We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything seemed to be in order” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50/Night Resort Reward
Ranked #21 of 40 hotels in Key West
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Everything seemed to be in order”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The front desk was helpful and seemed sincerely wanting to help guests. The room was small but adequate. The TV was too small for being as far away from the bed as it was. Coffee maker also didn't work in my room or was too difficult to figure out. Banquets staff was on point all day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,954
    915
    476
    222
    145
See reviews for
884
1751
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When we walked into the lobby I have to say that I was a little disapointed. As Hilton Gold/Elite members, I love to be wowed by a wonderful lobby to begin our vacation. It is beautiful but less than I expected by the price that we had to pay for the rooms. The rooms are spacious and updated. We had a pool and ocean view and it was lovely but....as my header indicates, timing is everything I think. The ocean water was very murky and rather gross...smelled even. As most people know, Key West is not known for great beaches but this is why I stayed here for one of the few beaches in Key West. I would not go in the water and hope it was just a storm that stirred everything up!. I have been to Key West many times and the water is usually so carribean looking that you would think that is where you are but NOT this time! Yuck. So, more about the hotel... There were two weddings that woke me with loud yelling outside at the pool. It is a walk to Duval Street that is NOT lit well if you are walking home after dark. My daughter and I were scared to death walking in pitch darkness on some of the side streets. We came back to the hotel to have to walk through a wedding to get to our room. These are just situations you don't expect at this type of resort. The staff was very helpful and nice. Would I stay here again? Maybe...the water would have to be clean enough to swim in....as many other hotels closer to Duval Street seem to be calling my name now.

Room Tip: For sure get ocean view if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my second review of the Casa Marina, and I'm sure not my last. As usual the place was beautiful with one of the best beach fronts in Key West!

This year we stayed in a room that was a combination of oceanfront and pool front, and although it was not our first choice but we will definitely want that room the next trip. We were ground floor and could walk directly to the pool or tiki bar from our room.

And I want to give BIG KUDOS to Casa Marina for having amenities that guest expect to use and get to use - I am finding that too many properties (many of them Hiltons) have pool bars, lobby bars, tiki bars and pools that open too late, if at all, and are poorly staffed.You can't justify a blanket resort fee and not have these basic amenities available. I LOVE CASA MARINA BECAUSE THIS PLACE IS LUXURIOUS AND STILL OPEN FOR BUSINESS!

The only suggestion I have is that we came down this time for a very special occasion and tried to reach out to the concierge for help but received very little but the name of a former employee who was a concierge there (who was fabulous) - that's weak for a property like this.

But all in all so looking forward to the next time!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms between 1200 and 1210 are fantastic and offer the views and setting I described
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear anastassia27,

Kudos to you for your good taste! We can't wait to see you again! I would be happy to help you with your next stay. Please contact me at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com for any assistance you may need. I look forward to helping you.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I stayed at the Casa Marina for the first time this past weekend. The room I stayed in was quite small, however the rest of the hotel was so beautiful so I did not mind. John at the pool was so accommodating and just a pleasure to be around. All in all my stay was great. However, when I returned home it was a different story. I found that my credit card had been charged an extra night. No big deal I thought, I'll just call and have them remove the charge. When I called I spoke to a woman named Sherise (she was working the switchboard so she was not front desk staff) She was rude right from the start. I explained to her my problem and her response was there is nothing I can do to help. I asked her to connect me to someone that could and she told me I would have to call back tomorrow. I then asked if there was another number I could call or an email address as I am a teacher and cannot make phone calls from work. Her response was "don't give me attitude" and she hung up on me. I called back and asked to speak to a manager and she hung up on me a second time. I have never been treated so poorly by hotel staff. I am completely put off by this hotel and would not stay here again. I am completely surprised that Hilton would have someone with such a poor attitude work for their hotels. :(

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear KNP_11,

Thank you for your candid review. We are glad you enjoyed our beautiful hotel and pleasing interaction with John at the pool. We will be sure to pass this on to him. We are very sorry you were not satisfied with your experience when calling about your bill. Along with all of our guest's reviews, your comments are part of our continuous training program for our staff. We appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayzata, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

After getting married at the resort in 1997, we "vowed" that it would always be our special place. We even named our 30' SeaRay the "Casa Marina"! We just visited again, celebrating our 15th anniversary there. The staff (from Kasha Nowak, the manager, her amazing staff to the bellmen) absolutely did EVERYTHING they could to make it special! We enjoyed a couples' massage on the beach, Mark arranged a delightful (and thrilling!) jet-ski tour of the island/scenery, they placed special chairs for us at the beach, they gave us an amazing room with a fantastic view of the ocean, we had a romantic dinner on the sand, and the list goes on and on. They helped plan it all. Go there. You will NEVER regret it. And we hope it becomes YOUR favorite place, as well. Cheers!

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a bathtub room, if that is important to you. You will not be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The first person I really chatted with was Graeham from Ireland, one of the Barefoot Billy staff. What a charming accent from a great guy. I could have talked with him all week long. He made us feel at home, like we were friends, and very welcome. Brandy, another Barefoot Billy staffer was fun and friendly and really great at remembering names. We missed Graeham (hope I'm spelling it correctly) when he was off for two days to celebrate his birthday. But, John and Patrick filled the void nicely. There wasn't a thing all these folks would not do to make us comfortable while enjoying the beautiful twin pools and the beach. Alex, and Eric were wonderful waiters. We enjoyed a meal at the fire pit. Manuel A. took the time to rescue some roses from one of many fabulous arrangements around the hotel and presented them to me. Charming man. Darrin the bartender was terrific! Absolutely loved him. He and Robin made quite the pair taking care of all of us around the bar. His recommendation for the fish taco was super! I had them twice during my stay. Delish! Oh, and the sweet potato fries were to die for. Darrin was great company and a perfect bartender. We were traveling with a friend who needed to heat a therapeutic heating pad. I asked the front desk staff if they could get him a microwave for his room. It was delivered in less than ten minutes. While enjoying ourselves by the firepit, the restaurant stafff was kind enough to microwave his heating pad. Everyone took great care of us!

Our room was beautiful. The cleaning staff kept it spotless. Never got any of their names, but kudos! Great job ladies! You can really make a wonderful bed and a super clean room.

If you stay here, take the time to really look at the photos around the resort. So much history in the place.

The beach is really nice. I enjoyed lazing around in the hammocks. The groundskeepers do a wonderful job of grooming the beach and the gardens surrounding the hotel. Really lovely.

I didn't attend any , but witnessed several weddings during our stay. Casa Marina does weddings really well.

Only three negatives: I really wish coffee was complementary all morning long. It was until 6:30 a.m. which is okay for early risers like me, but not so good for folks who like to sleep in a bit longer while on vacation in paradise. I wasn't keen on the in-room coffee maker. I would have loved to open our windows; they were painted shut. And, finally, the art on the hallway walls made us all feel like our vision was out of focus.

We enjoyed our stay very much. It's a lovely facility, but the people who work there really make it special. Thanks to you all!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Casa Marina for 4 nights with our 2 college student children and had a wonderful holiday in beautiful Key West! We explored the island at length and decided Casa Marina is definitely the place for us. After reading on-line reviews, we decided to take the two hour wave runner tour starting on the beach in front of the hotel at Barefoot Billy's rentals. Despite some chilly, rough water and a pretty decent breeze (it was late November!), we had lots of fun and were so happy to have done it! We also rented stand up paddleboards, kayaks, and bicycles - twice! Bikes are definitely the way to get around the island. We also enjoyed the well equipped fitness center across the street from CM and great breakfasts and lunches on the outdoor patios. We ate all of our dinners at restaurants around town and found Louie's Backyard (a short walk from the hotel) to be the ultimate spot for a celebratory dinner. We also enjoyed Blackfin Bistro, the Rooftop Cafe (home of the original key lime pie) and Thai Life, a floating restaurant for the more adventurous sorts. All were well worth the effort. We visited the Hemingway house where we had a great guided tour and did the same sort of tour at the Little White House where we learned a lot about former President Truman. Both should not be missed. We thought the trip was, from start to finish, a great success!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina
Casa Marina Key West
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Romantic Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.