We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel terrible customer service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $249
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel terrible customer service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we checked in we experienced beyond terrible customer service. The front desk employee (roman) was unpleasant wouldn't smile and basically ruined my opinion of this hotel. Our room was basically the same caliber of a courtyard Marriott and was worth no where near almost 400 dollars a night. The hotel itself is beautiful but the rooms and customer service will make this my only stay here! Our room was facing the parking lot was tiny. Not to mention the terrible lay out that made it nearly impossible to see the 19" screen tv

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Andrazz7423,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing stay you recently had with us. We strive to provide our guests the singular Waldorf experience they expect and regret this was not your impression. We will be sure to include your comments as we continuously work to improve upon all aspects of service. We are addressing the experience you encountered at main desk, with our front office team and looking into additional property enhancements. to ensure we're meeting guest needs. We welcome any additional feedback or suggestions you would like to share and hope we have another chance to show you the quality experience you deserve from our brand should you return to the Key West in the future.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,967 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,065
    993
    508
    238
    163
See reviews for
949
1869
63
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Andrew at the pool and beach was awesome. Super helpful and friendly. He made great conversation and was very personable. What great service! He was always willing and happy to help. He remembered us each day and gave us a lot of tips on where to explore and what to do around the island.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A good alternative to Key West B&Bs, and very closed (walking distance) from most city centre attraction. We highly recommend this place while staying in Key West. The beach is wonderful and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our check in was our first indication that this hotel was not what we were expecting. The lobby is small, old and dated. At check-in, I asked if we could have a balcony room. The employee looked at me like I was insane, and she said, no, not with the government rate. I asked if we could have an oceanview room, and she repeated that I could not because I was paying the government rate. I did not realize that being affiliated with the military also classified me as a second-rate guest. Also, I didn't know that the slightly discounted rate I was paying meant that I should not expect a nice room or good service. The clerk said our room was not ready, and she would call me when it was. When I returned to get my room keys, I had to wait in the check in line for a second time, and was given keys to room 355 in the main building. We took the SMALLEST elevator I have ever seen to the third floor, and when we tried to open the door to our room, it would not open. The housekeeper came over to see us because she knew the room was not ready. She told us to return to the desk. We returned to the desk and no apologies were offered. We were given a room in the adjacent building. When we were walking to our room, I could not believe how dirty and worn the carpet in the hallway was, and the musty odor in the building. Our room was not much better. Laminate wood floors, banged up furniture, no rugs, and a not so lovely view of the parking lot. The bathroom is so small that they had to split the door into two and it still hits your knees if you are sitting on the toilet. The nespresso machine took some getting used to, I would rather have a regular coffee maker.
The back of the grounds was OK, with two pools, no hot tub, and a very rocky man-made beach that you can't swim in. The beach was not long enough to take walks on.
I was disappointed in the service we received, also. I called the front desk 2 times to make a request. Once for extra pillows, and they delivered them after a 30 minute wait. The second time I called, no one ever picked up the phone. One day of our stay, we put out the "please service" sign, left around 11 and returned at 5, and our room had not been been serviced. We did not get housekeeping service that day. I realized why the staff seem to be indifferent to the complaints of the guests. The reason is because every guest of this hotel has complained because this hotel is old, overpriced and dated, and there is nothing the staff can do about it.
We had reserved four nights, but checked out after three, and headed to the upper keys.
Three tips we can offer other travelers. The first tip is that the Old Towne Trolley is a good value for transportation(and entertainment) because one of the stops is at the Casa Marina. The second tip is that there were a few empty parking spots in front of the hotel if you want to take a chance on finding a parking spot so that you don't have to pay the inflated parking at the hotel. The third tip is the most important: stay at a different hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear dandjenifer,

We are extremely sorry the resort did not meet your expectations. It is the feedback of guests such as yourself that assists us in the training of associates as well as continued maintenance of our facilities. If you would like to discuss your stay or if you should be in Key West again please contact me at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service, such as requests for regular coffee makers and extra pillows which we can provide ahead of time. Thanks again for your feedback.

Sincerly,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I wish I could give this property 3.5 stars, because that's my true impression. I was here for a wedding in the banquet room, which was spectacular. Overall, there were some fantastic aspects of this hotel, and some mediocre aspects:
- Resort itself is stunning; beautiful Spanish-style architecture on a beautiful beach. Nice pool.
- Rooms are a bit old and outdated. We were upgraded to a suite, which was nice for the very high price we originally paid for a standard King room. But the suite was pretty bare and had a horrible view.
- Food was ok. We had breakfast at the buffet and found the food to be a bit stale and uninspiring. But perhaps ordering ala carte would have been better.

Overall, there's no question that we'd return to this resort when staying in Key West. It was the best property we saw as we traveled around KW. But it certainly isn't the nicest resort one can stay at on a beach.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite with a view of the street, which was spacious but pretty bare and worn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I am a Hilton Diamond member and my family of 6 had a great experience at Casa, we rented 2 rooms. We had an oceanfront room which is about as good as it gets in Key West. The Jet ski tour is well worth it, about an hour and a half completely around Key West cost ~$140 for each jet ski with 2 people aboard, very well done. Rooms could use a slight upgrade, but very clean and comfortable.
We walked over to the Reach, very nice, but the Casa property has much more to offer and I thought a better set-up for different activities. We had 4 kids late teens/early twenties with us and they had a blast here, staff was excellent. Evening happy hour at the bar near the lobby had different $5 top shelf drinks every day. I had the best Pina Colada (yes I like Pina Colada's) at the outside pool bar, everything there is outstanding with a killer view to boot..
My vote is Casa over the Reach. If you are in Key West go to the Casa Marina, get an ocean front room and enjoy everything they have to offer. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The property is beautiful! Although Key West is not known for their beaches, this is the best beach front property you will find. We brought out 19 and 20 year old daughters to Key West for their first time on their college winter break. Everyone loved it! Both rooms upgraded at check-in!! We had balcony room that the steps took us right onto beach. Great view of the weddings! Props go to Austin-great service, advice and conversation on beach. Also, everyone at Sun Sun bar very friendly and accommodating. Even guys at Barefoot Billy's did great job on giving me comfort with my 19 year old driving me around on a scooter in Key West. Definitely recommend to everyone and will revisit Waldorf in Key West. First time ever at Waldorf!!

Room Tip: I think you could book any room at this resort and the staff will do their best to put you in the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.