We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachy Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Adv Purchase $20/NT Off
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Key West
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beachy Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I normally find chain hotels boring, but this was a real surprise. We were served champagne when we arrived in the lovely lobby, and were upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the water. The room was large and decorated in understated sleek casual beach style and colors. There was a fridge and coffemaker, sitting area, safe, and desk area with mirror. There was a huge mirror in the room, too, which added to the spacious feel.

The large bathroom had an interesting shower that sprayed from the ceiling, a feature that seems to be popular in Florida hotels. The balcony table and chairs were really nice, too. I loved everything about this room-- it was so relaxing.

The location is great for walking to Old Town or to the dockside restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as a destination property for your vacation. We are glad you could enjoy our guest room and products offered. We really appreciate you sharing the great detailed feedback so other guest and our future clients can get a great idea. We hope to see you again in the near future for another relaxing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    336
    111
    43
    27
See reviews for
193
658
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cadiz, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Perfect service from check in to check out. We stayed 4 nights in a deluxe king gulf view room building 3 third floor. 2 balconies, very large and open floor plan. We didn't spend a ton of time on the property, but the time we did have was perfect. Breakfast was great each morning. Dan really made us feel at home. When he found out that our package didn't include a newspaper delivered each day he took care of it and one was delivered each morning. Top notch service!! We did spend a little time at the Blue Mojito. Mark was very entertaining and also made sure that no one's glass stayed empty very long. The hotel is priced higher than most in the area, but well worth the money. We will be back next year and plan on staying a little longer.

Room Tip: Deluxe gulf view room is the way to go. For an additional $15.00 a night you can get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We are glad we could provide the 100% satisfaction we strive for with every guest. I will ensure to share your great feedback and recognition to the associates mentioned who genuinely provide authentic hospitality to each and every guest. After all we are here cause of you. So thank you for yoour business and your great feedback. We hope to assist you in the very soon in the near future in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Overall, a good experience but some important drawbacks/issues.

Great location. 5 minutes to Mallory Square and Duval.

The hotel is small (it is Key West, though) so don’t expect much in terms of the grounds. The room wings surround the pool and there is a tiny beach (noted on many reviews.) The staff was great. Well trained and very friendly – genuine and not forced. Breakfasts at Shor restaurant were really good and the wait staff were great and gluten-free aware.

My wife enjoyed the spa - Swedish massage was well done.

The rooms were large but the balcony was tiny. You had to shuffle around the table and chairs for two to sit down.

The pool was not heated and was chilly each day.

The rooms are not for older/physically unfit people. The two chairs in the room had no arms and were low to the ground and impossible for anyone with bad knees or who is overweight to get out of without help. The toilet is set into a concrete bunker and offers almost no width for anyone but a ballerina. The sink is one of those modern/art work pieces – a bowl set upon the counter. No stopper for the water to fill for shaving. The floors are tile (nice) but slippery with a bit of water. No texture to slow you down. I slipped multiple times in the bathroom and the hallway.

The TV: I wanted to plug in my computer and phone to watch some content but the TV has the ports disabled. This was ridiculous and I have never seen this before in a hotel. I hope it’s not a trend…”watch our stuff only”.

Overall, we had a nice stay but would not return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you so much for taking your personal time in giving us your feedback. We take each guest feedback very seriously as it is extremely vital for our current and future business. I am glad service wise our staff was able to meet or exceed expectations. I will ensure to share with our management team the guest room concerns. In future please do not hesitate to contact us while you are on property as we can provide some options such as switching out some guest room chairs to meet guest needs,etc. Our sincere apologies for any inconveniences and we hope to see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here the last week of October (which is a crazy time). What was perfect was the location - close enough to everything but nice and quiet at night. We had room 1261 - king suite and what an excellent view! 2 balconies, cross breeze was exceptional, large, spacious, well appointed room. Staff friendly and helpful to a degree. Grounds are lush and tropical. Way over priced but nothing you can do during festivals I guess.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you choose us as your destination property and really appreciate your business. Our King Salon rooms are definitely one of the best rooms on property. We are glad you could enjoy it and appreciate the work we put in our facility to make it a memorable experience for our guest. We hope to assist you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selden, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in early October 2012. Staff at check-in was warm and friendly and check-in process was quick. We had a partial ocean view in building 3 on the third floor. The room was spacious and clean with large modern bathroom. Pool area had plenty of lounge chairs and cabanas were so pretty. Hotel is right on the water with scuba, fishing tours and jet ski rentals right there. Staff was super friendly...always received a hello from everyone we passed. Location of the hotel was awesome. We were in walking distance (2 blocks) to Duval St. and did not need our vehicle once we arrived. We would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Building three was good for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback and business. We are glad you were able to enjoy genuine smiles and authentic hospitality from our staff. From check in to check our staffs goal is to provide excellence in service. Our housekeeping team as mentioned always try their very best to ensure the rooms are clean and fresh. We are glad you enjoyed our resort location and product. And cant wait to serve you again in our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Got a pretty good deal on Sniqueaway, otherwise probably wouldn't have paid the price. Nice room, gorgeous bathroom. View was OK, but we were facing away from the sunset and the cruise ships. It is in a congested area, and parking is an issue. We turned in our rental car after we checked in, because you really don't need a car in Key West. Pool area was pretty, and the staff was friendly. I have stayed down at the Southern end before, and I think I like that better than being right in the thick of things. But, all in all, it was a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a West facing room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking your personal time in giving us and our readers great feedback. We are glad you enjoyed the guest room and especially the bathroom. In future if there is anything we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us while you are on property by dialing "o". Even if means due to our resort popular demand the parking lot is full we will valet your car complimentary. After all we are here to service you. Thank you for your business and we hope to assist you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Six of us were here in September, celebrating our friends' honeymoon - or "buddymoon" as we affectionately called it. This hotel is fantastic, a short walk from Duval street and the harbor area. They were resurfacing the pool for the length of our stay, which was pretty disappointing, but we were able to use the pool at the condo/hotel next door. Our favorite place to hang out was on the floating dock in the beach area. The water was about waist high so we could wander out there with our drinks and towels and hang out on the lounge chairs to escape the noise of the construction.

Our partial gulf view room was huge and clean, the bathroom was lovely. My boyfriend fell in love with the rain shower - I think he took about 3 showers a day! I called ahead to ask if our three parties could be put near each other and we all ended up in different buildings, but it turned out to not be an issue at all. I also mentioned that it was our friends honeymoon, and they upgraded their room!

Everyone that worked there was friendly and courteous - we especially loved the bartenders! One morning when we were getting breakfast the construction workers were being a bit rowdy and the concierge came over and personally apologized to us.

Breakfast was included in our package, but we thought it was overpriced. Would have skipped it if it wasn't included.

Overally we loved this hotel and it would definitely be our first choice if we returned!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge for the partial gulf view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattKeyWest12, Manager at Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your great feedback. We are glad you were able to have an enjoyable vacation despite of our property upgrades. We are glad you enjoyed the bathrooms which are definitely one of the highlights of our guest room. And the amazing floating dock. I will ensure to share your great feedback with our staff especially the bar tenders. We are ready to assist you in the near future for your visit to our little paradise of Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa

Address: 601 Front Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
#5 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on the Gulf of Mexico with an small intimate beach and within walking distance of prime shops and attractions, Hyatt Key West Resort & Spa is a year-round resort housing 118 spacious rooms. Water activities abound, including parasailing, snorkeling, jet boats and waverunning from the hotel’s marina and sunset cruises and dive trips. An on-site StayFit@Hyatt exercise center, new Jala Spa facility, pool and private sunbathing beach areas and dock provide additional recreation. Bicycle and scooter rentals are also available. The full-service restaurant, SHOR American Seafood Grill, offers indoor and outdoor dining overlooking the Gulf of Mexico, while ample meeting space, including an expansive banquet room, make the resort ideal for conferences and destination events. The Blue Mojito Bar & Grill offers light bites, a variety of cocktails and beverages and the best sunset view in town. A $10 million renovationwas completed in Fall 2007 and has brought a fresh and stylish, modern aesthetic to the resort’s classic Key West charm, transforming the property into a “tropical modern” experience through its elegant integration of architecture, interiors and landscapes. Soothing, luminous colors punctuated by bold detailing impart an intimate spa-like quality throughout, supported by organic materials such as porcelain, bamboo, glass tile and stone. Both private and public spaces across the resort have been transformed, including all 118 guestrooms, the lobby, the pool area with three all-new white-canvas spa cabanas and the newly dubbed Blue Mojito Pool Bar & Grill and SHOR American Seafood Grill. The redesign has also introduced the all-new Jala Spa facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Key West Hotel Key West
Key West Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Key West Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.