We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Rates from $249
Ranked #22 of 41 hotels in Key West
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped by because we were staying at the Reach and had access to the facilities here at Casa Marina also. We did not check it out until the day that we were leaving but were so glad that we stopped by before heading back home. The grounds are gorgeous. We stopped at the beach bar for a cold refreshment and were surprised to see John, Ricardo and Patrick working on the beach here too! They have beautiful firepits with comfortable seating around them on the beach. When we come back next year we are going to come in the evening to sit by the fire pit. They serve nice drink samples on the beach too, really nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,968 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,065
    993
    509
    238
    163
See reviews for
950
1869
63
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (835)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Powell, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Get better help at the outdoor bar and restaurant. I am on vacation when I go there and think the staff should do their best to help me and everyone else there have nothing but a great time. The younger wait staff was excellent but the older women who worked in each of these venues were indifferent (restaurant) and rude (bar)-- both outside. Otherwise, all other staff were great and the hotel itself is lovely.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for a family break. It was very relaxing and the hotel beach and location were better than I expected. The views of sunrise and sunset were sensational and the beach was gorgeous. Plenty of beach chairs and attentive staff. We were far enough from the crush of Duvall Street to avoid it if we wanted but near enough to enjoy the restaurants, shops and attractions. We rented bikes at the hotel and would bike around town during the day.
The hotel was very nice and our ocean vista suite was comfortable with plenty of space for the five of us. Breakfasts and the pool bar had wonderful servers and food. The staff was friendly and always helpful. Everything throughout the hotel was exceptionally clean and new.
I was happy to sit on the beach each day. The staff was always willing to make sure I had everything I ever needed.
It was a perfect break and a wonderful setting.

Room Tip: Oceanvista suite was situated right on the beach with a wonderful view of sunrise. No noise from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Casa Marina offers a quiet relaxing atmosphere in Key West. The hotel staff was excellent and our room was well appointed and included a large balcony overlooking the resort. We used Hilton points for our stay, which was fortunate, as the rates are a little above average in price. The walk into town is quite pleasant, but approximately 1.5 miles. Bicycling is an excellent choice for getting around in Key West, so bring your own or rent one. The oceanfront location of Casa Marina is beautiful, BUT, I would caution anyone that thinks they are getting typical Florida beachfront. When thinking of Key West, you need to think of coral reefs, not long sandy beaches with great waves. That said, they keep the 'beach' area well-maintained and pleasant. The food we enjoyed at Casa Marina was reasonably priced and plentiful. Casa Marina is a charming resort in the delightful and historic city of Key West.

Room Tip: Get a room in the center of the hotel with a large balcony, if you can afford it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent Christmas at the Casa Marina and it was perfect... beautiful private beach (which was great as there's not many of them around) excellent food and drink- especially on Christmas day- the buffet was incredible!, nice pools, very friendly staff, close to southernmost point and Duval Street which is full of restaurants and bars etc (and is in walking distance despite what the taxi/bike taxi people tell you!). I would suggest looking elsewhere for watersports rather than the company on site as you can hire bikes just around the corner for much cheaper as well as rent jet ski's etc- but they still weren't unreasonable. I really cant recommend this hotel highly enough- sophisticated yet relaxed with nice little touches here and there such as sand sculptures, complimentary ice lollies/drink of the day/fruit, coffee machine in the room, beautiful balconies and daily activities such as volley ball and necklace making for kids (or childish adults such as ourselves!)

Room Tip: It is SO worth paying extra/requesting a beach/pool view- its stunning in the evenings with the worl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't recommend the Casa Marina highly enough. Although there are some persistent problems (see more below), it is by far the best place to stay on Key West.

The location can't be beat. On the quiet part of the island, it is close to Duval Street and many restaurants. It is an easy walk to the other side of the island, or the cab will take you wherever you want to go.

The service is excellent. Front desk, pool staff, bar staff - all top notch.

Rooms are a decent size. Last year we stayed in a "Grand Ocean Vista" room which was a bit tight but made up for it with a huge balcony. This year we opted for an "Ocean Vista" room, which was a bit larger and had a nice sized balcony facing the ocean.

Some issues that management really should resolve.....
- It seemed that housekeeping was always late. We would be out of the room from 9-4 every day, and sometimes the room would still not be made up by the time we got back.
- Food and drink at the pool are way over priced, even for a Waldorf. Also, it's not that good to begin with. And, if you want a burger, you have to pay extra for any side items, which doesn't seem to make sense.

We'll be back next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We visited Casa Marina on our honeymoon a couple of years ago and returned now during the Christmas holidays to spend a relaxing break in Key West. Casa Marina was as wonderful as it was the first time. The rooms were spacious and clean, the views over the ocean spectacular. We really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: I recommend rooms looking over the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.