We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Key West
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I was only here for one night on business, arriving late and leaving early the following morning, but this hotel made an impression. Very well located near Duval Street - which is the major street in Key West which starts with upmarket nick nack shops one end and descends into a complete drunken mess the other! I was there at 11pm. The room was lovely, huge bed, huge bathroom, good TV and toiletries. The rooms are based around the pool and courtyard and the reception is quite modest, but the glass of champagne on arrival was most welcomed. A good choice at breakfast, and lovely views. I will definately return for a holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the service and guest room product offered. We definitely look forward for you to come back and enjoy your stay with us once again in the near future. We appreciate your business in advance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    336
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
193
659
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were on the 2nd floor on a corner room over looking the water. Everything was lovely until I was sitting on the balcony and CRACK ! a Tree limb snapped, I looked over and there was a saw attached to a long pole and a homeless man on the ground cutting the tree limb off. The limb came crashing onto my balcony then to the ground. I observed the man take the limb, cut the palms off, soak them in the water and then make a hat out of them. When he was done... the man went back into the water.. proceeded to bathe and use the restroom in the water. It was gross and very uncomfortable. I alerted the front desk and heard nothing back. I told them about it again upon check out and she told me she would have a manger follow up with me on the stay but never heard another thing. Overall, this was disturbing and we were not able to enjoy the room we paid extra for to have a view of the water and sunset.

Room Tip: Do not get the corner rooms near the open space. If your facing the water, it would be the rooms on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
I wanted to thank you for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. However I want to sincerely apologize on behalf of the entire Hyatt Key West management and staff for the concern brought up. I am still further trying to investigate the incident as mentioned was brought up to our teams attention and there was no proper follow up. I assure you we take guest concerns very seriously and will advise our security department and possibly the public authoritioies of the incident. We hope take the incident as an isolated one as we address the concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Overall, my wife and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Hyatt. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, they had extra pillows waiting for us as requested, and the staff was uniformly professional and pleasant. We had a partial ocean view king on the west side of building 3 very close to the water on the 4th floor. This side of the hotel faces a small public parking lot, beach, and public restrooms. The Pier House Hotel is on the other side of this public space. 4 or 5 homeless people try to live in this public space which we didn't even notice until after dark when the police showed up to roust the homeless and kick them out of the park. These people were quiet and not bothering anyone except for being in a public space closed after sundown. The police proceeded to show up at random times day and night (in my opinion) to harass the homeless. To be fair to the Hyatt, we did not complain or ask to be moved to another room because we had completely unpacked and decided to stay put. My concern is not seeing the homeless outside my balcony; my concern is watching the police harassment. I can't believe that between the two hotels and the city, there is not some better way to treat these needy people.

Room Tip: You might want to avoid the west side of building 3 facing the Pier House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great location! Short walk to all the bars and shops on Duval St. but set on the water. Customer service and staff were happy and helpful. The room was nicely furnishe and the bed extremely comfy. Happy hour at the pool bar was fun. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Our location is definitely a plus as we are close enough to everything but far enough from the noise. Our staff definitely try their very best to make it a memorable experience for each and every guest in a genuine way as you experienced. I will ensure to share your great feeback about top level customer service with them. We cant wait to have you come back and stay with us again. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I normally find chain hotels boring, but this was a real surprise. We were served champagne when we arrived in the lovely lobby, and were upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the water. The room was large and decorated in understated sleek casual beach style and colors. There was a fridge and coffemaker, sitting area, safe, and desk area with mirror. There was a huge mirror in the room, too, which added to the spacious feel.

The large bathroom had an interesting shower that sprayed from the ceiling, a feature that seems to be popular in Florida hotels. The balcony table and chairs were really nice, too. I loved everything about this room-- it was so relaxing.

The location is great for walking to Old Town or to the dockside restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as a destination property for your vacation. We are glad you could enjoy our guest room and products offered. We really appreciate you sharing the great detailed feedback so other guest and our future clients can get a great idea. We hope to see you again in the near future for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cadiz, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Perfect service from check in to check out. We stayed 4 nights in a deluxe king gulf view room building 3 third floor. 2 balconies, very large and open floor plan. We didn't spend a ton of time on the property, but the time we did have was perfect. Breakfast was great each morning. Dan really made us feel at home. When he found out that our package didn't include a newspaper delivered each day he took care of it and one was delivered each morning. Top notch service!! We did spend a little time at the Blue Mojito. Mark was very entertaining and also made sure that no one's glass stayed empty very long. The hotel is priced higher than most in the area, but well worth the money. We will be back next year and plan on staying a little longer.

Room Tip: Deluxe gulf view room is the way to go. For an additional $15.00 a night you can get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are glad we could provide the 100% satisfaction we strive for with every guest. I will ensure to share your great feedback and recognition to the associates mentioned who genuinely provide authentic hospitality to each and every guest. After all we are here cause of you. So thank you for yoour business and your great feedback. We hope to assist you in the very soon in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall, a good experience but some important drawbacks/issues.

Great location. 5 minutes to Mallory Square and Duval.

The hotel is small (it is Key West, though) so don’t expect much in terms of the grounds. The room wings surround the pool and there is a tiny beach (noted on many reviews.) The staff was great. Well trained and very friendly – genuine and not forced. Breakfasts at Shor restaurant were really good and the wait staff were great and gluten-free aware.

My wife enjoyed the spa - Swedish massage was well done.

The rooms were large but the balcony was tiny. You had to shuffle around the table and chairs for two to sit down.

The pool was not heated and was chilly each day.

The rooms are not for older/physically unfit people. The two chairs in the room had no arms and were low to the ground and impossible for anyone with bad knees or who is overweight to get out of without help. The toilet is set into a concrete bunker and offers almost no width for anyone but a ballerina. The sink is one of those modern/art work pieces – a bowl set upon the counter. No stopper for the water to fill for shaving. The floors are tile (nice) but slippery with a bit of water. No texture to slow you down. I slipped multiple times in the bathroom and the hallway.

The TV: I wanted to plug in my computer and phone to watch some content but the TV has the ports disabled. This was ridiculous and I have never seen this before in a hotel. I hope it’s not a trend…”watch our stuff only”.

Overall, we had a nice stay but would not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. We take each guest feedback very seriously as it is extremely vital for our current and future business. I am glad service wise our staff was able to meet or exceed expectations. I will ensure to share with our management team the guest room concerns. In future please do not hesitate to contact us while you are on property as we can provide some options such as switching out some guest room chairs to meet guest needs,etc. Our sincere apologies for any inconveniences and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#8 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.