We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Stay, Planning Our 4th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Great rates from $239/nt
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Houston, Texas
1 review
“3rd Stay, Planning Our 4th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have never written a review before, and this on is a bit late.
We have stayed at Casa Marina on three separate occasions, and due to total excellence, we are already planning our fourth trip. This historic (I think people should take note of the word "historic") resort is beautiful. Crisply updated (since our first stay in 2005) with every modern convenience. Our room, as is standard here, was sparkling clean and housekeeping keeps it that way. We simply would not stay anywhere else.
The entire staff, as always, is ready to meet every request. Our pool and beach services, provided this last trip by Graham and Max were exceptional.
Any activity you can imagine is available with never having to leave the grounds.
Everyone is courteous and helpful, ready to assist in planning jet-ski or snorkel trips, scooters to go (too much fun) anywhere you want, etc. Close to town for great shopping, food, and more things to do than imaginable.
Can't wait to get back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,259
    1,104
    561
    271
    179
See reviews for
1,080
2,046
65
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have visited Waldorf Astoria Orlando just a few months ago and expected the one in Key west to be the same but to our surprise this not to the Waldorf standards . The problems we had-- smelly sheets, room. Bathrooms reminded me of bathrooms in days Inn( noting wrong with this if i am paying 100 $ a night ), Hair dryer I used had hair in them and looked old. We could near our next door neighbor loud and clear at night. ( we have never had this issue- we travel around the world quite frequently).
Overall a very disappointing experience and will never go back to casa marina again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear arch1976,

We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area, and I appreciate your feedback. We strive to provide our guests with consistent and flawless experiences. We have shared your experience with our management team. If you should happen to return to Key West, we hope you will give us a second chance to show you the luxury hospitality our hotel and brand is known for.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The room was tiny, cramped, tired and not very clean. Two of us could not stand in the bathroom at the same time. Our garden room view was of the parking lot and a service shack. We could look out at cars and pavement or at maids with stacks of towels. I dropped something in the bathroom and it rolled under the vanity, which was about six inches off the floor, so easily cleaned under if someone bent down. Disgusting!! The pool and beach area were lovely but couldn't make up for the disappointing rooms. Friends who had an ocean view room had the same cramped and tired conditions. This hotel is not worthy of the Waldorf Astoria name.

Room Tip: There don't appear to be any good rooms. Maybe a suite would provide some space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I suppose expectations of a hotel of the Waldorf type is too high not here li
Ong and already waiting on the room, bicycle rental not a smooth transaction, etc. frustrating detail that the B&B that I usually go to doesn't have

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We used Hilton points for our one night stay at this beautiful vintage Mediterranean style hotel. The service was impeccable. The beach was very nice as was the pool area. However it is a bit of a long walk to all the action on Duval street-especially walking back after a fun night. The room was adequate. Since it is an older hotel, the rooms are smaller. Yet they were updated with all the necessary amenities. As to value, I'm glad I used points.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Beautiful property built by Flagler -- two gorgeous huge pools surrounded by gardens and facing the beach (one of the very few beach properties in town). A resort fee covers a world of goodies. The staff set out beach lounges with towels in a flash or put you in a hammock between two palm trees. Also great poolside lounge chairs. Several times a day staff bring freebies -- fruit juice popsicles, a large sample of the drink of the day, a frozen mint towel, and more. Also a schedule of other free activities, including wine sampling on some days. Bikes are provided also -- a major form of transportation in laid back Key West. The rooms are large with a Restoration Hardware feel -- dark wood floors, lots of space, white walls, white bed coverings and very fine linens. Pristine clean with towels refreshed at turn-down. Our room had a huge balcony (all of them are huge but 262 has an especially big one) with two lounge chairs and two regular chairs and a table and umbrella -- with a full view of the pools, gardens, and ocean. It was February but we slept with the French doors open at night to hear the waves. Coffee maker is great -- Nespresso or something similar. Lots of big towels, wonderful bath amenities (greatest smell!), luxurious robes, bedroom slippers. Food is terrific -- very nice restaurant. The breakfast buffet in the morning is spectacular. Outdoor bar has both good drinks and good food. Fire pits are lit at night near the beach around the bar. The concierge is extremely helpful -- just can't do enough. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the hotel so much that we extended two extra days (total 5), hated to leave, and will go back ASAP. Easy bike ride to Duval Street; also walkable. We usually spend a lot of time touring -- not this time because we didn't want to leave the pools, beach, service, and food! Easy bike ride to Duval Street; also walkable. This must be the best hotel in Key West.

Room Tip: Avoid room 270; the ocean view is in the closet alcove with no other view from the room and the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This place is well was well regarded by fellow travelers as the best in Key West. Our experience was very mixed, which is unfortunate for the investment one makes when staying with the Waldorf Astoria brand.

There are great things about this resort. They include the location right on the beach. Get a ocean view room and you see palms and water so close to your balcony. The hotel itself was built in the 1920s and retains the original charm in the main buildings. The simple use of dark timber and light fabrics gives a good feeling of sophistication. The beautiful poolside garden with palms and hedges is also a highlight. Two large pools sit beside a central walkway leading to the beach. The pools are large and set well in their surrounds. The beach is pretty, and well manicured by staff each morning, but beware the rocks close to the shore. A pier and water sports company provides the usual array of fun in the sun and sea.

The hallways and rooms feel dated. Simple art deco furnishings give the rooms a nice ambiance but the bathroom was small in our ocean view room. The beds were uncomfortable with poor back support and squeaky supports. Our air conditioner was very loud and disturbed sleep. A request was made to the concierge to remedy this but nothing was done and there was no follow-up with us. The weather cooled so we made do with fresh air. The room had a Nespresso machine so you have perhaps your only chance to get a decent espresso.

There is a little shop, which serves filtered coffee, yogurts, salads, pastries, and all other sundry items. Don’t bother with the espresso coffee, even though the machine is an automated grinder the staff somehow seemed to create an insipid weak brew. The poolside food is of a good standard.

For a good meal go to Louie’s Backyard, 5 minutes away on foot. Also try Salute for a more casual meal of fish 5 minutes in the other direction.

The real hit and miss of this place was the wild variation in staff skills and training. We had some fine encounters with professional and courteous staff at the bell desk, front desk, concierge and restaurants. However, we also regularly felt we struck some of the most memorably poor service we have experienced at any hotel in our world travels regardless of the star rating. A memorable experience was a trainee concierge who made no eye contact and kept typing an email while greeting us. In response to our polite cessation of our inquiry indicating we would wait until she finished, she tersely rebuked us with an “I’m listening”. She then denied all knowledge about a simple trip to the Everglades on our way back from the Keys. This could have been googled in a moment. She seemed to want to maintain that this vast swamp didn’t really exist. Her interpersonal skills made us feel very unwelcome. We gave her the benefit of the doubt due to her trainee status, suspecting she may not have reached the part in her training about basic human interaction. However, the next day we received another disinterested and dismissive response from a more senior concierge. She dismissed us with a “you could google that”. Gentle coaxing saw her reluctantly google this for us and in 5 seconds the information was on the screen in the counter between us. We also noted that we had two other very pleasant and professional encounters with some young male concierge staff, indicating to us some interesting variations in personality and training.

The service at the poolside restaurant was also very patchy. An abundance of waiters were apparent but often chatting to each other while guests exercised increasingly gymnastic gestures to gain their attention. Twice, when we eventually got service to order a drink the waiters told us that they were going home soon and wanted to know if we needed to keep the tab open. We worked out that this was related to their tips, which they seemed most interested in securing rather than helping us feel looked after.

Housekeeping also left a lot to be desired. We had to call for shampoo, milk and dry cleaning to be delivered to the room as all items were not re-stocked or returned.

We been to Waldorf Astoria hotels before and been impressed by the courteous and professional service. This place was a contrast for us. These impressions were shared by other guests we talked to, hence were unlikely just a series of random events.

You want to love this hotel. Its location and beauty are remarkable. When all goes well with staff it is a pleasant and relaxed place. When it doesn’t go well with staff it is a profoundly unique experience at a place aiming high.

Room Tip: A room on the third floor at the very end of the guest wings is close to the beach and has a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.