We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Place to Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort to your Saves list
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Credit Per Night
Ranked #27 of 46 Hotels in Key West
Laguna Niguel, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Place to Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

My husband & I traveled to Key West for a wedding and booked our hotel at the Casa Marina expecting it to be very pleasant since it was a Waldorf Astoria property. Our 2 bedroom suite was so run down, the furniture looked 30 years old and the couch in the main sitting room was old and and uncomfortable and extremely dirty. There were marks of some sort on the cushions as well as the arm rests. IT WAS DISGUSTING!!! The bathrooms had no counter space and terrible water pressure. Also there is no turn down service, the maid only services the room once per day. Our cable tv upstairs in our bedroom did not work when we arrived and only fixed it our second day there. The worst part of the trip was the room service. It was one of the worst I've ever experienced and we tried to order different things over our 5 days. They start serving at 7:00am, so if you're an early riser, you can't even get coffee. The do not have a continental breakfast and NO ICE CREAM!!! In Key West where it's 90 degrees, HELLO!!! They overcharged me for breakfast, I asked for there breakfast that included 2 eggs, meat, juice, toast for $18.00. I request 3 additional eggs (a la carte). They brought me 3 full breakfasts, charged me extra $10.00 for an english muffin which hadn't been toasted. They tried correcting the bill twice, finally to charge me for 2 breakfasts and the english muffin because each additional egg is $5.00 !!!! I think they've lost their mind! The buffalo wings and salads had so much dressing they were inedible. Oh and the best part is the delivery guy who brought our room service on Friday night looked like he crawled out from working on the air conditioning unit. He looked unshowered and was unshaven, scruffy and his uniform as if he pulled it out of the laundry basket. The good part were the beds were surprisingly comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. Otherwise this hotel was dump. I would never stay here again!!

Room Tip: Go with a B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyWestCasaMarina, Guest Relations Manager at Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to tell everyone your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that your stay was less than a luxurious experience. I would appreciate to hear what we could have done to meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly.


Brandon Kuhn
Assistant Guest Services Manager
bkuhn@luxuryresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,458
    1,195
    629
    306
    198
See reviews for
1,204
2,233
69
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,038)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

There is only one thing wrong with this hotel, and that is the hike that is required to get to the action on Duval street. Other than that, this hotel has it all. The beach, the restaurant inside, the restaurants right next door, the pools. You can take a cab from the airport here and never leave.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I have been traveling to this resort for over 20 years and keep going back because of the outstanding customer service.

Especially the hard working crew out at the pool! Mark, Adam, and Graham really know how to make you feel like royalty even if you are just chatting over a glass of water.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a wonderful Hotel the service is excellent Mark, Thomas,Will and Adam
could not do enought to make our stay great. Its nice to be pampered by the pool and they made sure not to disappoint. Mark did a great job on recommending really good restaurants in the area. I had a great time cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This is a spectacular, historic hotel on the beach in Key West. We had a pool/ocean view suite on the 2nd floor. The room was large and well appointed. We like having a mini fridge in the room for our sodas and snacks. We had no issues with the housekeeping. Our room was designed to be an adjoining room, and as such, we could hear everything going on in the room next to us. Including the spat the couple was having late into the night. A quick phone call to their room number explaining that we could hear the was the end of that issue.

This is grand old dam of a hotel. The architecture and surroundings are magnificent. You will not get a huge bathroom, but you will get mature landscaping with palm trees and quiet, serene surroundings. If you're looking for a 'state of the art' modern hotel - then you need to look elsewhere and let someone who enjoys quiet, stately sophistication have the room.

As others have noted here, the beach staff is phenomenal. Kudos and a shout out to Max on the beach. Couldn't ask for a nicer guy - anywhere. Mark - who is large and in charge - is great as well. They truly made our stay at the Casa Marina an outstanding experience.

Unfortunately, I can't say the same thing for the guys at the bike rental shack - even though they are managed by Mark and are part of the same group as those on the beach, these guys all seem to have a terrible, "can't be bothered if you're not going on a wave runner tour" attitude. The word 'snotty' comes to mind. Rent your bikes off-site. There are PLENTY of bike rental companies that will deliver your bikes to the resort, and charge you LESS than the Casa Marina. More problems with renting our bikes than I can detail here.

Tip - Get the best price you can on Priceline for the hotel (4 star Key West) and then upgrade to the Ocean Vista suite for $40/night when you get there.

Tip - Ditch your car and rent a bike. The Old Town area of Key West is an EASY 10 minute bike ride from Casa Marina. The whole island of Key West is one big bike path. Parking in old town and anywhere close to Mallory Square is a nightmare - but there are bike racks everywhere. I am almost 50 years old, out of shape and have bad knees, and I thoroughly enjoyed the bike.

Be prepared for the $25/day resort fee and $15/day parking fee

Room Tip: Rent a bike and ditch your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

We enjoyed everything about our stay at the Casa Marina. We will definitely be back. Special thanks to "Mark on the Beach" for all his restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

I recently traveled to Key West for the first time with my mother to check out the Casa Marina and other vendors for my wedding in November. From the moment we walked in to the time we left, the service was spectacular and we were in awe of the grounds and view. Patrick at the front desk was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and recognized us each day. Will at the West Beach pool was helpful, professional and funny, and he hustled all day to make sure his guests were taken care of. The service at the pool was spectacular. We were served cold fruit in the morning, a signature cocktail of the day in the afternoon and frozen grapes on skewers as the day was winding down! What a difference those little things made to our experience!

We had a menu tasting with Reina that was divine. She was the best! As was Lubos, who paid attention to our conversation and was able to grab things from the kitchen without us even asking!

After this trip, I can't wait to get married in such a great setting with such great people taking care of us! I hope all the little things we loved remain in November!

Thank you, Casa Marina!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort

Address: 1500 Reynolds St, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#11 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Mediterranean-inspired hotel sits on a 1,100-foot private beach a mile from Duval Street. Our historic beachfront resort combines 1920s ambiance with a chic, contemporary flair, features sophisticated accommodations, complete with LCD televisions, iPod docking stations, and an in-room espresso, coffee, and tea maker. Amenities include: two tropical pools, water-sports activities, spa services, poolside cabanas, Sun/Sun Bar & Grill serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and The Lobby Lounge for tapas and libations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Marina, a Waldorf Astoria Hotel Key West
Waldorf Astoria Key West
The Waldorf Astoria Collection
Casa Marina Resort Key West
Casa Marina Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.