We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 41 Hotels in Key West
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Casa Marina. We had a lovely room with a balcony looking over the beach and the pool area. The room was lovely and was nice decorated with very comfortable beds. The free safe, dressing gowns, fridge and nespresso maker were all nice touches. The beach and pools were lovely although the pools were a little busy as it was still the school holidays. As part of our booking through Virgin the $25 resort fee was paid for in our package but as were out and about exploring most days we didn't get the benefit of this. We did get an enormous ice lolly one day while lying on the beach and a frozen flannel another day which was wonderful to counter act the heat of the day. There was plenty of free parking in the street alongside the hotel so we didn't need to pay for valet or the hotel car park. We hardly touched the car as all the sights were walkable. We didn't eat at the hotel but walked to Duval Street and surrounds for a huge range of restaurants. It was about a 25 min walk to get to the busier parts of Duval Street which was great for working up an appetite.
It was definitely cheaper to eat and drink elsewhere. However there was a little shop on site that sold coffee and muffins and pretzels and crisps for if you just wanted a little snack.
A more expensive place to stay but I think with the rooms with the views, the private beach, private pier and pools, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,137
    1,037
    531
    259
    174
See reviews for
1,026
1,949
63
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (879)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our recent trip to Key West and I have to say I'm a little disappointed. We were looking for something a little more luxurious and instead felt nickel and dimed for everything, from parking ($20) to breakfast ($25 for some bagels and drinks) to the "resort fee" ($25 for amenities we didn't even use.)

There was nothing really luxurious about our traditional room, either. It's a step up from your average hotel room, but nothing amazing. No balcony and street/parking lot view. Snowy nonHD TV with few channels (the sound suddenly cut off at 11pm - hotel 'feature' or someone complained? not sure, but we were never advised and didn't have it on too loud.) Small bathroom. Late check in (4pm) though they did let us check in a little early. Rocky, murky beach - it shouldn't even be called a beach. It's a very rocky shoreline with some white sand and beach chairs for tanning only. It's also a little far from the action with nothing very interesting close by.

To be fair, the good:
Friendly staff
Nice lobby, patio, and pool areas
Clean room
We had a coffee pot, water, and small fridge - but I didn't make any coffee for fear of being charged.


Overall not a bad hotel room, it's just really overpriced for what it is especially compared to cheaper hotels elsewhere that are more inclusive. Not the best value - next time I'll stay somewhere else and wouldn't recommend it to friends/family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear StrawberryFL,

Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay. We strive to provide personalized experiences for each of our guests, and are always actively looking for ways keep costs fair while offering the finest in luxury accommodations and service. Your review lets us know we need to reassess guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. I hope you will consider giving us another chance to share with you our commitment to satisfaction in all areas of the guest experience.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok, I am a bit of a snob when it comes to travel. I love a deal anytime but I need to be sleep in luxury. The WA delivered it. Although we ate our meals in town it was so nice to come "home" to the WA. It was so nice to have staff everywhere. I loved the beach service. I need to thank Andrew & Brandie for making sure we were comfortable everyday. They both made incredible recommendations, made sure our "spot" on the beach was there for us. Both Andrew & Brandie made our vaca special by making us feel special. Laura

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

My husband, sister, and brother in law, and I all booked a last minute vacation to escape the winter blues. Casa Marina was the perfect choice to transport us to instant paradise. Felt like we were in the Caribbean. The grounds, pools, and beach were gorgeous. Beautiful interior design. And above all the staff was very friendly, specifically we were lucky to get taken care of by a top notch pool crew of Andrew and Brandie...their energy made it obvious they loved their jobs and made us feel right at home in paradise. We will be back!! :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Casa Marina for 3 days, on Sep 2012. This resort is so lovely, staff is so kind, private beach is soo nice, that I am looking forward to come back soon.The location is very good, nearby all restaurants. You can go for a bike ride easily.

Room Tip: Ocean View is amazing. Just in front of the beach. I don' t suggest any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Stayed here Jan 5-7th and very pleased I didn't spend money but used Hilton Honey points. When I entered the room the hotel had an envelope for another guest. I called the front desk and asked if I had been placed in an incorrect room. They said, "no, we apologize and throw away the envelope." The room smelled mildewy and probably why someone refused to be in it. The room was nothing special. We opted to have breakfast the next morning at the hotel restaurant and waited 10-15 minutes to be met. Smoking is allowed outside and really a downer for those that don't appreciate. I purchased a "bottomless" bloody mary and didn't discover that until after I paid the bill.

The bathroom floor still contained hair from the previous guest or guests.

The beach and pool were nice. But food and drink are over-priced for what you receive. That service is outsourced and not managed by the hotel. You have to chase the service staff if you're in need of food or drink. But apparently, they offer "free water" and afternoon treats. While on the beach from 1030am - 430pm, didn't see any of that.

Can't imagine spending my hard earned money to stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't. Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Karen d,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for feedback regarding your recent visit to Casa Marina Resort. Our goal is to provide our guests with great food, great service, and a fun, relaxing and beautiful atmosphere. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered while staying with us. We do work hard to establish high standards of food quality and guest service, and I am sorry to learn that we failed to achieve these results.

We have shared your feedback with our operating teams helping them identify specific service breakdowns. Training is a continual process for us; therefore your feedback is being used directly with the teams involved. We thank you for caring enough to share your experiences.

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Do not waste you time or money on this hotel, from entering the door it was a let down. Our expectations were high when considering the reputation of the Waldorf however that term should not be used with this hotel. We were greeted by a disrespectful and non caring staff with an even worse room. We paid premium dollars for a below standard room. We booked a suite and were given a closet. The side building we were put in looked and felt like a motel in which you walk through the pool area to get to your room. The room was dirty, coffee machine did not work and to beat all we had to buy our on toilette paper, never again. We visited the hotel for our 30th Wedding anniversary and were very sad we picked the quote “resort”. We planned on the weekend stayed one day and that was one day to long. This was the worst hotel and staff that we have ever stayed in and we have traveled all over the world. Very sad to see a beautiful icon such as this treated in this manner.

Room Tip: Do not go to this hotel, the staff do not care we were treated like a number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear 071157,

We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Casa Marina Resort. If you would like to discuss your stay please contact me at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com for personalized service. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team. It is the feedback of guests such as you that assist us in the training of associates.

Kind Regards,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.