We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Per Night
Ranked #26 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed at the Casa Marina for our honeymoon and the property was absolutely breathtaking. The beach was incredible and the service was excellent. We stayed in the Ocean Vista One Bedroom Suite. It was spacious and comfortable, the bed literally felt like you were sleeping in a cloud and the view was amazing as the rooms are right on the ocean. We drove all around the island and I have to say this was the best hotel by far on the entire island. We have traveled to several different places and stayed at numerous hotels and this hotel was the only hotel that we said we were absolutely coming back to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,456
    1,193
    628
    306
    198
See reviews for
1,203
2,231
69
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,037)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for a business conference and for that reason it was perfect. However, I would not visit this property for a vacation. The value is low if you do not have an ocean front room. My view was actually a wall and a "partial parking lot view". While I do like the room, it was very comfortable, spacious, and the hardwood floors are a great touch. The bathroom is ridiculously small. This irked me more when I realized how much of the room is just wasted space. There is a sitting area next to the closet that serves no purpose. You have at least 5' of space between the bed and the wall and about 10' between the foot of the bed and the TV. Whoever did the renovation placed all the emphasis on space and figured that nobody would care that you can barely turn around or close the door to the bathrooms. Just a silly room design. If you visit this property, see a room and remember "wasted space" , you will know just what I mean.

The grounds are gorgeous and it is nice being next to the "Reach". There is not much of a dining selection other than the lobby and pool bars. The location leaves a bit to be desired as a walk to Duval would be a haul. In addition, they need to monitor their taxi drivers more carefully to avoid those that will take you on a wild goose ride. I've visited KW dozens of times so I know my way around. The first night the cabbie took us on a circular ride that took about 15 mins longer than it should have. I called him out on it, and told the valet manager the next day, gave him his cab #, description, etc. He said he would make sure he didn't allow the cab back, next night, guess who tried to pick us up again>?

That aside, this is a nice hotel. but the value is poor, service average, and location below average.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We recently spent a week at the Casa Marina Resort in Key West, Florida. Our son had vacationed at the resort several months earlier with his fiance. They decided to hold their wedding at this beautiful hotel. We brought 32 guests for the event. We were all treated like royalty. We heard the same remark from guests we met at the beach, the pool, and the bar. No one had a negative thing to say about the staff or the hotel.

The staff at the front desk were helpful, friendly, and went out of their way to accomodate our every need. If you need a taxi, the bell hops and valets will have one for you within 10 minutes. And very inexpensive, too. The pool attendants waited on us constantly. We had towels, water, drinks, etc. without ever having to ask twice. Rob was my personal favorite. He's witty, friendly, and takes the time to get to know your needs. The bartenders at the Sun Sun were wonderful! Darren was my favorite. He would personally deliver your food, drinks, etc. Very friendly and funny. And --- they ask your first name and remember it! Made us all feel special and appreciated.

The wedding coordinator was fabulous! It rained all day on our son's wedding day. He had planned an outdoor beach wedding at 6 PM. The coordinator had the ball room set up and readyjust in case we needed it. At 5:45, my son made the decision that his fiance was going to have her beach wedding even if we had to stand in the rain. The coordinator and the hotel staff scurried to set up everything outdoors and were waiting with umbrellas to hold over everyone. The wedding started on time, the rain stopped immediately, the sun came out, and we had a beautiful rainbow during the entire ceremony! Gorgeous....

The rooms are spotless, the beds are comfy, free espresso in your room, flat screen TV's, luxurious soaps, shampoos, lotions, etc., The housekeeping staff makes sure you have fresh towels, your bed is made and turned down at night, and replenish the espresso, cups, and water every morning. The balconies have chairs and a table. Our room was a one bedroom suite with a dining area, a living room, a large bathroom, and a good sized separate bedroom. Very tastefully decorated, too.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone! We had three little ones with us. 4, 5, and 6 years old. They had a blast! The hotel even has licensed babysitters --- thank you!!! We used this service on one evening so the adults to go on a very fun bar crawl down Duval Street. The entertainment in Key West is nonstop. There's something for everyone's pleasure. We're definitely going back. SOON!

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room on the 3rd floor. It doesn't get any better than this!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Had a fantastic time! Loved our room (ocean vista with private terrace overlooking the reflecting pools and ocean backdrop), lovely service (Scuba Steve is so sweet and hospitable!! Concierge Kathy and Stacey were quite helpful).
Jetski tour with Tom was amazing!! Arranged through the concierge, left from the hotel pier. Had a spectacular view of the new navy ship, encountered a pack of breeding dolphins, and a relaxing time at the sand bar. Very nice.
Highly recommended. Ideal for luxury travelers who are used to Euro/Manhatten style amenities and service but would like to see the casual styling of Key West.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston,SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

Recently stayed at Casa Marina for convention and stay was very enjoyable. All staff was extremely cordial and accommodating, especially the time spent poolside and on the beach. Graham and Steve were exceptional in their poolside services in making our stay a very relaxing and luxurious experience. Couldn't have been more pleased with the stay! Thanks~

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We checked into the Casa Marina on 09/23/2011. We were booked in an island view room. They only had double beds available, so I opted to upgrade to a king ocean view room for $30.00 more a night. Our room was in the original building on the third floor. The room was very small. The bathroom had only a shower and no tub. The room had three small windows that did not open. There was also a tiny television. Our room looked nothing like the ocean view rooms advertised on the website. The hotel claims that the bed was a california king, but it was the same size as the queen I have at home. We asked to be moved to a different room, but the hotel was booked and could not move us. We left for dinner for about an hour. When we came back there was a fruit plate in the room with a card with someone else's name on it. The final straw for me was that there were ants all over the fruit plate. I promptly went down to the front desk and cancelled my reservation. We stayed at the Marriot beachside instead and had a much better experience for $30 less per night.

Room Tip: I would recommend if you do stay here to stay on the 3rd floor or higher as the music downstairs can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

My Wife and I stayed 4 days and one "get up". Fantastic time, and recommend the hotel. Moved to a 1st floor room off the pool - a great choice. Rob at the pool was amazing. Max and Patrick at the front desk were very helpful in changing rooms. "English" Tom and John were great on the jet ski tour.
The location was perfect for my wife and I but it is a little walk to get to Mallory Square.

Room Tip: pool suite - 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.