We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, not such great service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit + 3x Points
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Key West
Edinburgh
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great property, not such great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This resort is beautiful and a huge amount of cash has clearly been invested in the property. The waterfront setting is terrific and Key West is a special place.

However, I was left disappointed by the standard of service at the resort. The staff at the pool side bar were surly to the point of rudeness but the front desk staff, concierge and doormen all need to raise their game too. As a visitor from the UK, I generally find staff at US resorts in this price bracket to be outstanding. That wasn't the case here.

We stayed in a very spacious and pleasant one bedroom suite, next to a guest room which was being used to provide spa services. This seemed odd. Why aren't such services delivered in a purpose built area? It wouldn't have troubled me but the ladies working in the spa sat outside our bedroom window from breakfast time on Sunday morning making telephone calls.

In fairness, I hadn't expected a top quality room as I had used Hotwire to make the booking. The Casa Marina appears as a Hot Rate hotel on this website. Do some detective work when booking and you can save a bundle on the advertised rates.

Room Tip: Do everything you can to get a room facing the ocean. Rooms on the ground floor / first floor get mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,356
    1,144
    594
    288
    191
See reviews for
1,143
2,129
66
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (988)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

When you get to the Casa be sure to look these gentleman up they will totally take care of you wow!!! Ice pops sprays sunglasses cleaning free drink to much to mention Patrick is the front desk prince Bob and Mark cabana boys are the best we will be back

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

If you get to stay in a room with a view, balcony and a bath tub you will not agree with this review. For everybody else, stay away from this place! With $25 for parking, $15 for resort fee, $50 breakfast (for 2) you are looking at 100 bucks a night in addition to the 60000 points you just spent here. It's not worth it even with the following advantages:

Amazing beach - hammocks, sun chairs and towels
Great location - easy walk to Duval
Prestigious and historic
Complimentary refreshing flavored water

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Spend a few days there and I fully recommend Casa Marina for a holiday with kids. Beautifull surroundings, large pools, great food. I think that the rooms need to be refreshed, but the rest is really perfect. Beautifull and worth its price hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had planned this as a 25th anniversary get away and we could not have made a better choice. I talked to the property in advance about a HHOnors Diamond Upgrade which they accomdated and when we arrived there was a bottle of champagne and a note from the resort manager. The rooms were well appointed and stylish as well as spotless. Service is prompt, exacting, and invisible. We ate several meals there and the food great. Breakfast/lunches/and dinners were all superb. Again, invisible exacting service. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have been a frequent visitor since the late 1970's . Formerly, I was not a huge fan of either The Reach ( sister property) or the rooms at The Casa. However it has been revamped and an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Of course go for a water view! Their holiday brunch is not to be missed! Pricey ($60) but jumbo st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

The service at the Casa Marina is AMAZING! Everyday Mark reserved us chairs on the beach, came around with free drinks of the day, cleaned our sunglasses, and much more! Can not say enough - made our trip that much more relaxing! Rooms were great, and cleaned twice a day. Food was great. Overall amazing experience!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#8 Spa Hotel in Key West
#10 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.