We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa is a JOKE!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $239/nt
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Spa is a JOKE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel as one would expect being a Waldorf Astoria. We were staying at the sister hotel, The Reach, about a block away. Both hotels advertise a 'spa' based out of the Casa Marina. They charge top dollar for a 50 min massage ($125) and offer the massage either on the beach or in the spa. Given the outdoor temps were chilly in the 60s, my wife and I elected to have a couples massage indoors. The front desk directed us to the spa located in 'suite 1001'. Walking around the property, we quickly discovered the spa was nothing more than a converted basic hotel room on the ground floor...well off the beaten path and poorly marked. Stepping inside the 'spa' was your typical bathroom to the left and a small foyer with a table. The check in area. Passing through some hanging beads, you end up in the small hotel room that has two massage tables instead of full beds. The room was cramped and underwhelming. Having committed to the 24hr no refund cancellation policy, we went ahead with our massages. Unfortunately the massage quality wasn't much better than the proposed spa itself. They squirt you with ice cold oil and then rub it around to warm it up. If your idea of a good massage is being in a tiny converted hotel room getting iced down with cold oil, this is the place for you. During the massage, the next victims, eh...guests, came to check in for their massage about 15 minutes before ours were over. Given that the check-in table was on the other side of some hanging beads, our massages were interrupted with knocking on the door and the intrusion of guests (innocent on their part) in the room while we were mostly nude on the massage tables.

Really a bummer of an experience, particularly when I look back at my credit card statement.

Save you money or go to one of the real spa studios on the island.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Spearfish 25,

We appreciate that you gave our spa treatment a chance and I regret your disappointment. We promise our guests a singular Waldorf luxury experience and will use your comments to ensure we never fall short in satisfying our guests. I sincerely appreciate your feedback, and I hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,256
    1,101
    560
    271
    178
See reviews for
1,080
2,039
65
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (927)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I am just getting around to writing this review as we stayed at the property for a week last July and have rebooked a stay this year. Everything about the trip was fanatstic! We had a beautiful ocean view room that was very spacious. The grounds are beautiful as are the 2 swimming pools on the ocean. Service around the pool is outstanding with servers rushing around delivering cocktails, lunch and frozen cloths to cool you off. (try the frozen Pina Coldas made the real way) All of the service at the property was world class in every way. We loved being able to bring the pooch and he had a great time as well. The property is housed in a beautiful historic mediterranean style building that I am guessing some of the guests don't get. Great eclectic and sophisticated group of guests including europeans and gay people. Close to the action with tons of fabulous restaurants and shops nearby. This is on my A list!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Beautiful setting and great location, attentive and professional staff, convenient parking, nice gym, one bed room suites with modern decor, food and drinks good but pricey, $12 plus tip for a margarita from a plastic cup is a lot, no breakfast for Hilton Diamond members, beach is not usable but that's what we had expected in Key West. Overall a nice stay, don't think we were getting enough value for the money.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Casa Marina which has changed ownership over the years. The property is in a wonderful location near, but not in, downtown and directly on the water. The accommodations are first rate and the service is fantastic. In all aspects it is an outstanding place to stay. However, is it worth its Waldorf Astoria like rates? Sadly, no.

You won't be disappointed with anything here except maybe the bill.

Room Tip: If they are not extremely busy you can usually talk your way into an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a gorgeous hotel, great service, two lovely pools, even the bar food is good. They have hammocks. I had a spa treatment which was amazing. We had a huge balcony for ourselves. There is a beach (which apparently lots of Key West hotels don't have). The only problem was that on weekends they have TONS of weddings. I mean, two at a time afternoon and evening, Friday through Sunday. So there is so much noise from the parties! The worst is at night, when you can hear and feel the bass vibrations through the walls and floor. I'm sure it is terrific if it is your wedding, (when I got married there was no such thing as a destination wedding - we had dinosaurs roaming around instead). So I think if you stay Monday through Friday you can get a better price and the amazing peace and quiet you are paying for. Everything else is really terrific.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d Alene, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is our second visit. We stay in a Grande Ocean Vista Room with the huge deck overlooking the property and Atlantic ocean...Perfect. 2 huge pools are on-site for relaxing, and Duval street is a short walk, yet far enough away so that one can relax when not partying downtown.

Room Tip: The Grande Ocean Vista Rooms are in the main complex, central to everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The location of the Casa Marina is excellent! Your right off of the busy strip so it's nice and quiet very beautiful terrific ocean view! The rooms are pretty nice and the staff is super helpful and friendly. But you will pay dearly to stay here. Overall everything about the Casa Marina is wonderful except for the way overpriced rates.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#9 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.