We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in Key West
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location & room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

nice rooms. Sounds silly, but great shower. Dual head with great water pressure. Easy to walk to the docks and the town where all the bars/restaurants are. Great, attentive service. Breakfast was $20 for a couple eggs and toast with coffee. Better off walking a couple blocks to a local place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time in writing about us. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed our resort. We appreciate the positive feedback about the attentive service from staff as service to our guest is our no 1 priority. It is true we have great looking bathrooms and very nice guest rooms which are maintained very well by our housekeeping and engineering team. We hope to assist you in the near future and appreciate your business
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    620
    308
    104
    42
    27
See reviews for
186
613
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You can't go wrong with this location. It is walking distance to everything yet it is in a quite section. Rooms were comfortable and very clean and the staff was great...especially Luanne who took very good care of us each day around the pool or on the deck.
The only draw back is that the pool only gets a couple of hours of sun during the day and if you want day long sun you need to go to the deck...but there are only about 14 loungers. There is no beach but there are stairs down to the water if you want to swim in the ocean.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time in writing about us. We are glad you enjoyed our product,services and the location. I will ensure to pass your regards to the staff especially Luane our pool server. As noted our staff are here to assist all guest needs and deliver a great clean product. We hope to assist you in our little paradise in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location right off the pier and blocks from Duval was great. A few flaws: (1) The fact that they clean the rooms until 5:30PM so the room was not cleaned when we came in at 4:30PM from out excursion irked me but they made note and cleaned it first thing the next day.

(2) we pre-paid for a partial ocean view and got a view of the other building. Right away we went back to the manger, and she got us a full ocean view room but not for the first night. The first guy at the desk alluded to the fact that it wasn't ocean view and said he couldn't get us another room, he was not helpful at all. Luckily, the manager went out of her way for us and gave us a drink voucher for not having the room right away.

(3) My main complaint was that we booked the complete package, which was supposed to include all hotel expenses, but when we got there they tacked on a $20 a night 'Resort Fee', plus more taxes on top of that for the following: Wireless,local telephone charges, incoming faxes, self parking, in room bottled water, 24 hour fitness center, pool towels. This is completely unacceptable that these things are not included. I didn't even have a car and i don't want to pay for water unless i use the minibar, oh, and wireless should be free. When I told the person checking me in that this was not identified when i booked he said it is in 'very fine print', but i still don't see it. Are these hotel chains now airlines, where they tack on fees for every little thing now instead of including it in the price?! Ridiculous!

Room Tip: If they say 'partial ocean view' that means seeing a bit of the water through a tree and ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us and our readers great feedback. We apologize on behalf of the entire Hyatt Key West resort & spa management and spa for the delay in room cleanliness as guest rooms are serviced from 9 AM - 5:30 PM and the standard resort fee which has been communicated to our third party vendors who should be advertising it on their websites. I am glad our front office manager was able to assist you. We hope you take the service related incidents as an isolated one and hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay Fl
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to take a road trip in our new convertible to Key West. I had lived down there while in the Navy and although she has lived in FL all her life she had never been there.

The Hyatt Resort and Spa on front street is an excellent choice. We almost felt like we were back in the Bahamas at Sandals resort. staff very friendly Great bar on the water, good eating and close to absolutely everything. I can't say enough about the entire trip, it was excellent.

You are right on the water, they have all sorts of little trips like sailing out and seeing the sunset with drinks and music, jet ski's a dive boat right there if you like to dive or snorkel and some of the best eating on the Island. And right next to the marina if your into looking at yachts and very nice boats.Or chartering one to go out and fish for the big ones. Fairly priced in todays economy. With the price of gas in the U.S. the next time I would fly Southwest offers a Orlando to Key West round trip for about 200.00 per person. You will spend about a 100.00 in gas depending on were you live and are driving from. Key west has several ways to get around. Walking which we did but you can also rent a gold type cart or a motor scooter both are very practical and most Islanders use the scooters to get around. Traffic is not a major problem on one of either. Eating is no problem great food everywhere. My personal favorites where the A and B Lobster house and the take a boat ride to the Sunset Island and eat at Latitudes makes for a great evening. dress is very casual to country club casual. But in the Island people wear what they want and its accepted. Hope you have as much fun as we did in Key West.

Room Tip: room prices is always a big question as to which one. It depends on how much time you plan on spendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are glad you were able to enjoy your new convertible and take a road trip to our beautiful island and property. We really appreciate the great feedback about the island so our future guest can enjoy some of the similar highlights of your trip. We cant wait for you to come visit again. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philly
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We married at a Hyatt in Philly and were sorely disappointed, not the case with this hotel!! We started our Key West trip at another resort that didn't go so well...our arrival here was much more welcoming and pleasant! The staff and room were excellent! My three year old will not easily forget Odie the parrot or the turtles that greet you upon entrance and exit:). The room was clean, and functional for our family. The only complaint/concern we have is the vagrants that were on the beach outside our balcony- my daughter got a life lesson and heard a few new vocabulary words every time we tried to sit outside to enjoy the view of the water. We did mention this to the bellhop the first day and a staff member said something to the people that were there. It brought the quality level down a bit, but otherwise we were VERY IMPRESSED and felt very relaxed here! Thanks for helping us end our visit on a positive note!! :)

Room Tip: Clean pool. Vagrants on beach area to the side of hotel. Great location to walk to Mallory squar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your destination property and being a loyal Hyatt customer. We appreciate the great deedback and are glad you were VERY IMPRESSED with the staff and services offered. We are here to exceed guest expectations and are glad we were able to do so. The city has been addressing the concerns with the vagrants on the public beach as we have made quiet a few formal complaints. Infacts just this week the city has cleaned up the area and removed some of the elements which were attracting the vagrants to hang out their. The public authorities are also continuing to make their rounds to keep the area clean and enjoyable. Hope you take this as an isolated incident and hope to assist you in the near future. Regards from Odie and the Hyatt Key West family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Calm, tropical, soothing. Mercifully free of Jimmy Buffet. Staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful.

Rooms were tasteful and large. The beds were both "full" size, which seemed a bit small. Nice water view from the balcony. The restaurant staff at breakfast was terrific....food was fine, too.

The location is very near Duval Street, but the hotel is quiet and calm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy our facility and services. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After recent stays in both Napa and the new Long Beach Hyatt unfortunately the Key West Hyatt did not meet the expectation established by our prior Hyatt stays this summer. The highlight of the hotel was the staff for us from Brigette at the front desk to Luanne who never let our cocktails run dry on the sun deck the staff took excellent care of us!

The reason for the three star designation is for several reasons. Most significant is that the rooms are tired. The furniture is old and beat up, HD TV is not to be expected from the early flat screen TV's and the look and decor iis a bit dated. (Personal Opinion) the patio / beach furniture is all ready for replacement as well.

My wife and I are sun lovers as a result of living in the north east. Unfortunately the pool is in the shade 1/2 of the day and the "Beach" is a BIG stretch! (Very Dissappointing) We hung out on the Sun Deck which was nice but it was a battle to get a good spot and this little spot can become competitive for sun lovers.

Bottom line we would go another direction with our hotel / tourism dollar should we return. On a side note we found outstanding restaurants in Key West which was unexpected and a pleasant surprise! (Key West was a bit dissappointing, especially Duval Street a dirty tourist trap!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time and giving our reader great feedback. We appreciate your business especially as a loyal Hyatt guest. We really appreciate the staff recongnition and you are absolutely right our staff is what makes this hotel who we are. They are the reason our guest give us such positive feedback and come back to see us. We put a lot of time,effort and monies on a yearly basis to improve our products by investing in it and maintaining it on a daily basis. This year we have replaced all our curtains, bed throws, misc under bed mats,mattresses, balcony cushions, misc upholstery and fixtures in guest rooms .We will ensure to take your feedback and use it so as to continue to deliver quality products to our guest. We are also in the phase of changing our tv system in 2013 to roomlinx as a company which will allow us to deliver superior tv programs in HD and other services in the near future. We hope you take any of your concerns as an isolated one and hope to assist you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.