We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $199
Ranked #24 of 41 hotels in Key West
Okoboji, Iowa
1 review
“Winter Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our first visit to Key West. We enjoyed the Casa Marina very much. The view is awesome, the grounds are beautiful, and the staff are great. It is a wonderful setting and away from the craziness of Duval Street. We will likely stay here again when we return to Key West. Our room was facing the parking lot and although it was nice I will upgrade next time to the ocean view. I wish the Casa Marina had a shuttle service to downtown. The walk is doable but at the end of a long day it would be great to catch a shuttle. Cab service is available and affordable.
My only negative is the walls between the rooms must be very thin. On one of our mornings, we had a small child next door who was crying and quite loud. It was a good thing we were not planning to sleep in as it would have been quite difficult. The beach staff were awesome!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,055 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,103
    1,014
    520
    248
    170
See reviews for
1000
1913
63
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We traveled to Key West in Dec 2012 with our family (kids 3, and 5) and had an amazing time. We loved the hotels beautiful beach, loved walking on the hotel's pier and feeding the fish, searching for creatures, even saw a sting ray swimming about. The pool was absolutely perfect, we went night swimming and enjoyed complimentary smores by the fire pit. Everyone was so friendly and the hotel staff was so helpful, and the hotel grounds and our room were impeccable. We wanted to do family photos at the resort, and had the concierge refer us to Bond Fire Studio and we took family photos on the hotel grounds. The pictures turned out amazing, we were so happy with them, and we will treasure them forever. We still get lots of compliments. The concierge also referred us to Hurricane Hole Marina where we did a self guided tour through the mangroves, which was a perfect family adventure. We did enjoy a lot of Key West on our trip, but the hotel was so amazing, we could have just stayed there the whole time! One thing to note, however, there was no Jacuzzi.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

As an HR Director, I have helped plan 3 separate meetings here over the past 3 years. Each one has been better than the last. The Casa Team truly takes pride in keeping their guests happy and will go out of their way to help them. I also love the fact that this is not a mega resort that requires huge hikes to get from one part of the property to another. I have also stayed here with just my wife and I and have experience the same level of great service. It's also a beautiful hotel with two great pools and a nice beach area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Zion, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I just returned from Key West this week. This was the second time we have stayed at the Casa Marina. Our first was in November, 2011. Our first visit, we booked a 2-room suite that overlooked the ocean. There is nothing quite like waking up and going to bed with the sound of the ocean. Since the rates were higher in March this year, we just booked a standard room, which was still very nice and spacious enough for the two of us. It overlooked the front of the property (parking lot), but the noise level was not noticeable from outside as it is much quieter on the south side of the island. When we visit Key West, we will continue to book our stay at the Casa Marina.

The staff is pleasant and very hospitable. The rooms are spotless, and cleaned very well by housekeeping each morning along with turndown service with chocolates at night. The rooms also included some pretty high end shampoos, conditioners, shower gels, etc. and housekeeping does a nice job of replenishing them every day.

The cabana folks from partner Barefoot Billy's make your stay by the pool or on the beach a relaxing experience. They do the work of getting you set up with lounge chairs and towels. Throughout the day, they bring by cocktail samples (noon), Popsicles (2pm), and frozen eucalyptus towels (4pm). The poolside bar and grill will come by and take drink and food orders as well (I highly recommend the conch fritters and the fish dip). There is also a play area in the sand with lawn games, volleyball, etc., so perfect if it gets a little breezy for the water during the day.

Barefoot Billy's on the property rents out jet skis, snorkel gear, bicycles, kayaks and such for those of you who want to explore in the water as well.

The property is situated on the south side of the island, so it is away from the Duval Street madness if you're looking for something quieter. Again, I can't say how much we enjoy staying here and will return again when we visit Key West the next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
channel islands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I felt i had to write a review even though it was last year that we went. I have no idea why there is bad reviews for this hotel and im guessing that people are just blinded by the Waldorf name...just chill and enjoy this fantastic beach hotel. We had a basic room and although the view was not the best who cares we only sleep in there..it was clean and comfy. The staff were great especially Patrick the beach/pool waiter he sat down with us on our first day on the beach and told us all about the hotel and where to visit whilst in the keys..great guy we missed him when his shift changed. The food although a little expensive was very good. Its a good 15 mins walk to Duval Street but you can get a taxi or hire bikes from Barefoot Billies agreat way to get around and take in the sights of KeyWest. Have just booked to go back again in 2014 and i cannot wait.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful and relaxing, away from the Duval Street activity, yet close enough to walk.. Largest private beach and two wonderful pool areas. If you are looking for a place to relax, this is it! Mark Gray and his staff at Barefoot Billy's pool concierge staff were wonderful. Bob, Constatine and Austin really hustle, bringing towels, making up the chaise lounges, delivering cold water, fruit, drink of the day, popsicles, cold cucumbers for the eyes by Mitchell and Mark and then the frozen eucalyptus towels late afternoon.(be sure to tip these guys) Patrick is our favorite and best poolside/beach bartender. Visit Robin, Jan & Darren at the Sun-Sun bar, lunch is always great. See Tom, Matt or John Carlos @ Barefoot Billy's for water toys (jet ski tours, etc) We witnessed two beautiful beachside weddings, made new friends and saw old ones who are there same time every year. We continue to return to this wonderful oasis! We did notice more young children than in previous years, maybe they missed the Disneyworld exit!

Room Tip: 311 rooms, ask for ocean view. I personally like a walk out patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this hotel and it was great. Beautiful hotel with beach. Beautiful views. Sun, sun and sun all the day.....what to ask for more.

Good service and nice room hotel. Not too big.

Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.