We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, shame about the prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Save Saved
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50/Night Resort Reward
Ranked #21 of 40 hotels in Key West
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, shame about the prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

It is certainly a great location, clearly well managed with helpful, smiling staff everywhere you go, but overpriced. The wifi is a total disaster it is so slow and unreliable. After KW, I stayed at the Hilton at Miami airport where the wifi could not be faulted. I had dinner in Strip at the adjacent Hilton property; the meal was mediocre and the service well below par.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,954
    911
    476
    222
    144
See reviews for
881
1751
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
DENVER
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We arrived 11-09-12 to the Casa Marina for a anniversary celebration. Our suite (2010) was a beautiful room which provided a bedroom/ bathtub shower/ living area with dining and seating as well as balcony with view of pools and beach...Perfect! Our room was cleaned and supplies refreshed better than we could expect by Arciabell... great maid. At the Sun Sun Bar Robin provided great drinks and conversation. Dining at the beach area was also pleasant and received wonderful service from Ian. On the beach and pool area Kerry, John, Ian, and Graham treated us so very well! We plan to return to the Casa Marina again next year, we love Key West and feel that there is no better Resort on Key West as far as beach, rooms, and overall service! We expected world class service and received what we hoped.

Room Tip: We have been in three rooms at the Casa, all Ocean view. One being a suite which we enjoyed the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Key West is a wonderful place for a vacation. Weather was awesome, Duval Street offers such a variety of bars, shops, restaurants, tours, etc. Sunset cruise is a definite must as well. If you are looking for a pure beach vacation, Key West is probably not your first choice. But if you want some beach time, bar time, night life, water activity, fishing, and great weather in the U.S. then Key West is for you. Kind of reminds me of a far cleaner Bourbon Street with a beach. Lot of walking in Key West so you should keep that in mind.

Casa is the best hotel property on the island in my opinion. Close enough to Duval to walk but distant enough to afford seclusion. The hotel amenities were very nice. The two pools, beach area, spa, and jet ski / water activities all on property were very convenient. Very good exercise facility. Service was generally top shelf although you sometimes did wonder who was in charge of the staff. Property is very clean but also has some age on it. It is pricey - meals are $25 per person minimum on hotel property. Drinks close to $10 each. Also, important to note...all hotel charges already contain 18% gratuity, and not one member of the staff is going to point that out to you. So if you slap a standard 20% tip on the ticket (which I did a couple of times before realizing) you have tipped 38%.

We spent half the trip at Casa and half at the other Waldorf property, The Reach. Both are very nice, but Casa is superior in all aspects. It should be noted however that you can use either hotel's amenities irrespective of which property your room is in.

We will definitely return to Key West. Definitely will consider Casa again but may also look at a condo next time.

Room Tip: Get beach / pool side room. You can see the sunrise in the morning and the sunlight filtering into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Brandie and Gramah were the most awesome people. They need to be duplicated and sent to every resort. Brandie made us feel so special and she was so efficient. We will definitely be looking for her when we return to Key West.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I continue to experience excellent attention at the Casa especially from the cabana and pool staff. They cater to your complete comfort from setting up chair service to cool refreshments and even cleaning smudges from your sunglasses. Kudos to Bob and Mark for outstanding customer service

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Love this property. very clean, beautiful rooms. Off the beaten path, but a good walk or short cab ride to downtown. Nice beach. The breakfast buffet was a little pricey for us, so we had an omelette off the menu and it was huge. This was our second stay here, and we will definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose to stay at the Casa Marina for our annual Meeting of the Minds fund raiser, but we were not prepared for the additional charges that were not explained before we finalized the reservation. First, they tacked in a $25.00 per night resort charge for using their (unheated) pool with NO WHIRLPOOL! Then they tacked on an $18.00 per night self parking charge, or a $25.00 per night valet parking charge. so the $199.00 per night basic room fee actually became a $243.00 per night charge for the basics. And this does not cover the fact that there was no free coffee. The free expresso was the grossest thing we have ever tried, like drinking cardboard coffee in a cup.

The fact is that you could get out of the parkig charge by parking on the street just on the other side of the wall from the self park lot, and they did provide our group with a free shuttle to get back anf forth from the hotel to the Key West facilities, but the down side will never offset the extra charges. In the future, we will booka room at the Truman Annex.

Room Tip: Avoid this tourist trap, and book at the Truman Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve T, Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear forthlin,

We appreciate your feedback in regards to your recent stay at Casa Marina Resort. We have shared your feedback in regards to your expectations of Waldorf Astoria Resorts with our management team.

Kind Regards,
Steven Tresh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina
Casa Marina Key West
Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Key West
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a $43 million renovation complete, this Mediterranean-inspired resort sits on a 1,100-foot private beach. The historic beachfront resort, combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated new accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.