We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely tropical resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #14 of 40 hotels in Key West
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A lovely tropical resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Calm, tropical, soothing. Mercifully free of Jimmy Buffet. Staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful.

Rooms were tasteful and large. The beds were both "full" size, which seemed a bit small. Nice water view from the balcony. The restaurant staff at breakfast was terrific....food was fine, too.

The location is very near Duval Street, but the hotel is quiet and calm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you were able to enjoy our facility and services. We hope to assist you in the near future in our little paradise of Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    555
    272
    96
    40
    25
See reviews for
157
554
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After recent stays in both Napa and the new Long Beach Hyatt unfortunately the Key West Hyatt did not meet the expectation established by our prior Hyatt stays this summer. The highlight of the hotel was the staff for us from Brigette at the front desk to Luanne who never let our cocktails run dry on the sun deck the staff took excellent care of us!

The reason for the three star designation is for several reasons. Most significant is that the rooms are tired. The furniture is old and beat up, HD TV is not to be expected from the early flat screen TV's and the look and decor iis a bit dated. (Personal Opinion) the patio / beach furniture is all ready for replacement as well.

My wife and I are sun lovers as a result of living in the north east. Unfortunately the pool is in the shade 1/2 of the day and the "Beach" is a BIG stretch! (Very Dissappointing) We hung out on the Sun Deck which was nice but it was a battle to get a good spot and this little spot can become competitive for sun lovers.

Bottom line we would go another direction with our hotel / tourism dollar should we return. On a side note we found outstanding restaurants in Key West which was unexpected and a pleasant surprise! (Key West was a bit dissappointing, especially Duval Street a dirty tourist trap!)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time and giving our reader great feedback. We appreciate your business especially as a loyal Hyatt guest. We really appreciate the staff recongnition and you are absolutely right our staff is what makes this hotel who we are. They are the reason our guest give us such positive feedback and come back to see us. We put a lot of time,effort and monies on a yearly basis to improve our products by investing in it and maintaining it on a daily basis. This year we have replaced all our curtains, bed throws, misc under bed mats,mattresses, balcony cushions, misc upholstery and fixtures in guest rooms .We will ensure to take your feedback and use it so as to continue to deliver quality products to our guest. We are also in the phase of changing our tv system in 2013 to roomlinx as a company which will allow us to deliver superior tv programs in HD and other services in the near future. We hope you take any of your concerns as an isolated one and hope to assist you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Hyatt has a great location. At the sea front and very close to Duval street, where all the restaurants and stores are located. It has a small gym, pool, a bar and a restaurant. I highly recommend it. The only downside of this hotel is service, which is very disappointing. Breakfast is a mess. The waiters are very nice and friendly but they probably do not know how to eat like ladies and gentlemen. Not strange that they do not know how to serve. Same thing with the cleaning lady. 6pm and the room is not cleaned up yet?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. Feedback as such is very vital for our business. I want to sincerely apologize on behalf of thee entire Hyatt Key West Resort management and staff for any of the concerns brought up. I assure you we will be addressing those concerns ASAP. We will coach and retrain our breakfast service so as to continue to deliver a consistent superior service. In addition, the guest rooms are to be cleaned by 5:30 pm at the latest. That concern will be addresses as we strive for excellence. We hope you take this as an isolated incident and hope to assist you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was only here for one night on business, arriving late and leaving early the following morning, but this hotel made an impression. Very well located near Duval Street - which is the major street in Key West which starts with upmarket nick nack shops one end and descends into a complete drunken mess the other! I was there at 11pm. The room was lovely, huge bed, huge bathroom, good TV and toiletries. The rooms are based around the pool and courtyard and the reception is quite modest, but the glass of champagne on arrival was most welcomed. A good choice at breakfast, and lovely views. I will definately return for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service and guest room product offered. We definitely look forward for you to come back and enjoy your stay with us once again in the near future. We appreciate your business in advance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were on the 2nd floor on a corner room over looking the water. Everything was lovely until I was sitting on the balcony and CRACK ! a Tree limb snapped, I looked over and there was a saw attached to a long pole and a homeless man on the ground cutting the tree limb off. The limb came crashing onto my balcony then to the ground. I observed the man take the limb, cut the palms off, soak them in the water and then make a hat out of them. When he was done... the man went back into the water.. proceeded to bathe and use the restroom in the water. It was gross and very uncomfortable. I alerted the front desk and heard nothing back. I told them about it again upon check out and she told me she would have a manger follow up with me on the stay but never heard another thing. Overall, this was disturbing and we were not able to enjoy the room we paid extra for to have a view of the water and sunset.

Room Tip: Do not get the corner rooms near the open space. If your facing the water, it would be the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. However I want to sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire Hyatt Key West management and staff for the concern brought up. I am still further trying to investigate the incident as mentioned was brought up to our teams attention and there was no proper follow up. I assure you we take guest concerns very seriously and will advise our security department and possibly the public authoritioies of the incident. We hope take the incident as an isolated one as we address the concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Hyatt. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, they had extra pillows waiting for us as requested, and the staff was uniformly professional and pleasant. We had a partial ocean view king on the west side of building 3 very close to the water on the 4th floor. This side of the hotel faces a small public parking lot, beach, and public restrooms. The Pier House Hotel is on the other side of this public space. 4 or 5 homeless people try to live in this public space which we didn't even notice until after dark when the police showed up to roust the homeless and kick them out of the park. These people were quiet and not bothering anyone except for being in a public space closed after sundown. The police proceeded to show up at random times day and night (in my opinion) to harass the homeless. To be fair to the Hyatt, we did not complain or ask to be moved to another room because we had completely unpacked and decided to stay put. My concern is not seeing the homeless outside my balcony; my concern is watching the police harassment. I can't believe that between the two hotels and the city, there is not some better way to treat these needy people.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid the west side of building 3 facing the Pier House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location! Short walk to all the bars and shops on Duval St. but set on the water. Customer service and staff were happy and helpful. The room was nicely furnishe and the bed extremely comfy. Happy hour at the pool bar was fun. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our location is definitely a plus as we are close enough to everything but far enough from the noise. Our staff definitely try their very best to make it a memorable experience for each and every guest in a genuine way as you experienced. I will ensure to share your great feeback about top level customer service with them. We cant wait to have you come back and stay with us again. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West Resort
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Key West Resort Marina
Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#7 Romantic Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Amex, Tingo, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.