so loud. Also, a guy was trying to clean off the sand on the walkways with a leaf blower. Again, very loud, right outside our window, and something a broom would have done a much better job at.

However, the good definitely out weighed the bad and then some. Many have said that Duval street is still walkable, but I'd stay its at least a mile to the south end, then another .5 mi to get to where the action is so a cab would be a better idea cause parking isn't really realistic on Duval. And there are cabs waiting outside the hotel 24/7.

We booked on the hotel website which had a special of $50 credit for each two days you stayed which was nice as was our stay! Could have been closer to the action but with two pools and a nice beach, this is the place you come to relax at as the action of Duval is not too far away.

  • Liked — Beach view
  • Disliked — High fees! Both pools were very shallow (no adult pool)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

I had the pleasure of staying at the Casa Marina Resort in early December. Having stayed at the resort frequently in the past and most recently during their renovations I can report the resort has transcended from nice place to stay to phenominal vacation getaway. Between the landscaping, two pools, restaurant and the added benefit of having their sister property the Reach Resort only a block away, the Casa has it all. The room was cleaned promptly and thoroughly each day. The restaurant staff couldn't have been more efficient. The front office staff was the highlight of my stay. Between Maria, Jeff, Don, Carla, Patrick and EJ they ensured I had everything I needed. If you want to choose a resort where you can lay on a beach, listen to the waves crash against the shore and have everything you need taken care of, the Casa Marina is the place for you

  • Liked — Staff, hotel grounds, Jan's margaritas!!
  • Disliked — Nothing...I loved it all!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

If you got your fill of flock of seagulls during the 80s, then don't have breakfast at the hotel. My husband and I decided to enjoy a beautiful morning by having breakfast at the hotel restaurant outside at one of their tables. After getting my food, I promptly was attacked by seagulls which literally were standing on my plate eating my eggs. Also, when my husband turned his head they grabbed a croissant right off the plate. After contacting management regarding the problem, we were informed that it happens often. We were not warned of this prior to being seated outside. Further after moving to the inside dinning area, our waiter brought dishes from outside which had been landed on by the seagulls for us to use to eat. DISGUSTING!!!! Other problems with the hotel include dirty bathtub and clogged drains.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2008

We booked three nights at this hotel on Hotwire for $174 per night plus taxes and fees for a total of $223.70 per night (yes, that's right, the taxes and fees were an extra $49.70 per night). When I checked in, the check-in girl distinctly told me that the resort credit was $50 per night however, when I checked out I was told that it was $50 per every two day stay. I verified this against the website, and yes, it was only $50 per every two day stay. The self-park was an extra $8 per night.

The rooms are very nice and recently redecorated in a zen-like theme. The bathroom has only a shower stall and no bathtub.

The restaurant was outdoors and served acceptable food although there was nothing spectacular on the menu. If you would like to snack, though, you can get a large portion of potato salad or a basket of fries for only $4.

The beach was pleasant with lovely hammocks. This is not really a swimmable beach as all the beaches in Key West are man-made with white sand imported from The Bahamas. The two pools were quite pleasant with more than enough lounge chairs (there were usually between 5 and 10 people at the pools at any one time) and very attentive staff. This is more of a conference hotel so most guests are busy during the day at meetings.

This is a quiet area and about a one mile walk or an $8 taxi ride to the main part of Duval. You can also catch the hop-on hop-off bus at the hotel for $29 per day.

Overall, a very pleasant stay but a tad overpriced.

  • Liked — Nice beach with hammocks
  • Disliked — No free WiFi (it was $12 extra per day!)
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

We went to Key West for a friend of ours' wedding and decided to stay at the Casa Marina. We hadn't been there since back in 2003, before they had finished remodeling the resort, and were curious to see what they'd done. The service had been extraordinary on our previous visit and was nothing less than perfect this time. The staff have been well versed in going above and beyond for their guests and anticipated our every need. We were very impressed with the upgrades they have made, the flat screen tv's, the beds were super comfortable, the amenities were luxurious and the decor was modern yet very comforting. We would definitely recommend this resort to anyone visiting Key West!!!

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, NC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Casa Marina December 1 through 4. The resort itself is on the south eastern Atlantic side of Key West. The resort's main building was built in the 20s and is beautiful. The resort staff was always attentive and friendly. Our room was located in the newer section of the resort. It was spacious and well equiped with many high end features. The resort grounds and beach area were keep well manicured and clean. There are hammocks along the beach area between the palm trees that I could have spent the entire day in.
The hotel resturant served a really nice breakfast either on the patio or inside if you preferred. There is also a bar and a snack bar out between the two pools. While you are around the pool and beach area the hotel staff checks on you to see if you need more towels or even cool moist hand towels and pop cicles when it was warm. Duval Street and most of the attractions were an easy 15 minute walk from the resort and if you didn't fill like walking there were always taxis standing buy and the resort had bicycle and scooter rentals.
We truly enjoyed our stay and plan on returning.

  • Liked — Elagant, romantic surrondings.
  • Disliked — They had a "pay" shuttle back and forth to the airport.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.