We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Key West
Bedford, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was very disappointed in this hotel. The air conditioning unit kept us up all night. It sounded like a plane was landing in the room. Then, In the morning, we waited an hour for our breakfast that never came. After calling room service again, they delivered breakfast to our room - cold eggs and waffles. We left the room for a few hours and they never picked up the dishes and the room was not cleaned. The ac maintenance guy came up to our room and said we had one of the new air conditioners and apologized for the loud noise but said that alot of people had complained but he couldn't fix the unit. So called the front desk again and asked for our money back. They never apologized nor attempted to rectify any problems. So I assume this happens alot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    318
    105
    43
    26
See reviews for
187
630
19
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My teenage daughters and I spent a wonderful week at this lovely hotel in the heart of Key West.
There's no need for a car as the hotel is in walking distance to all the action on Duval. This was great for my teens as they could walk around on their own. The hotel is nestled is a beautiful location right on the gulf. The room was large and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also wonderful with modern amenities. The food at the Shor restaurant was sensational and we especially loved the breakfast. The management was very visible, welcoming and genuine. It was clear they cared about our stay. The charm of this hotel IS the size so don't expect a gigantic pool with bells and whistles or a large extensive property. Its size is true to the feel of Key West. The check in area is small and the staff was very friendly. Once outside you see hanging wooden baskets filled with orchids and a turtle pond. There is a small beach area where we witnessed 3 weddings in 1 week! Delightful! And yes..the sunset with the beautiful sailboats is breathtaking. We loved every moment and we'll be back..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Perfect place to stay at Key West. The location is perfect. The room was perfect. The restaurant was awesome. The staff was over the top. "Thank you Marshall (Bartender) and Katie (SHOR restaurant)! The wife and I found it hard sometimes to leave the hotel to go on Duval Street. No need to fight the crowd at Malory Square for your sunset either. The view from the hotel is equal if not better. We will be staying here next April.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect spot in Key West if you want easy access to the historic district and to be able to reach Duval Street, Mallory Square, etc. by foot. My husband and I brought our 5 and 2 year old boys. The turtle pool and Macaw were big hits. The pool, albeit very tiny, was a hit as well. The staff was very accommodating and pleasant. Our only complaint was that the rooms were just not kid friendly. They are very modern and beautiful, but..they just aren't practical. We had one of the few rooms with a tub. The design made it so that in order to feel the temp of the water coming from the faucet, you had to climb into the tub. Also, there was no carpeting in the room- only very slippery tile. So you step out of the giant tub and unless you have towels everywhere, you can slip! Coming back to your room from the pool was scary if you were wet, as well. I was paranoid my 2 year old was going to fall out of bed onto such a hard surface! Also, there was a sliding door to the bathroom with no lock. It was sliding open and my boys couldn't resist playing with it. Very little privacy. Despite the above, the hotel, as a whole, was dreamy and delightful. Food at the Shor Restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 1106 has a tub (most rooms only have a shower) and the 'partial ocean view' is exceptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Everything is great , the location is near the museum walking distance to some of the good restaurant, the hotel facilities is clean and well maintained, the spa is great very clean and staff is amazing, hotel front desk is helpful but some of them are fake (gabby) she is rude and she never say hi or smile when we saw her walking towards us , what a shame because she seems so nice when we are checking in .
however some staff is friendly especially the girl from the Philippines in the concierge desk she is a sweetheart she is so polite and professional , since we don't know anything about key west we ask her what to do and where to go, she recommend the spa, some restaurants, museum, and some bars in Duval, she even makes reservation for us. Such an excellent customer service ..we definitely going to recommend Hyatt to our friends and were planning to come back next year ..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel is very well situated although distinctly squeezed on to its position by the sea. If it were a 3 star hotel it would be very good but when one is paying over $700 per night it is underwhelming. The rooms are accessed externally and furnished in a minimalist fashion with tiled floors and no carpets. The air-conditioning is by noisy units rather than built-in system. Paying a sizeable premium gets you a view ( a good on, it must be said) and a larger area of white tiles - but no extra furniture. The compulsory resort charge is an annoyance: why do hotels think that we can be deluded by seeing a lower room rate and a supplement for necessary services?

The restaurant provides a limited menu of reasonable quality but the overwhelming reason to go there is to sit on outside with a view of the boats coming in and out of the harbour. Inside, the decor is as bare as the bedrooms and is not very attractive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerson, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything from check-in to check-out was great. Room was ready early when we arrived at 2pm. View from our room was to the pool and beyond to the gulf. Pool area is not very large but we always found available chairs even during the busy afternoon times. Would highly recommend this hotel as it is also walking distance to most attractions, restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.