We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Rotonda West, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel has the most beautiful grounds on the island. If you want to just relax and rest under palm trees on the beach this is for you. Unfortunately, their are no reasonable places to eat at the hotel. Cheapest item on the poolside cafe was a $20 burger. Their is also no shuttle service into town. So if you want to leave the hotel you either walk or spend $12 on a cab each way. These were the two downsides of the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,638
    1,295
    690
    328
    223
See reviews for
1,335
2,403
72
234
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. The plantation Old Key West style of the building is open with dark wood floors and high ceilings, tile throughout encouraging you to stay barefoot ;)
The backside of the hotel opens to two large pools, an outdoor bar and dinning area, a private pier and beach, and lots of gorgeous palm trees, some of which are holding up my favorite feature.. The hammocks. A torch lit path will guide you at night, there are two large fire pits if it gets chilly, and the entirety of the grounds are private and secure. This is a quieter end if the island, Old Town, only a couple blocks from the southern most point and about a 10 minute walk to Duval Street. If you rent a bike (available at the hotel) you can be anywhere on the island in just minutes.
The rooms are tile as well, handy when you are always dragging in sand. Beds were comfy, room was updated and clean.
Breakfast was an outrageous $27 bucks a pop, so we skipped it and found lots of options on the island. It was lovely, and I won't stay anywhere else again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Simply amazing hotel, the best I have lived in so far. Here is what I loved not Liked... LOVED about it
1. Location: Away from Duval street and the noise, by the beach
2. Private beach with hammocks and beach chairs included. It also has its own pier
3. Parking: I parked outside the hotel, there is a lot of parking there dont pay $20/day.. I left my car outside for 3 days and nothing happened.
4. Pool and activity: 2 pools, plenty of activities through the day.. I can spent a whole day at the hotel... the best day spent
5. The View: walk out of the reception area and you see only the beach outside... amazing... I couldn't get enough of it.
6. Room and Serivce: Awesome room, quiet spacious and turn down service
7. The Hotel: everything about the hotel is awesome, the decor, the amenities and the spa too

I loved this hotel, wish I could we could stay there longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Amazing hotel great staff, teaveling with a child with a Disability, this location is very famil and disability friendly, they were super accommodating and helpful, made it very easy to enjoy our trip

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Ok...if you are going to think that this Waldorf Astoria will be at least 75-80% like Waldorf-Astoria New York then you would be disappointed as you don't get W-A NY for $200-250 a night, that runs in thousands so not fare to expect or compare both the hotels.

The hotel's architecture is beautiful, everything looked new, pools were cleaned, restaurants were not super expensive and food was great. Beach was not as clean as you find in Hawaii or there were rocks which was making it difficult for us to use the beach so hardly used it. Concierge was very helpful, staff was super helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel but only two things I didn't like:

1. They have tie-up with a scuba diving company who brings their students/clients to train them for their upcoming scuba dive which is inconvenient for the hotel guests as this occupies almost one of the pool with these unknown clients with very very heavy oxygen gas cylinders and other diving gears in the pool and they might by mistake hit some hotel guests or more to some small children.

2, Walls between the rooms were super duper thin and people can hear other rooms. I was talking on phone in a normal voice and was not loud but both the rooms on either side complained to the security that they could hear everything I was talking and they can't sleep due it and the security had to come to my room and tell me to hang up the phone or keep it really slow....seriously in my own room I can't even talk in a normal voice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been coming to Key West for the past 6 years and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.
Yes, the grounds are beautiful but it's the beauty of the staff starting with Patrick, Mary & Drew at the front desk. They seem to set the tone following up with the wait staff;house keeping & Tom at the Outdoor Sports section.
If you are looking for some eating ideas within walking distance try the Cuban restaurant El Siboney and Camilles for fish caught that day.
The negative is that I had to leave.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the water and with one that has a lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is absolutely gorgeous but the food is the worst and the most expensive. My husband and I ordered a steak for dinner and we were looking forward to a lovely dinner by the ocean but the food was so bad we could not even eat it. The meal costs us $55 as we did not order alcohol and the steak was tough and fatty, the potatoes were burned and the salad was just a half head of lettuce with some horseradish sauce on the side...yuk!! We noticed that he bus boy would bus tables and then go into the open air kitchen and cook...double yuk!! The staff was rude and more concerned with which one of them was doing the most work...completely ignoring paying customers most of the time....poor restaurant service being run by rude children it seemed...very disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#13 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.