We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice rooms, nice service around pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$100 Resort Credit
Ranked #28 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Middlesex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, nice rooms, nice service around pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel was lovely, nice setting away from the hustle and bustle of Duvall street but close enough to walk in if you wanted to. We stayed in an ocean suite and the room was fine. Nice lounge area, and bathroom. Bedroom not massive but ok. Walls where the adjoining doors was seemed quite thin on our last day, but did not cause major problem. The pools were lovely, albeit a bit cold! Waiters were fab at the bar and restaraunts. Loved the midday drink of the day, the 2pm Popsicle and the 4pm frozen towels!!! Nice touch! Beach was cleaned up everyday and although not the best beach for swimming, nice to laze around on. Not much to do in the evenings and very quiet, but that was also quite nice. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,593
    1,260
    671
    317
    215
See reviews for
1,281
2,356
72
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,098)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had fun on jet skis with Jake the tour guide around Key West. The 90 minute tour was fantastic. Our guide was knowledgeable, personable, and safety conscience. A 75 year old woman was in our group and she had a blast. Fun for all ages.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Could not give me the accommodation I asked for, and was promised by the VIP manager. Most of the beach sand was washed away leaving coral rock and stones to walk on. The beach chairs must have been free or on sale as they were impossible to get comfortable in. The rooms are tired and old, and with hard surface floors you can hear all the noise from furniture being moved and chairs sliding from the room above. The present owners need to put some money into the place if the are going to charge the rates, resort fees and attempt to live up to the former reputation of the Casa Marina

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
176 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was my 3rd visit to the Casa Marina. In general my vacation was very enjoyable. However considering the Waldorf Astoria name and expense of staying there; I feel compelled to share the following issues:

However large and clean; room was minimumly furnished and not pretty. The only padded piece of funiture was a broken down/ripped easy chair.
Espresso machine sucked! Would of perferrred coffee.
Bathroom lighting is poor. Cheap, old hair dryer was burning out.
Visable rust on vanity and mirror. Signs of black mold on bath tile. No active ventilation/fan either.
Elevator mechanism is extremely loud and/or lacking any sound proofing. Heard all hours of the day/night...
Pool H2O service was spotty at best. never enouph drink samples, ice pops, etc... Abandoned towels everywhere left for hours.
Never saw any drink runners for guests around pool. Completely ignored by all staff while sitting at the fire pits???
Doorman/vales seem in short supply. Twice with luggage and no one to open doors or assist.
No visable security; anyone has access to the entire property, elevators and guest floors.

Comparred to other "nicer" island hotels and considering the gerneral relaxed standards of Key West; the Casa Marina works. However would never recommend to some expecting the higher standards of other Waldorf Astoria properties...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is an excellent hotel with an outstanding pool area, in very large part due to Brandie M! She puts the Capital "A" in awesome! She's a fantastic worker, not merely a people person, but a true people pleaser! I will definitely keep returning as long as she works there! I spent 90% percent of my stay by the pool/beach area, and she always made sure everything was just right! I've seldom met a more pleasant, agreeable or harder worker anywhere!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Casa Marina is away from the bustle and noise of Mallory Square and Duval Street, but easily within walking distance. We had stayed on the other side of Key West on several occasions, but we will return to the Casa Marina for its location, service, and ambiance.

The service was the key factor - very attentive and helpful. The room (Ocean Vista) was small but nice. It was made to seem larger due to the expansive deck and great view of the water.

The ocean view, access to the beach, and the pool areas, really made the property seem very large and inviting. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Get the ocean vista rooms that have a deck - they are on the second floor of the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I have very mixed feelings about this hotel. Normally we only stay at a B&B when visiting Key West but we thought that we give Casa Marina a try. On one hand, it is a beautiful property and has great views of the ocean from the pool and patio area. On the other hand, the customer service is not what you would expect from a Waldorf and if you are a Hilton Diamond member, like me and are used to the usual member benefits, do not expect many at this property.

The good

Like I said it is a gorgeous old property which is obviously been renovated. You could not find a better setting in Key West. The hotel is located on the quiet side of the island, far away from the crowds and noise of Duval Street. The views of this hotel are hard to beat, especially if you have a room facing the ocean or if you are on the patio. The front desk staff was very nice and I was upgraded to a one-bedroom suite upon arrival at 5 PM. Unfortunately, our room was not ready at that time so they gave us a $60 credit for the restaurant/bar and asked us to go sit in the patio bar while they readied our room. Within 30 minutes I received a call from the front desk to let me know that our room was ready. We were taken along with our luggage to well-appointed and roomy one-bedroom suite located in the building closest to the ocean and in a very quiet part of the complex. That is where the positives end.

The bad

What stands out for me the most is that this is a hotel that nickel and dimes you death with very little in to show in return and when you complain they come off as very condescending. They charge a hefty $25 per day resort charge ($15 Gold/Diamond) for use of their amenities such as the pool, fitness center and outdoor games. This is a daily charge that gets added to your room whether you use the amenities or not. There is no courtesy shuttle to and from the airport as is customary with other hotels. There is no shuttle to the old town as do many other hotels in Key West have. If you want to move around you will either have to rent a car or use taxis.

If you are a Hilton Diamond member do not expect the usual benefits of a Diamond membership. The only standard Diamond benefit that you will receive here is free Internet and let me not forget the $15 a day discounted “resort charge”. This hotel does not have an executive lounge or does it offer free breakfast to Diamond or Gold members like all other Hilton properties. When I inquired about this at the front desk the response was we do not have an executive lounge or offer refunds because this is a Waldorf, not a Hilton. Really?

Outside of one young man who worked in the front desk who is always very nice and tried to help us several times, they have a staff that seemed poorly trained, uncaring, surly, condescending and even argumentative at times. An example of this was when we called the front desk and asked for two foam pillows to be brought up to our room because of allergies. When the hotel worker got to our room, he preceded to hand me two duck feather pillows. I politely told him that these were not foam but were duck feather pillows and that we had asked for foam pillows. He then told me that I was wrong and that they were foam pillows. I then grabbed one of the pillows turned it around and showed him the label on the side of the pillow so that the he could see that said “down duck feather” pillow but he continued to argue with me that they were foam pillows so I took the pillows and asked him to leave. I then took the pillows to the front desk myself and told them what happened. They apologize and assure me that I would have the pillows within an hour. Two days later I finally got one foam pillow.

The rest of the staff, specially the bartenders seem sourly and give you the impression that they do not like to work there. I guess it all came to light for me the morning that we checked out. The person that handled our check out was a manager. When I walked up to the desk she greeted me and asked if we had enjoyed our stay. I responded by saying that it was a gorgeous property and that we had enjoyed our stay but that there were several things that needed improvement. I was shocked when she did not look up nor asked what needed to improve. Apparently she was not interested in what I had just said which is exactly what the problem is at his hotel. If management does not care, why would you think that their staff would? It is this general lack of care and flippant attitude that bothered me most during this stay. I would like to add that I am not an occasional traveler. I travel weekly and have stayed at some of the best properties in this country. I do not want to be catered to constantly or groveled over. Nor do I think this is a bad hotel. But I do expect a certain standard when you call yourself a Waldorf and charge accordingly. I have stayed at the Waldorf in New York City and in Orlando several times in the past and received exceptional service. This property needs to greatly improve their customer service or drop the name Waldorf/Hilton altogether. As for me and my wife, we will continue returning to Key West every other month but is very doubtful we will stay at this property again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Tiki_Pirate,

Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. The comfort of our guests is our first priority, and I appreciate your sharing your concerns regarding the services you received during your stay. We are actively working with our housekeeping staff to ensure that lack of service never interferes with the singular Waldorf luxury experiences we promise our guests, and I will keep your review in mind as we look toward refresh options. For our diamond and gold members, each Waldorf Astoria provides a property specific benefit. Thank you again for your feedback, and I invite you to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the area. Please contact me at steven.tresh@waldorfastoria.com for personal service.

Sincerely,

Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Southernmost on the Beach
2.9 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.7 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
1.8 mi away
Sunset Key Cottages, A Luxury Collection Resort, Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#12 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.