We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel...But, maybe shy of a Waldorf.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $249
Ranked #23 of 41 hotels in Key West
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel...But, maybe shy of a Waldorf.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a week and overall had a wonderful experience. As many of the reviews have said, the beach and pool are really the reason for staying here. The rooms are nice. Actually, they are very nice. But, not spectacular or "amazing". It's a beautiful old hotel, but it just isn't what you would expect from a top of the line Waldorf Astoria. If you accept that this is a beach hotel and therefore it sees a little more wear and tear at times, then you will have a great time. I do have to say, they were ALWAYS cleaning the grounds and hotel so it wasn't for a lack of trying. Most of the employees are very friendly and helpful. The guys that work the pool and beach are really the tops. Based on my own experience and what some other reviewers have said, maybe they want to get those guys working the front desk:) Food is good. Again, not over the top wonderful but what hotel is??? There are too many wonderful places in key west to spend your meals here. I didn't notice any of the "tip hungry" employees that others noticed. But, I guess I just felt o.k. with tipping somebody who dragged beach chairs down to the waters edge and dug me a hole for in umbrella in 85 degree heat. We spent most of our mornings traveling around the island on our scooter and then doing some sort of planned activity. Then, the afternoon was spend on the beach or in the pool. I personally felt that the hotel was worth the money. I visited some of the other top rated hotels on the island that essentially charge the same price and the Casa is definitely in line. I just wouldn't compare it to the Waldorf Towers in New York just yet:)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,072
    1,003
    511
    242
    164
See reviews for
955
1877
63
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We used points to get an ocean view room. The room had a terrace and great views of the ocean. Employees there are very nice and went above and beyond with helping us get settled on the beach. Parking is easy and the location is central to several great restaurants.

This is an older hotel that has been remodeled. Finishes in the room are great, but the walls are fairly thin and you can hear people in the room next to you and in the hallways. Also, food selection in the hotel is limited to the typical American hotel menu.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Beautiful location. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. Excellent service.
The rooms do need to be modernized. The bathrooms are out of date and need more amenities.
The buffet breakfast is exceptional. All in all, a great place to stay. A renovation of rooms would add a great deal to the experience.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in February 2013 for a conference I was attending. We enjoyed the resort but found that the rooms were poorly insulated from noise from neighboring rooms. We didn't even find that our neighbors were being loud or obnoxious, just their regular speaking voices pierced right through the walls. Also the room cleaning was a bit sub-par for a $300+ a night Waldorf property-- dirty glasses left lying around. Other than that, which was a pretty big deal, the rest of the resort was fantastic. Great service, great food and great amenities. Location is super too, on the quiet side of Key West, away from the mayhem of Duval Street, yet very walkable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Trevin D,

Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback regarding the noise levels and housekeeping issues at our hotel. Your comments will help us to find opportunities to correct these problems in order to ensure that our hotel’s environment continues to be conducive to our guests’ satisfaction. It's so nice to know you enjoyed our convenient location and were pleased with our amenity and service offerings. We hope you will consider staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Warm Regards,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We decided to stay here because my husband had stayed there with his parents 50 years earlier and he had fond memories. It has been totally renovated and a new wing added. We had a room that opened right onto the beach and it was spectacular. The staff was helpful and courteous. We had a wonderful dinner served at a table on the sand at the Sun Sun restaurant and the food was excellent. Although it is an expensive place, no doubt, it is so worth it. We came away knowing that we will go back again.

Room Tip: Ask to be in an ocean view room. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is amazing with lots of history. Not kid friendly at all. No kid activities. The television choices were awful, you cannot rent a movie. Bizarre. Our room was on the end of the hotel, no wifi. Concrete walls make Wifi difficult ask for a room near the server if you need wifi. Pool staff great. Food was amazing. No heat. It was really cold first night, no heat. Very strange. Great location. There is no spa really. Just a treatment hotel room in the hotel and two grass huts near beach for massages. The staff was amazing but I think the hotel is more for couples and business people. Tons and tons of rude foreigners. Watch out. Overall a good stay. Not sure if I would go back especially with kids.

Room Tip: Try to get room near Wifi signal. Get oceanfront definitely. Worth the $. Make sure you do not face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Upon arrival the grounds of this hotel are breath taking. A beautiful view of the ocean with two pools and green areas. Great cushioned chairs to enjoy the surroundings. However, this is where the beauty ends. The room was terrible: Two small double beds, the bathroom was pretty but not functional, no drawers to store clothes. Our bathroom vent was not working upon our arrival. The hotel sent someone to fix it but there was no change; we had to make a second request to have it corrected. The hallways were dirty, one elevator didn't work correctly, two outside lights by our door were not working during our entire stay, and at one point someone had left a pile of dirty laundry/towels sitting in the corner of a hallway. We ate at the hotel restaurant just once for breakfast - the food was good but not worth the price. After that we ate every single meal off site. The location is nice but it was a solid 15 to 30 minute walk to reach Duval St./Mallory Square. Next time I vist Key West I'll be staying at a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#9 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.