We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #12 of 41 hotels in Key West
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a romantic and relaxing stay at the Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa. We rented Jet skis, and relaxed by the pool. It's perfect walking distance from all the attractions. The only downfall is no beachfront/ sand beach to lay on, but there are plenty enough chairs around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us and our potential future guest such great feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy the ambiance of the resort. And make it a romantic memorable experience. The jet ski experience is definitely one of my favorites off our dock which I encourage every Key West visitor to experience. We hope to see you very soon in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    586
    289
    98
    40
    26
See reviews for
166
583
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We arrived at The Hyatt at a particularly busy time because they had only 2 computers available to check anyone in. We were offered champagne or water while we waited in a line in a very small room. It took over 15 minutes for it to be our turn and although there were 4 or more staff people there apparently the use of the 2 computers was key.

After check in we went upstairs to our 4th floor room which had an outside hallway that was open to the weather on either end. It was also noisy with people talking or yelling as they only thought about their being outside and not that these rooms were hotel rooms.

Our room was a long hallway with a closet in the middle and then our large King size bed taking up most of the room at the end of the hall. The room to the right of the bed was a large space with a long counter, sink and then large walk-in shower. A small toilet area was off this area and the bedroom has a pocket door to pull across the bath area. Our view was of the parking lot and was also noisy as the public beach was located there along with a public parking lot.

We did sit by the small pool and the lounges we were on barely had room to have people walk by us. We had a filtered cold water machine by the pool, towels at the ready and even were given cool washcloths by staff. A small hot tub sits across from the pool. A hosted event came with appetizers and drinks on a week night that we were there.

The location at the end of town was very nice and convenient and the parking was included in the daily resort fee. Bed as expected was very comfortable. Someone kept snitching our paper as we were next to the elevator but we never heard it due to the configuration of the room.

The turtles in the pools were fun to walk by coming in and out and all the staff was very pleasant to us. We, unfortunately were here during a cold turn in March. Shops and restaurants are all very close by. We joked that we were at the Northernmost Southernmost Hotel as several hotels designate themselves as Southernmost on the other end of the Island.

Room Tip: For our $400+ a night would have liked a better view and a quieter room. Ask for high but with a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving our trip advisor and potnetial future clientelle such great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the faciltiy and services. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memphis, tn
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We recently stayed at the Hyatt for three nights for a group trip. The hotel itself is pretty nice. It is relatively quiet and relaxing. The staff is extremely friendly and the food is wonderful. Our room was nicely decorated and comfortable, but for some reason, we were booked in a handicap room. Which was a bit weird. The amenities are great...comfy bed, large bathroom, cozy balcony with ocean view, in room fridge, etc. I did have a wonderful massage with a very knowledgable masseuse. The boat, jet ski, bike, and electric car rentals at the resort are a nice touch too. I was not blown away my any means, but overall it was a great place to stay . However, when I found out how much per night the rooms were, I almost had a heart attack. First of all, our balcony not only overlooked the ocean, but the public beach next door as well. On the public beach, you have a nice view of the homeless people that have taken up residence there. The resort itself is kind of small. The pool area was teeny tiny and super crowded. They have chairs packed in there. If you did not get down and claim a seat by 9 am, you were sure not to have anywhere to sit. Also, there is really no beach there. In fact, there is not much of a real beach anywhere in Key West. A few people staying with us drove down to one of the larger public beaches to swim in the ocean. I don't find all of these things to be the fault of the hotel, but for the amount of money the rooms are going for, I would expect things to be a little nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving such great feedback about us. We are glad you found the property relaxing and enjoyed the friendly service. We are definitely close enough to all the fun but far enough to relax. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights for friend's 50th birthday trip. Very nice amenities and location is walking distance to most of Key West attactions, especially Duval Street (bars and restaurants) , trolley rides, and the ocean. Weather didn't allow us to use much of the pool and beach, but looked nice nonetheless. Recommend using Captain Gene and the "High Class Hooker" that is right next door for some awesome fishing!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and giving us your feedback. We are glad you celebrated such a special occasion with us. Our staff is definitely dedicated in providing wonderful service to all our guest and are the key to our success. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wi
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We splurged and reserved one of the deluxe gulf front king rooms and it was heavenly!! The staff is top-notch - always friendly and looking to go the extra mile to make our stay memorable. Excellent location too - shops, marina, restaurants all within easy walking distance. The room had a modern feel, very clean and all the amentities one could wish for. Comfy bed, spacious bathroom, lovely balcony overlooking the ocean and room service was on-time and tasty. Management was very responsive when we had an issue one night when a boat docked at the hotel was playing very loud music after 1 a.m. - they sent security over and problem solved. They called the next day to apologize and ask us if there was anything else they could do to make our stay more enjoyable! The grounds are well-kept and offer a beautiful pool, hottub, spa, small beach, hammocks, beach-chairs and an open-air bar. Would definitely recommend and if/when we return to KW, we would definitely stay at the Hyatt!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving trip advisor and our potential future clientelle such great feedback. Our staff are definitely as you have said "top noch" . Our goal is always here to exceed expectations as you experienced. We are glad we were able to resolve the concern during your stay and once again sincerely apologize for any inconvenience. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great Hotel ! We had an Ocean view and loved looking at the palm tree's. Great location because you don't need a car. We walked almost everywhere. Clean and modern room. The staff was freindly and nice. They let us check in early and this was an extra bonus because we were able to have a full day. The hotel also let us check out at 1:00 and we sat at the pool till 4:00 because we had a late flight. My wife liked the Starbuck's coffee(one cup machine) in the room that the hotel re-stocked everyday. We were in bed by 1000 pm a few nights and left the window open and didn't hear any noise. Wish we were still there!

Room Tip: Full Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed our facility and services. As you experienced the staff definitely tries their very best to provide top quality clean product with a smile. We are glad we were able to accomodate an early check in and help you make the rest of the day. We thank you for your business and look forward to assisting you soon in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay at and in a great location. Everything is a short walk from this Hyatt. There are others but this one faces the Gulf coast. You're one block from Duval and the marina where you'll find several restaurants, including some shops if you follow the boardwalk. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms are clean with modern styling. On our first night we ate at the hotel restaurant called "Shor". The food was really good. For my birthday we received a fruit basket and for our anniversary some fruit, a cheese platter and champagne. Pool is clean and the grounds well maintain. The hotel also has a kiosk so you can print your boarding passing at the lobby. We didn't want to leave!

One Note: If your a night owl and sleep in you'll want to stay away from building three, with the rooms facing Simonton St. There is a small public beach where during the day some homeless people slept and bathed in the Gulf waters. On several occasions an argument would break out. On our third day the police had them move. Just a heads up, that's all. Additionally it is a busy public street with a small parking lot. So there is a reasonable amount of cars and foot traffic, but regardless you're in Key West. You won't be staying in your room for too long!
Happy Travels.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Simonton St sees a lot of foot traffic. This is building three. If you look for somethi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for aking your personal time in giving us such great feedback. We appreciate you spending your anniversery with us and are glad we were able to make it memorable. We are definitely blessed to be in such a great location.Most importantly as you experienced our staff definitely tries to go above and beyond our guest to make their stay special by providing genuine authentic hospitality. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.